FABULOUS

That’s how I feel: FABULOUS. Guys, I am in such a good mood today it’s unreal. Nothing really extraordinary happened, and I’ve actually spent a good portion of my day working on my huge research paper (for some reason it doesn’t want to magically write itself…) but I’ve just felt so great. I love being home and feeling so loved and needed and appreciated. Even though I’m surrounded by people at school I just feel lonely, and that vanishes as soon as I get home and I honestly feel like a huge weight is lifted off my shoulders the second I step in my door. 

I’m so happy because I have a whole month at home and don’t have to go back to school until Jan. 12. I will be working at the mall to make some extra money but I plan on spending a lot of time de-stressing and really focusing on me. I really need to figure out who I am, what I like, and what I want instead of just going through the motions and doing what I think I’m supposed to do. It should be an interesting journey. 

The good news for you is that you get a whole month of happy Sarah—I love her! She’s much more fun (and funny!) so no more debbie-downer posts for a while (at least let’s hope not!)

Anyway, on to some food!

Breakfast

I slept wonderfully last night, I love my big bed! Then I exercised first thing and made myself some brekkie. Nothing special since there was no food in the house! I don’t know how my family survives without me to grocery shop for them! I just had a quick ezekial and delicious, juicy red pear. Then I showered (without having to wear flip flops, how liberating!) and headed out to my equivalent of Disney World—WHOLE FOODS!

img_23951

Lunch

My mom and I had a major grocery shop at WF and it was wonderful. That really is like a playground to me or something. I love it! Of course while we were there I had to take advantage of the amazing salad bar. I couldn’t wait to get home and dig in–I loaded it up with tons of goodies and had a few Food Should Taste Good Sweet Potato Chips on the side. I’ve wanted to try these for a while but that silly voice in my head would never let me. Well I shut it up today and I’m so glad–these were awesome! And that fact that I let myself have them allowed me to be satisfied with just a few, knowing that I’m allowed to  have more later, and I didn’t binge on the entire bag like I used to fear.

img_23961

I’m one of those people that has to open and taste everything as soon as I buy it so rather than recklessly digging in to all my goodies while standing in front of the open pantry, I made a little ‘dessert platter’ with some meringues, cinnamon trail mix (!) and a date! FANTASTIC!

img_23971

Snack

I then got serious about my paper  did the Secret Santa assignments (SO EXCITED!!!) and started getting hungry around 5. Dinner took about an hour to cook and I didn’t want to go into it starving so I had a little snack while I was prepping. Just some grapes, blackberries, and a few more meringues. Then I got cooking! It felt SO GOOD to be back in the kitchen and cooking again. Ahhhh, once again can I just say how good it is to be home!

img_23981

Dinner 

AMAZING. I made Chicken with apples and onion with a few modifications from the Food Network Magazine. I only used a tiny bit of oil, omitted the butter, and subbed red wine vinegar for the apple cider vinegar because that’s all we had. It turned out phenomenal. The chicken really stayed moist and the apple/onion combination was to die for. Along with the chicken I made some roasted brussels sprouts (one of my absolute favorite veggies!) and tried acorn squash for the first time. WOW. I just sliced it, drizzled it with maple syrup, fake butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Then I baked it for about 45 min. at 400 and it was so good. This will definitely be a new staple around here! Dinner was so good and would have been even better if I could have enjoyed some wine with my parents, but unfortunately I still have a paper to write tonight!

img_2399

Dessert

After dinner I got back to work on my paper: 12 pages down, 3 more to go! Woohoo! I’ve been researching and working on this since the beginning of November so I am more than ready to just be done with it. I took a break for some dessert though. We picked up an assortment of cookies from the heavenly WF bakery today and I thoroughly enjoyed 1/2 of a jumble cookie and chocolate chip cookie. So good.

img_24001

Now I’m going to bed! It’s not even 10:30 but I am exhausted and my bed is calling my name. Goodnight!

13 Responses to “FABULOUS”


  1. 1 eatingbender Saturday, December 13, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Wow, it truly was a fabulous day for you! I am so HAPPY that we will be seeing Happy Sarah around here – YAY home!!

    Love the Whole Foods salad bar – it is like Disney World. And as usual, we are totally alike – I ALWAYS open and dig into everything when I get new groceries. I like your idea of creating a sample platter – I will have to try that next time!

    Dinner sounds great – glad you liked the acorn squash! And the cookies look yummy.

    Best of luck with the rest of your paper – I hope your Sunday as just as fabulous!

  2. 2 Sharon Saturday, December 13, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Glad to see that you are happy happy happpppyyy!!!! =)
    And oh wow, that cookie looks delicious. What a great combination!

  3. 3 anna Saturday, December 13, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    I’m glad you are so happy! The feeling of coming back home it’s awesome!
    OMG i have never been to Whole Foods 😦 so sad but your salad looks so yummy! I really really want to go to USA just to go grocery shopping.I’m crazy right? lol 🙂

  4. 4 FollowMyWeigh Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 2:07 am

    Hey, thats so awesome you are feeling so fabulous!! I hope that feeling continues for a loooong time 🙂

    ANd WF?? Definitely like a playground 😀

  5. 5 VeggieGirl Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 8:48 am

    HELL FREAKING YES FOR….

    – feeling fabulous (your enthusiasm is so refreshing, girl!!)

    – dates, brussels sprouts, acorn squash (holy yum)

    – Whole Foods (my second home)

    – almost being done with the paper

    🙂

  6. 6 Nicole Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Yay happy!!!!

    I recently tried dates and OMG I LOVE THEM! They are especially good stuffed with white chocolate pb and chocolate chips 😀

  7. 7 jenngirl Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Sarah, that is so funny, my family is the SAME way…I know they wouldn’t survive without me going to the grocery store! I don’t know what they are going to do when I leave for school…

    Good luck on your paper!!

  8. 8 ksgoodeats Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 9:09 am

    I’ve always called WFs the happiest place on Earth 😉

    So glad to hear you’re happy again! There’s no place like home! I’m super excited for secret santa too 🙂 Gorgeous dinner!

  9. 9 Elina Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 9:33 am

    That’s so great that you are so happy! Enjoy this month off!!

  10. 10 Erin Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 10:02 am

    I’m so glad you’re home Sarah! It’s clearly very spiritually and emotionally nourishing for you. 🙂 This is amazing. Yay!

  11. 11 Katie Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    I’m so glad you’re home!!! Isn’t it nice knowing you have a WHOLE MONTH to relax and be with people you love? I can feel the collective blog world sigh with relief… we all seem to be finishing up with school around the same time.

    Your food made my tummy rumble, and I just ate! That seems to be the effect Whole Foods hot salad bar has on me…

  12. 12 carolinebee Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    OMG you seriously sound ecstatic to be home!! And all that cooking- WOW, can’t do that in the sorority house 😀 I so feel you on that feeling of love and appreciation at home, even if you do have to write a silly paper!! good luck!

  13. 13 Tina Sunday, December 14, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Awww, I love it when people are happy! It makes me happy too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

