Lame-O Award Winner

That’s right, I officially declared myself lamest person around for the night. 1) It’s 9:00 on a FRIDAY night and I’m in my pjs, teeth brushed, contacts out, ready for bed. 2) It is NOT a relaxing I’m in my pjs with some tea and a good book, or with a fun carton of ice cream and a movie deal, but a I’ve been doing homework all night situation. Lame, I know. I hope you are all having exponentially more fun!

I’m actually not too upset about it because today has been a good day overall. Definitely not fun, but satisfying. It was what I needed to reassure myself that I’m on the right track and that I really can make it through the next week without spiraling into full-out panic mode.

Breakfast

I slept really poorly last night and tossed and turned the entire time. I finally fell into a deep sleep just in time for my alarm to wake me up for an early-morning doctor’s appointment. I grabbed a larabar to eat on the road. Not the most balance meal, but certainly delicious. This is by far one of my favorite foods of all time. I really can’t get over how amazing these taste, and they are SO good for you too! I felt a little indulgent because I felt like I was eating dessert for breakfast!

img_2327

Lunch

After my appointment I went into my internship for a few hours and got some work done. I’m glad I did because I can sure use the extra money for holiday shopping! I met up with a friend for lunch and to discuss this killer paper we have. I’m seriously so overwhelmed by it. It’s a really big research paper and I just don’t really know what the professor wants or expects. I’ve been working so hard on it too! We met at the campus center and I loaded up on lots of goodies from the salad bar. SO good. I love my fruits and veggies!

img_2328

Snack

I went to Starbucks to get some studying done this afternoon and had a very productive couple hours. It was great, and definitely made me feel a little better about my upcoming week. I had some fruit salad because I was still a little hungry (there was kiwi in it! YAYYY!) and I branched out a bit and tied a different drink than usual. I got a tall soy sugar-free vanilla misto. WOW. No, seriously. WOW. I’d never, ever tried soymilk before (shocking!) and was seriously impressed. It made the drink so much creamier, tastier, and more filling than my usual nonfat milk does. This is absolutely going to be a staple in my life.

img_2330

Later in the afternoon I had another appointment with my nutritionist. A couple weeks ago I went in for an initial consultation and today was my first follow-up. It went really well!  She still wants me to avoid calorie counting and won’t even tell me what my range should be because it will just make me obsessive about it, but she did help me come up with a basic meal plan based on food groups. I think this will be really beneficial because it will give me a lot of flexibility in my choices but will still provide me with basic guidelines to make sure that I am getting in all my nutrients. While I have been doing a good job of listening to my body, my body unfortunately still isn’t ready for all that responsibility and sometimes it unintentionally restricts because it just doesn’t know any better. Even though my meal plan doesn’t include calories I can tell by the food groups that it is a lot more than I am used to eating and it will definitely be an adjustment physically, mentally, and emotionally to follow it, but I’m really going to try! I guess my fear is that I’ll increase my intake to the right level but then I’ll still end up bingeing which will just cause me to gain weight. I’m really trying to work on trusting my nutritionist and my body that this is what is best for it and that by fueling myself properly that the binges won’t have any need to resurface!

I got home from the appointment and was starting to get a little hungry again so I took some of the ideas we just discussed (she really helped me plan out some smart meal and snack combos) and had a mix of carbs/protein/fat in the form of PB and graham crackers. What a perfect little treat!

img_2331

Dinner

For dinner I tried out yet another new Amy’s product: Spinach Pizza Pocket. And of course we have another winner! I LOVED this!

img_2336

I paired the Pizza Pocket with some Fage and Carrots for a very satisfying meal. Then I got to hard-core working on my paper.

img_2335

Dessert

After making some progress (yay!) on my paper I decided to break for dessert. I had a vitamuffin and frozen mango. Love.

img_2337

A little while later I was starting to doze off in front of my computer so I had a tootsie pop to keep me alert. It worked perfectly.

img_2338

I plan to continue being lame and write a little more of this paper and be in bed by 11!! Wouldn’t that be glorious? Tomorrow I actually have some fun planned so I’ll have to pass my lame-o award off to another poor college student swamped with finals. Any takers?

