Hello!

Guys, I am in such a good mood tonight! I had the best day full of great food, exercise, productive studying, and some fun with my friends. I’d say that’s all you can ask for in a Saturday! 

Breakfast

I finally caught up on some sleep last night! I turned my lights off at 10:53 and seriously think I fell asleep within 30 seconds. I slept great and didn’t wake up until 8:15! That’s so much more sleep than I’ve been getting recently, and it felt great. For breakfast I had a big bowl of cereal with skim, huge banana, and 2T flax. Yum, yum.

img_23391

We had a workshop this morning in preparation for recruitment next semester. It was long and I was definitely getting antsy and hungry by the end. There was food that was ordered for lunch afterward but it wasn’t going to come for an hour or so, I was starving, and I had serious work to get done. Instead of waiting around I just went back and had lunch on my own with the company of my monetary economics textbook.

Lunch

Delicious turkey, hummus, veggie sandwich with cottage cheese. SO good. Hummus and turkey really make a great combination. I was satisfied after this but really wanted to try to stick to my new meal plan so I followed it up with a delicious juicy apple for a little ‘lunch dessert.’ This guy was so sweet that it definitely could pass as dessert!

img_2340img_2341

I did a few hours of work and then went over to the gym to exercise. I usually workout in the mornings at the gym and I’m so glad that I do. Saturday afternoon was not fun at all—it was SO BUSY! I actually had to wait a few minutes for a cardio machine to open up and then when I was done there wasn’t even any mat space for me to stretch. Yuck. Despite the business I did get a good workout in with the new Shape magazine. I seriously don’t think I would exercise at all if I didn’t have magazines as an incentive! I love magazines but don’t really let myself read them unless I’m at the gym. It definitely helps me get motivated to go and sometimes I’ll even workout a little longer if I’m really into a good article.

Dinner

I had to eat an early dinner tonight (5:30) because I was going to a show with my friends at 6, and since I didn’t get home from the gym until 4:45 I just waited. I was definitely hungry for dinner which made it taste even better! I had breakfast for dinner again with an egg/cheese ezekial sandwich and a salad. This was such a great combination, I loved it!

img_23421

Some friends and I went to a dance show tonight and it was a lot of fun. Every semester our school puts on this huge dance show with like 20 dances all choreographed by students. There are no auditions for the show and no experience necessary so a ton of people participate and it’s always really fun and upbeat. There are some more technical and serious dances, but a lot of them are just funny and silly. A lot of my friends were in the show which made it even more fun to watch.

Dessert

I got home around 9:30 and was really hungry again. Rather than fight it, I made myself a more substantial dessert than usual. I had some fage and a chocolate coconut chew larabar. This was my first time trying this flavor and while I liked it overall, I was a little disappointed by the lack of coconut flavor.

img_2344

I worked a little on a spreadsheet for one of my problem sets and my stomach was still a little unsatisfied. I ventured downstairs and saw that there was leftover dessert from the workshop. WHOLE FOODS CAKE! Now, nobody in their right mind would ever turn down something from the WF bakery so I happily cut myself a little square of both the chocolate and vanilla. SO GOOD as always. WF never lets me down!

 

img_2345

My tummy and mouth were perfectly satisfied after this! I have to say that this was a huge success for me. Usually things like this are really big triggers for me and in the past I know that I would have inhaled this dessert without even tasting it, then proceeded to eat trail mix, pb, and continue to scrape off icing and pick at the edges of the cake until I felt disgusted with myself. NOT TONIGHT. I allowed myself a little piece of each flavor, slowly savored them, truly appreciating the taste, and then was done. I honestly don’t want anymore and I’m not hungry for anything else. I know that this is because 1) I didn’t have the attitude that I’m blowing it by eating cake. 2) I fed and fueled myself properly all day so I wasn’t starving when I ate this. 3) I didn’t tell myself that it’s ‘off-limits’ and deprive myself of it so that I felt guilty or like I was breaking the rules by eating it. Excellent!

Ok, I’m off to finish working on this problem set and hopefully get to bed early again tonight. Tomorrow it’s back to the library. Ugh.

I hope you’re all having a great weekend!

11 Responses to “Hello!”


  1. 1 Hangry Pants Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Way to go with the cake enjoyment! Sounds like you’ve been making great progress.

  2. 2 Melissa S. Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 12:00 am

    yay for cake yumminess! great job!

  3. 3 Sharon Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Great job!! You definitely should be proud. And delicious, delicious, delicious!

  4. 4 Katie Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 12:03 am

    Congrats on listening to your body 🙂 That cake looks so good! And such a perfect reward for a good day of work and play.

  5. 5 ksgoodeats Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Glad to hear you enjoyed the cake!! It looks delish 🙂

  6. 6 VeggieGirl Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 8:02 am

    Sarah!!! This is SOOOO fantastic to read about your great mood and great Saturday – yay!!!! Hope your Sunday is just as glorious 🙂

  7. 7 Erin Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 8:30 am

    I’m so proud of you girl! It looks like adding some cals during the day is helping with those night cravings. It is so awesome. You’re doing fantastic. 🙂 Remember how good this feels!

  8. 8 jenngirl Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Ah I LOVE how positive this post was!! So many accomplishments today, Sarah, awesome! All of your meals look like delicious fuel and especially that cake at the end, such a hurdle, but you did it! Hope your Sunday is just as amazing as yesterday was! 🙂

  9. 9 Amy Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Hey! I tried the chocolate coconut chew larabar and felt the same way: wheres the coconut flavor?! but it still tasted chocolatey, so all was not lost 🙂

    im really happy about how you allowed guilt-free cake tastings to occur! whole foods bakery items, although scary & unkown in terms of calories, are usually worth any amount of stress or anxiety. im so proud that you had these yummy looking frosted-delights !! they look so delicious and im really jealous actually. you go girllll 😀

    have a great rest of the weekend…glad youre feeling good! muah ❤

  10. 10 eatingbender Sunday, December 7, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    What a great day of eats! That Whole Foods cake is definitely one of those things you can never turn down – and I’m so happy that you were able to enjoy it and that it didn’t trigger those unhappy feelings. This post was so great to read!

    I do the same thing with my magazines – saving them for the gym makes them so much more special!

    Happy Sunday!

  11. 11 Katie Monday, December 8, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Mmm Annies+tuna= best fast dinner EVER.

    I go home Friday too!!! Good luck with the rest of your week!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

