From Dreary to Delicious

Today started out really dreary, it was absolutely pouring all day long so there was no way I was leaving my cozy house. Instead I just lounged around, reading, watching tv, and exercising for most of the day. The sun finally peeked through and the rain stopped in time for us to go out for a great dinner. It definitely ended on a delicious note!

Breakfast

The usual apple, fage, kashi go lean mix with the newspaper this morning.

img_2435

Lunch

Another easy meal: turkey, lettuce, red pepper, mustard sandwich, carrots, blackberries and a date.ย 

img_2436

img_2437

Snack

Yogurt and Z-bar. I was really hungry this afternoon for some reason, and even after this snack I was starving for dinner. Weird!

img_2439

Dinner

We went to a new-ish restaurant Sharp Edge for dinner tonight. It specializes in burgers and beer! I was daring and tried the ostrich burger with sweet potato fries. The ostrich was really good! It has the taste of beef but the leanness of chicken. It was delicious. And of course sweet potato fries are the best things on earth. As much as I liked the ones I make in my oven, nothing compares to the real deal in all its fried glory!

img_2440

This meal was so good and I really enjoyed eating it. This was actually a huge step for me. Besides going for sushi, I really can’t remember the last time I went out to eat at a restaurant and ordered something other than a salad. I really went out of my comfort zone here and was pretty anxious at first, but it was so good that I’m really glad I ordered what I actually felt like, for once. I’m proud of myself!

Dessert

Since I was on a roll with letting myself enjoy my meals and eating what I wanted, I had dessert too! I had my 2nd favorite dessert ever (the first being the carrot cake I had a few nights ago). Dairy Queen Vanilla with Cookie Dough Pieces. I know it’s nothing special, but this dessert is just so good to me!

img_2443

This was such a great night and I really savored and enjoyed every bite I took. Now I’m happily full and tired, so I’m going to catch up on some blogs and hit the hay early. I have a pretty busy day tomorrow–2 different parties to go to. Then Sunday I go back to work—I’m only scheduled 4 days next week so it shouldn’t be too bad.ย 

Happy Friday everyone!

10 Responses to “From Dreary to Delicious”


  1. 1 Erin Friday, December 19, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    That’s such a huge accomplishment! Great job girl!

  2. 2 Kristina Friday, December 19, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Your dinner looks delicious, as does your dessert! That’s great that you stepped out of your comfort zone for dinner – I bet it was very much worth it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 Sharon Friday, December 19, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    I LOVE DQ!
    And I need to make a mental note of apples in yogurt – great idea!

  4. 4 eatingbender Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Ostrich burger?! That’s a new one for me – but I bet it tastes good! I’ve heard that buffalo burgers are good, too. I’ll have to find a burger place around here now…

    I’m really glad that you enjoyed the meal – sweet potato fries at restaurants are always the best! And DQ with cookie dough used to be my go-to treat on Saturdays with my dad and brother! Doesn’t surprise me that you love it, too ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5 carolinebee Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 12:47 am

    OMG ostrich that is ca-razy..i need to try that! Good for you with dinner, and great call with the DQ!

  6. 6 Caroline Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 12:53 am

    Yum! I could really go for a handful of those cookie dough bits right about NOW.

  7. 7 ksgoodeats Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 9:22 am

    That dessert is definitly special – DQ just has a way with the ice cream!

    So glad to hear you’re enjoying everything!! It all looks delish – especially that red pepper on your sammy, drooool!

  8. 8 Julz Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 10:12 am

    I’M SO GLAD THAT YOU ARE RELAXING MORE! It’s SO divine to see ๐Ÿ™‚ It makes ME feel more relaxed to see you being your old self, Sar! I’M JUST SO HAPPY!!!! YAYAYYYY!

  9. 9 Melissa S. Saturday, December 20, 2008 at 10:25 am

    great job w/ dinner babe! i totally know how you’re feeling about the whole going out to eating and actually getting what you want. great job!

    have a great day babe!!


  1. 1 BluBurgers + Baking Blossoms « eating bender Trackback on Tuesday, December 23, 2008 at 12:57 am

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