12 Responses to “Lame-O Award Winner”


  1. 1 Erin Friday, December 5, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Good girl. 🙂 I’m glad you met with her again because I was perhaps a tad worried. 😉

  2. 2 eatingbender Friday, December 5, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    Haha, I’ve been having a lame-o night, too 🙂 Go us!

    It sounds like your appointment with the nutritionist went really well! I definitely am intrigued by the idea of eating by food groups – please let me know what your thoughts are once you start getting into it more. I wish you the best of luck with it – and you know you can always vent to me if you need to!

    “Color-coded robotic lights” and “fertile rice paddies”? Love it 🙂

  3. 3 jenngirl Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Haha you are far from lame, Sarah! I went to dinner with the parents tonight, and I’m about to hit the sack as well 🙂

    That’s good to hear about your appointment, I can tell you from experience that the food group plan will work. I still have fears everyday that I’m going to “still be hungry” after eating a meal or snack, but guess what? If you eat the correct amount and fuel your body healthfully, you won’t be hungry at the wrong times. Your body IS going to get what it needs, and respond appropriatetly. I know this is hard to believe, but with some time you will be okay with it. I’m here for you!!

    Glad you have some fun planned 🙂

  4. 4 Sharon Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Good luck girlie! Hope things go well!

    Delicious eats!
    And it’s great to hear that things went great with the Nutritionist. Keep it up!

  5. 5 Katie Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Going to the nutritionist sounds like a really good idea. Sometimes it helps to get an outside perspective on things… I could certainly use that every so often.

    I’ve got to try those spinach pockets! I have two Amy’s burritos left to try, but I’ll pick one up after that.

    And, um, I totally need your lame-o award because I can’t seem to buckle down and get work done!

  6. 6 VeggieGirl Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 10:03 am

    I was already ASLEEP by 9:00pm last night (since I’m ill, and am desperately trying to get well).

    HOLY YUM LARABAR!!! 😀

    Hang in there with the new meal plan!!

    I used to eat those Amy’s pizza pockets before I became a vegan/had to go gluten-free and soy-free – they were quite delicious, for sure.

    Enjoy your weekend!! Don’t let all the work take over!! 😀

  7. 7 gina (fitnessista) Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 11:41 am

    you are definitely not a lame-o, but feel free to pass the award onto me this week when i’m stuck in my house like a hermit, studying for finals and finishing up homework and projects. bah
    so glad you met with the nutritionist again. i’ve read a lot about eating by food groups and it’s actually really good for digestion, since different food groups digest more quickly than others. for example, fruit only takes 30 minutes to fully digest while a grain can take 1-2 hours. if you eat by food group, it keeps the food from layering in your stomach, which is kinda gross to think about but it’s actually a great way to eat. i’m excited to hear how it works for you!
    enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  8. 8 Hil Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I nominate myself as another candidate for the lame-o award…I studied for 12 hours straight yesterday!

    I’m glad to hear that you went back to the nutritionist. I think if you’re eating that much more food at your meals and scheduled snacks, it’s unlikely that you will have much desire to eat extra on top of that. Good luck and keep us posted!

  9. 9 caroline f Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Good for you on the new meal plan, It really does help to have a fresh perspective on things 🙂 Give it time! I wish those little muffins were vegan they look so good! Oh well…Have a great weekend!
    -C

  10. 10 Melissa S. Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    i’m glad the appt with the nutritionist went so well. i know it’ll be an adjustment to the groups and the amounts she wants you to eat, but i know you can do it and will do it!

    love the eats; esp the vitamuffin!

  11. 11 ksgoodeats Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Gotta love Amy’s 😀 Sorry about the crazy schedule, just remember it’ll be over with soon!

    I’m glad the appointment with your nutritionist went well! You know that if you EVER need support or just some place to rant, we all are just one click away and will support you no matter what!

  12. 12 glidingcalm Saturday, December 6, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    haha i was in bed by 8pm on that Friday night! beat thaaaaat!

    i love those fruit cups from Sbucks! and that salad bar looks yummers!

    Glad to hear your appt with the nutritionist went well! I know you can do it!

    And thank you for all of the sweet comments you have been leaving on my blog! I am grateful and happy for each and every one!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

