Cozy

It’s so cold and dreary out but I’m warm and cozy in my sweats getting ready to watch more 30 Rock after having the most comforting dinner ever! This is the life πŸ™‚

Breakfast

I got up and exercised right away and then settled in for a leisurely breakfast with the newspaper. Today was a fage, apple, kashi go lean combo, premixed because it’s much prettier that way! Anyone have any thoughts about the Fed lowering rates to 0-.25% range? I’m an econ major and just took a class in monetary economics so I have some pretty strong views on the subject—I think it’s a really bad idea! It will definitely be interesting to see how things play out.

Β 

img_2418

Lunch

After breakfast and some errands I headed down to visit my grandparents! I’m really close with them and love visiting. Lunch was Panera–1/2 Mediterranean Veggie (no feta), classic salad, and apple. This sandwich is so good. The hummus is the perfect spiciness and the bread is pretty much to die for. Yum!

img_2419

Snack

My grandma is pretty much the biggest ‘food pusher’ I’ve ever met! Do you guys have family/friends like that? It’s really hard for me to deal with. Every time I go over she tries to make me eat every single thing in the house. I just had lunch yet she still offered me quiche, cake, bagels, and everything in between. I eventually agreed to a peanut butter thumbprint cookieΒ which was really good!

img_2421

Dinner

I made the most delicious, comforting, filling meal for dinner tonight–and there are plenty of leftovers which is good because this sort of meal gets so much better with age. To quote my dad I made the “best beef stew ever“. It was really good! I got it from the Good Housekeeping Healthy Meals cookbook and it had the usual suspects: beef, sweet potato, turnip, carrot, celery, onion, beef broth, stewed tomatoes, peas, and some special ingredients: 1t sugar and 1 T soy sauce. It had a sweet flavor and was just so good.Β 

img_2422

To go with the stew we had some cab-sav wine, and Panera multi-grain bread. This totally hit the spot.

img_2424

Time for some more 30 Rock!

10 Responses to “Cozy”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Hooray for a cozy evening!! Keep enjoying it, girl πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Melissa S. Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    what a great day!

    i have an aunt that is like that, but then i have another that sabotages all the foods (puts meat/milk/cheese in them) so i have nothing to eat! It’s hard for me to deal w/ too.

  3. 3 Katie Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    I love Jewish grammies!!!

    Your sandwich looks SO good… I’ve still never been to a Panera, although I’m pretty sure there’s on a few blocks from my house!

  4. 4 carolinebee Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    haha i DIED reading your comment on your grandma- I literally have the same exact situation (http://carolinebee.wordpress.com/2008/11/21/im-moving-to-alaska/), i posted about it when I first started πŸ˜€ haha Gotta love em but she swears I won’t ever see food again! What a nice cozy day, see ya!

  5. 5 eatingbender Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    It will definitely be interesting to see how the Fed’s decision will play out. I guess I don’t know enough about what it all means to have an opinion – but I’d love it if you would explain it to me Miss Econ Genius πŸ™‚

    Yay Panera! And so funny about your grandma – I definitely get that from Bobby’s mom, if you can believe it! She’s a big baker so she’s ALWAYS pushing stuff on me and telling me I need to eat more. Yes, I know what you’re thinking (annoying) – and I totally agree.

    The stew looks great! Especially when paired with wine and Panera bread – YUM!

  6. 6 jenngirl Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    haha oh gosh, I think after far too many “bitter” reactions from me with the “food pushing” they are afraid to do it anymore, but yes, so many of my family members are like that. Those cookies are the best though, so I’m glad you had one πŸ™‚

    That stew sounds amazing! And with wine? What a great night!

  7. 7 Kersten Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 2:05 am

    I think the Fed lowering rates is just a band-aid to stimulate growth like it did in the last big round with Greenspan (which he admitted was a mistake after the fact). Last time it sparked the mortgage refi and real estate bubble. What will it do this time around???

    My mom has started becoming a bit of a food pusher, but she doesn’t realize it yet. Thankfully she’s not that pushy.

    Your stew looks great!

    Thanks for the blogger secret Santa idea again…I just sent my gift off today πŸ™‚

  8. 8 ksgoodeats Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 8:47 am

    LOVEEE Panera and that cookie looks delish πŸ™‚

    Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog!

  9. 9 Sharon Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Wow, great eats! Everything looks delicious!!!

  10. 10 Erika Friday, December 19, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Oh my goodness. My grandma and your grandma could be BFFs and stuff everyone’s face together. Wouldn’t that be lovely? My grandma makes those thumbprint cookies too! πŸ˜‰

    +1 for Panera though – YUMM! And +20 for that stew (sans the beef) because that sounds SO WARM and COMFORTING right now! Now all you need is a fireplace!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

