Secret Sunday

Hello friends! I hope everyone had a great day/weekend! Today was another great day—full of secret santa stuff. I got my package all put together so someone will be very happy early this week : ) YAY. I can’t wait.

Breakfast

I had another great night of sleep and woke up refreshed. I was actually really hungry right when I got up so I had breakfast immediately. I had my infamous waffle tower and it really hit the spot. Unfortunately it was accompanied by my paper, but I’m almost done—all I have to do is edit!

img_2401

I’ve been pretty much a bottomless pit all day, and got hungry mid-morning during my work. I had 2 dates. I love these–they seriously taste like candy to me! 

img_24021

It was a really nice day out–much milder than it has been, so I took advantage of the warmer than usual weather and went for a nice run. It’s always a shock going from running in my flat neighborhood at school to the crazy hills of Pittsburgh. It’s a much harder workout and my heart rate was seriously high—there were a few times that I was really gasping for breath. It made me feel good and strong when I finished though : )

Lunch

I was really hungry for lunch and after I showered I made myself a delicious Ezekial with cinnamon raisin pb and mighty maple pb and some 2% cottage cheese. I have been waiting forever to try the mighty maple but couldn’t find it anywhere at school. When I spotted it at WF yesterday I did a little jump for joy. It was delicious! Mmmmm. 

img_2403

After lunch I did some secret baking for my secret santa. I want it to be a surprise so I’ll wait and let the lucky blogger reveal what it is when she gets it. The house sure smelled delicious! After I finished that I headed out to buy the rest of the gifts for the package. I’m not going to lie, I sort of want to keep everything for myself ; )

Snack

I got home and resumed my paper-writing, but obviously needed a snack! I had some carrots, sweet potato chips, trail mix and meringues (plus a few more which somehow snuck into my mouth. They have a mind of their own!)

img_2404

Dinner

My mom made dinner for us tonight and we ate while watching THE STEELERS game. Boy do I love my Steelers : ) It was a nice break from paper writing. We had mac and cheese with seitan, asparagus, and baked apples. This mac&cheese is SO GOOD! It actually only has 1 c cheese total for 8 servings, but the secret it using mashed butternut squash. It makes the dish really creamy and tastes so rich and decadent. It’s also a great way to get some extra veggies in!

img_2405

Dessert

A little snack platter. Yum

img_2406

I am SO close to being done with my paper. And I’m still a little hungry, so I think I’m going to go have 2nds on my snack platter and finish up my work so I can finally have my winter break!

13 Responses to “Secret Sunday”


  1. 1 Sharon Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Good luck with your paper! And I love your snack platter, so delicious!

  2. 2 Julz Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    I’m SO glad to have my Sweetness back in her Happies!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Waffle tower + dates + snack plate = delightful!!

    Rock out the last bit of that paper!! You can do it!!

  4. 4 eatingbender Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    What a great day! Can’t beat that waffle tower 🙂 Your infamous breakfast treat!

    Love all the “secrets” – I’m sure the lucky blogger is going to love whatever you got cookin’!

    I still haven’t been able to find Mighty Maple PB around me! I’m glad you found it – and liked it!

    Good luck finishing that paper!

  5. 5 HangryPants Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    What a super duper day. I love the macaroni and cheese. Is there a recipe floating around?

    Good luck with the paper. 😀

  6. 6 Erin Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Good job woorking and having a total blast honey pie sug!
    Ooh whoever gets your pkg is one lucky woman! 🙂 I sent mine off today. It was SO fun putting it together!

  7. 7 Melissa S. Monday, December 15, 2008 at 1:22 am

    hahha…i’m totally like you; not going to reveal anything for my secret santa until they get it! yeppers!

    and what a great day! finish up that paper!

  8. 8 jenngirl Monday, December 15, 2008 at 1:41 am

    Yay good luck with your paper, we’re almost done! I can’t wait to try my Ezekial english muffins very soon, you are my inspiration! Also, glad you found mighty maple, it IS such a treat! Try it with something pumpkin flavored if you get the chance, it’s fantastic!

  9. 9 ksgoodeats Monday, December 15, 2008 at 8:00 am

    Yay secret santa 🙂

    Your breakfast looks DIVINE!!

  10. 10 Sarah's Mom Monday, December 15, 2008 at 10:38 am

    This was the Rachael Ray recipe I modified

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/harvest-moon-macaroni-recipe/index.html

    It is really easy and very good. If you are using skim milk, like I did, it will take longer to thicken. Also, we used vegetable stock instead of chicken stock

  11. 11 Meghann Monday, December 15, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Dates are the best candy 🙂

  12. 12 catms916 Monday, December 15, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Oooh can you post a recipe for that mas & cheese perhaps??

  13. 13 Elina Wednesday, December 17, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I’ve made mac and cheese with pureed butternut squash and you’re right – it’s so good!!! I think I need to make it again 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

