Advice please!

My appetite was sort of missing yesterday, but I definitely found it today. I’ve been insatiable like all day long. It’s so weird how my hunger fluctuates so much. I’m trying not to stress about it and just go with it, but it can be hard sometimes.

Breakfast

I was hungry as soon as I woke up this morning and wanted the fastest breakfast I could make. The solution: cereal! This did the trick, for a while at least. After I ate and puttered around the house for a little I decided to get my workout over with. I was going to do weights today but I just wasn’t feeling it so I just stuck with good old cardio.

img_2452

Lunch

I ran some errands (grocery store was crazy busy!) and was starving for lunch. It’s absolutely freezing outside today and I wanted something warm but wasn’t feeling soup so I made yet another omelet with ezekial english muffin. Sorry if this is getting repetitive, it’s just one of my all time favorite meals, it’s so easy, fast, and comforting.

img_2453

Β Snacks

Like I said, I’ve been a bottomless pit today so I had lots of snacks this afternoon. I had some berries and popcorn while reading. I picked up Breaking Dawn yesterday and I’m already a good way through. I can’t stop reading but at the same time I want to drag it out because I don’t want the series to end! Then a little later before heading out again I had a blueberry z-bar. I’ve been searching everywhere for this flavor because I’ve seen so many good reviews of it, but until today I couldn’t find it anywhere. I was so excited to try it but unfortunately I was VERY DISAPPOINTED. This is definitely my least favorite so far. I thought it had a really funny flavor to it and I was just not impressed. Sorry to all you blueberry z-bar devotees, but the chocolate ones are just far better!

img_2454

img_2455

Advice Please!

So I’m going to a holiday potluck party tonight at 8:30 and I’ve been debating all day over how to approach it. There is going to be food there, mostly appetizers, finger foods, desserts, and of course cocktails! I can’t decide if I should eat dinner before (the safe option) and then just go and hang out but not eat. OR should I go and try to eat/drink in moderation like everyone else? I know that I’ll feel uncomfortable if I don’t eat anything there and people will comment on how I don’t eat anything blah blah blah and will give me a hard time. BUT if I do eat there it will probably make me anxious because there won’t be healthy, balanced options and I’m afraid it will set me up for a binge. Ugh, I just don’t know what to do!

Hopefully some of you will have a chance to read this and give me some advice before I leave! Thanks in advance : )

13 Responses to “Advice please!”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, December 22, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Never apologize for eating the meals you love – I eat the same things a lot too, haha πŸ˜€

    **For the potluck tonight = eat a little something beforehand, pack some emergency snacks, and nibble on some party eats while you’re there. You’ll be fine!! Just stay positive and remember that you’re there to socialize.

  2. 2 ksgoodeats Monday, December 22, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Sorry you didn’t like the z-bar! I wish I saw your lunch earlier because it looks so good I would have had it for dinner!

    For the potluck (I just had this same situation this weekend): I would eat something light beforehand and have more of a “snack” at the potluck after drinking. Regardless of what you decide to do, have a blast!!

  3. 3 eatingbender Monday, December 22, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    I always love seeing your omelettes because they look so thick and yummy. Sorry you didn’t like the ZBar, though!

    To answer your question (hopefully before you leave), I would say definitely just eat something very small beforehand. That way you won’t be hungry enough to eat too much at the party, but you will also be able to enjoy a little something (maybe one or two of the best, healthiest options) without getting the third degree. And if it’s really bad, you could have another snack when you get home. Try not to worry about it and make sure to spend as much time as you can socializing! I find that when you’re talking it’s hard to eat anyway, so you won’t get too many questions or weird looks!

    HAVE FUN!!

  4. 4 Erin Monday, December 22, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    I’d eat before and then pick some of your faves at the party! It’s the season and there’s no avoiding it! Rock on little mama!

  5. 5 Erin Monday, December 22, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    P.S. My appetite does that too, so unlike a lot of people I don’t listen to my hunger. It’s totally unreliable and flighty, just like me! πŸ˜‰

  6. 6 Jenny Monday, December 22, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Oh I know what you mean about Breaking Dawn, even thought it’s my second time to read it, I’m TRYING to drag it out, but it’s hard!

    I’m probably not on time for this, but for future reference…I would have a good afternoon/pm snack, and head to the party with food groups in mind. Like instead of thinking of the food as unhealthy and finger foods, think: “about 12-15 crackers/chips are 2 servings of starch, 1 scoop of dip could be my fat, etc..” Most parties will have crackers, not just greasy chips, and most will also have veggie plates. I went to a snackie party the other night and ate 4 small meatballs, and I’m GUESTIMATING they were about 3oz of meat. Stuff like that is usually right, it’s all about how you look at the food. Hope you enjoy yourself tonight!

  7. 7 teenageveggiehead Monday, December 22, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    i thought I was the only one who hated the blueberry flavor! so glad im not πŸ™‚
    your lunch looks amazing – I wish I had it. haha

    for the party, what I do when its just appetizers and such I just eat a light meal before hand, usually some greek yogurt and some fruit. That way If there is something there I want I won’t feel guilty about eating after just having a huge meal, but if there isn’t anything I liked I dont feel starving. have fun!

  8. 8 Julz Monday, December 22, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    I agree with Jenny- I don’t count calories anymore (and never really did) but I do count food groups now. You’ll feel SO much better and you will have a balanced meal. THere will be PLENTY of things to eat there, assure yourself that you can handle it, you are not going to be struggling. AND ENJOY IT! My goodness, remind yourself that you don’t HAVE to be this way πŸ™‚ IT’s THE BEST TIME OF THE YEAR and the treats are SO WONDERFUL!!!

  9. 9 Sharon Monday, December 22, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Since it is a potluck party, what did you decide on bringing? Because bring something healthy, then you have something to nibble on without feeling awkward. I find that you should just fill up your plate with the greens. And then leave room for a cookie or two. It’s a party, so try to have fun and not stress about calories in the food.

    Overall, I think just try to be conscious of your eating, which can be difficult. But if you are aware of your hunger level, you can stop eating and still enjoy the party.

  10. 10 gina (fitnessista) Monday, December 22, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    i think you should go to the party and enjoy yourself.. i recently read in a magazine that the best strategy is to “taste everything, eat nothing” . i tried it at our christmas wives meeting and just had little tastes of everything that looked good to me, but bigger portions of fresh fruit and veggies. with a glass of wine, i was quite satisfied and didn’t get any rude comments about my eating –which happens a LOT.
    i also agree with sharon and bring something healthy that you feel good about eating!
    hope it goes well!

  11. 11 Elina Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 8:25 am

    I’m sure I’m late and the advise above is great, but I just wanted to say that I hope you had fun and even if you indulged too much that you let yourself just enjoy it. The holidays are almost over and the unlimited food that keeps popping up everywhere should stop πŸ™‚

  12. 12 Beadie Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    If I were you, I would bring something healthy to the potluck, have a light meal before you go and then have small bites of the things that look good to you. This time of year is so tough when it comes to food. Hang in there, we are all right there with you!

  13. 13 Kristie Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I’m pretty sure you’ve already been to the potluck but I hope it turned out alright for you! I’m sure you did just fine. Sometimes you just kind of have to go with the flow with those kinds of things. I probably would have had something to eat beforehand, at least something small and healthy and then had small tastes of whatever was there. If only more people were slightly more health conscious so at least they would provide more nutritious options at potlucks eh? People need to embrace the veggie love!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

