‘Me’ Time

I had some much needed ‘me’ time today. I was super productive this morning and finished everything I needed to get done before lunchtime. Then the rest of the day I had absolutely no obligations. It was such a strange feeling. There seems to always be something I could be doing or getting ahead on, but this afternoon was totally free–and it’s the last day of that for a while. Tomorrow I’m going in to work to figure out my schedule for over break. It was such a great day though, and my anxiety/high stress level from the semester is finally starting to subside. 

Breakfast

Just a quick bowl of cereal to get my day started. I finally finished my paper! Hooray. That thing has been hanging over my head for far too long and I am just so glad to be done with it! After I was done with that I did some cardio, emptied the dishwasher, and showered. Then, get this….I got back into my jammies, curled up in my bed and caught up on some online episodes of tv shows I’ve missed. The Office is the love of my life. SO GOOD!

img_2407

Lunch

I started getting hungry so I decided to stop being such a lazy bum and get myself out of bed. I had some delicious leftovers, carrots, and grapes/blackberries which was the perfect meal. The pasta was just as good today! I think this was my first time ever having seitan and I really liked it, I’m going to definitely be trying out more recipes with it. 

img_2408

 Snack

It was rainy/dreary out today but I was determined to find “Eclipse” the 3rd book in the Twilight series. Everywhere I’d checked was sold out and it was my mission to find it. SUCCESS! I ran a few more errands while I was out and snacked on a coconut cream pie larabar. Such a good flavor!

img_2409

Then I got home, snuggled up on the couch and totally got lost in my book. I started to get a little hungry so I grabbed a quick yogurt which I’m sure tasted good but I wouldn’t know because I was too consumed in my reading!

img_2410

Dinner

I finally tried something that has been circling the blogworld for ages but my lack of an oven at school prevented me from making….GLIDING CALM TOFU I have seriously been wanted to try this forever and finally got the chance tonight. Let me just say that it was SO GOOD. I totally understand why everyone loves it so much—it’s crispy on the outside but perfectly chewy and soft on the inside. Mmm. With the tofu I made some roasted broccoli and Kashi Moroccan Pilaf. I found this at the grocery store and decided to give it a try–all you have to do is pour it into a bowl, add a teeny bit of water, cook for 1.5 min and it’s done! I really liked it, there was a lot of flavor and different textures, and it’s just so easy!  I’ll definitely be giving the other flavors a try too.

img_2411

Dessert

Another little snack platter while reading. Later on I found some chocolate covered popcorn!!! which I obviously had to try. It was delicious. Like I always say—everything is better with chocolate ; )

img_2412img_2413

 

I’m pretty sure an early bedtime is just what I need to end my relaxing day. I hope everyone had a good Monday! See you tomorrow : )

16 Responses to “‘Me’ Time”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, December 15, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Hooray for “me time” and for delectable eats (Larabar!! chocolate-covered popcorn!!). Hope you can make Miss Gliding Calm’s tofu soon though!!

    Enjoy your relaxing evening!!

  2. 2 Sharon Monday, December 15, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Wow, superb eats! I love them all!

  3. 3 Julz Monday, December 15, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    I love being home too!!! I mean, I live here, but I just looove coming home after a long day! So diviiine and I looove how you crawled back into your beddyby! HEAVEN ❤

    CHECK YOUR EMAIL SCROOGEY!

  4. 4 anna Monday, December 15, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    yay for free time and yummy food! You are making me drool with the popcorn yumm 🙂

    Omg i just finished reading New Moon and i love it!I can’t wait a whole year for the movie nono!
    The books are also sold out in Mexico 😦

  5. 5 Melissa S. Monday, December 15, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    yay for finishing your paper!

    that popcorn w/ the chocolate is calling my name…did you make it?! i’m drooling!

    have fun w/ your book! i wish i had time like that to read!

  6. 6 Amy Monday, December 15, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    SUPER eats! And I’m so glad you are feeling stress-free nowadays! YOU of all people deserve some time to yourself, girl!

    I love the coconut-cream-pie larabar. Its my favorite, so far 🙂

    Dessert platter—yum. And that chocolate covered popcorn mixture looks so good!

    Glad you found your book 🙂

  7. 7 eatingbender Monday, December 15, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Yay for “Me” time!! It sounds like you had a great day – and I am pumped that you got the third Twilight book! I hope you love it 🙂

    I love the coconut cream Larabar – it’s my favorite! And hurray for Gliding Calm tofu – that stuff is amazing!

    Have a great night with that chocolate covered popcorn. Yum!

  8. 8 jenngirl Monday, December 15, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    “me” days are so wonderful, and I’m sooo glad to hear that the stress of your semester is subsiding. Let the good times begin!

    Yay for Eclipse, you know I love it!

    Have an amazing evening 🙂

  9. 9 Hangry Pants Monday, December 15, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Your me time sounds wonderful and well deserved! Yay for Gliding Calm tofu – delicious.

    Have a wonderful night!

  10. 10 Caroline Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 12:57 am

    It sounds like you had a perfect day!
    I haven’t yet tried Gliding Calm tofu, but maybe I’ll give it a try. I’m glad you liked the Kashi pilaf–I have a package of that sitting in my pantry, but I haven’t gotten around to trying it. Thanks for the reminder!

  11. 11 carolinebee Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 1:21 am

    I caught up on the Office aaallll day today…haha TUNA! Love andy..

  12. 12 ksgoodeats Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 8:30 am

    “Me time” is my favorite! LOVE The Office!!

    Chocolate covered popcorn = total yum!

  13. 13 Katie Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Everything looks so good! I NEED to make chocolate-covered popcorn, that looks AMAZING.

    I’m not even halfway through Twilight and I’m already feeling anxious about what to replace my reading with when I finish the whole series! I can’t wait to see the movie!!!

  14. 14 glidingcalm Tuesday, December 16, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    WHOA LADY! how did I totally miss you making my TOFU?! Thank you sooooo much for the shout out!! 🙂 You are so sweet! I hope you enjoyed it!!!!!!! 🙂

  15. 15 Kailey Friday, December 19, 2008 at 11:39 am

    that tofu looks amazing!!??
    how did you make it?


  1. 1 "Go home and go straight to sleep…PROMISE?!" « Gliding Calm Trackback on Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 10:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

