Snow!

I woke up to snow this morning! I love when it snows. Actually the only time I’m ok with the cold weather is while it’s snowing. As soon as the snow stops falling I want 75* and sun, but during the flurries I love it! 

Breakfast

Today would have been the perfect morning for a comforting hot bowl of oatmeal but I hate microwaved oatmeal, and I already had some overnight oats waiting for me in the fridge so I just had them cold. Of course they were delicious as always.

img_2346

Later in the morning I ventured out in the snow to head to the gym. They were the big snowflakes that are perfect for catching on your tongue—which I definitely did ; ) I got a great workout in today and was happy that the gym wasn’t as crowded as yesterday. I stuck to just cardio today because I actually have a personal training session tomorrow night! I’m really excited because I really enjoy lifting weights but just have no clue what to do/how much to lift/ what the proper form is. Hopefully this will help.

Lunch

I had to pack up lunch to go today and ate it during my many, many hours holed up in the library. Luckily I had delicious food to power me through! I packed an apple, carrots, and maple almond butter sandwich. Divine. 

img_2347

Snacks

One of the things I struggle with is how to fuel myself while studying. I sort of feel guilty eating when all I’m doing is sitting at a desk for hours at a time but my nutritionist helped explain to me just how vital it is to properly fuel my body and brain in order to concentrate and get my work done. I’ve definitely noticed that when I’m hungry, weak, and irritable that I just can’t concentrate on what I’m reading and my work definitely suffers. So today, as soon as I noticed my blood sugar dipping I broke for a snack. Throughout the afternoon I had a soy latte and some Stacy’s BBQ soy crisps. I really can notice a difference in how long I’m able to concentrate and how productive I am when I fuel myself properly. I got so much work done today—but there’s still TONS to do!

img_2350

Dinner

About 7 or 8 hours after getting to the library I needed to go home. I was getting so antsy (and hungry!) I made a quick and easy dinner of Annie’s microwave mac & cheese mixed with tuna and a salad. This is the perfect meal–it’s yummy, healthy, and filling! Yay!

img_2351

Dessert

I finished up my last econ problem set of the semester (tomorrow is the last day of classes—yay!!) and decided to treat myself to a yummy dessert after all my hard work today. I had 1/2 cup  Stoneyfield vanilla frozen yogurt with a chocolate vitamuffin. EXCELLENT combination! It was like a healthy brownie sundae!

img_2352

And now I’m happy and perfectly satisfied. This is such a great feeling. 2 nights in a row that I’m not hungry/snacky/munchy late at night. There is still cake leftover as well as tons of candy sitting in the kitchen right now and I don’t even want any. I’m loving this new plan and hopefully the positive effects will continue. This makes me so happy. I’ve felt so out of control, stressed, and lost this semester and things finally seem to be coming together and falling into place. The stress is still there but now it’s just the normal stress surrounding finals and finishing up the semester.

I GO HOME ON FRIDAY!!!! : )

12 Responses to “Snow!”


  1. 1 Sharon Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Wow, good luck on your session with your personal trainer tomorrow night. And great eats – I want to try those Stacy Chips! They sound good.

    How do you happen to measure 1/2 cup ice cream?

  2. 2 Amy Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Lovely eats of the day, especially that dessert! I’m glad you appropriately fueled your mind for that major studying sesh you had! proper nurishment does wonders for conentrating 😉 ive learned that in the past year, too. good job!

    sharon ** 1/2 cup of ice cream is like two little scoops or one big scoop. a more realistic portion (for me atleast) is one cup 🙂

  3. 3 gina (fitnessista) Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    happy snow day! hope the trainer sesh goes well!!
    HOORAY for going home this weekend!

  4. 4 Observation Monday, December 8, 2008 at 12:13 am

    This is not meant to be rude at all, but for somebody trying to eat more, a 100-calorie sandwich thin that looks like it might have been in the same room as a nut butter, carrot sticks, and an apple for lunch, as well as a dry salad for dinner, seems very meager.

  5. 5 Melissa S. Monday, December 8, 2008 at 12:17 am

    snow days, never had one. hah! glad you like them!

    hope the trainer session goes well!

    and omg that dessert is to die for!!!

  6. 6 Jen Monday, December 8, 2008 at 1:08 am

    Wow i am very impressed you can stay at the library for 7-8 hours. Really I am jealous! I max out at about 2 hours! Oh I wish I had your discipline! I could really use when studying for the MCAT. Anyways I guess I should get back to stuyding haha

  7. 7 Caroline Monday, December 8, 2008 at 1:10 am

    I completely understand where you’re coming from re:fuel and studying. I feel so lazy sitting around at my desk all day, but I definitely still get hungry. Gotta eat that brain food!

    I go home on Friday too–best of luck this week!

  8. 8 jenngirl Monday, December 8, 2008 at 7:58 am

    Yay great meals, and I’m sooo jealous of your snow! I think that’s wonderful that you are learning how to properly fuel yourself for studying, I know that can be tricky. You are doing an awesome job though 🙂

    You know I love my Vitamuffins…

  9. 9 ksgoodeats Monday, December 8, 2008 at 7:59 am

    So many things to be happy about: Perfect snack + snow + going home Friday = 😀

    Good luck studying girl!!

  10. 10 VeggieGirl Monday, December 8, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Lots of snow here too!! 🙂

    Great eats!!

    Best of luck studying and with the personal-training session!!

  11. 11 Erin Monday, December 8, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    YOU’RE DOING GREAT!
    It takes at least 1200 cals to just lay on your ass and do nothing, so get to fueling girl!

  12. 12 Rose Monday, December 8, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Good job with your snacking 🙂 It sounds like you’re doing well!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

