Successful Day!

I can’t believe we’re already coming to an end of another week! I know I say this over and over, but it’s just crazy how fast the days fly by when you’re busy, and I definitely have been busy!

Breakfast

I was absolutely starving when I woke up this morning. I actually woke up at around 4am hungry which never happens. I didn’t really know what to make of it, and since I was still half-asleep I just rolled over and went back to bed. When I finally did get up, I needed food and fast. So weird, huh. Luckily I had some overnight oats waiting for me in the fridge. Yum.

img_2318

 

Snack

I was hard at work all morning. I was really productive, it was great. I never really filled up from breakfast and started getting really hungry again mid-morning. I wasn’t sure what to do because I never have a morning snack, but there was just no way I was making it until lunch. I pulled out a maple nut clif bar from my bar stash and was going to just have half, but it was so good and I was so hungry that I had the whole thing! I guess my body really needed the fuel so I just went with it.

img_2321

Lunch

My morning snack did the trick and finally quieted my stomach. Unfortunately it did a little too good of a job and I wasn’t getting hungry for lunch at all! I had yoga at 3 and needed to eat something before then and with enough time to digest, so around 2 I made lunch but kept it smallish because I still wasn’t hungry. I just had an Ezekial with 1 T cinn-raisin pb and a laughing cow cheese. This was the perfect amount of fuel but I definitely didn’t leave myself enough time to digest it because I could feel it all during class. It was really uncomfortable trying to do so many sun-salutations, twists, and headstands with lunch sitting heavy in my tummy!

img_2322

Dinner

After yoga I had a nice date with the library. It wasn’t so bad though because it’s at that point in the semester where seriously everyone takes up residence in the libs so if you want any social interaction whatsoever, that’s where you have to go!

I didn’t stay too, too long though because I was getting hungry! When I got back to my room I quickly heated up some lentil soup, with a sandwich thin, and yogurt. This dinner was great. I really like this soup because it’s so comforting and really filling. Perfect for a cold day. Of course the sandwich thins are amazing too–they really are my obsession. I hope I can find them at home because I don’t know how I’m going to make it a month without them!

img_2324

Dessert

My sweet tooth was calling right after dinner so I satisfied it with a warmed up vitamuffin and two spoonfuls of greek yogurt. I’ve seen this on other blogs before but I wasn’t too impressed. Maybe if I used vanilla yogurt or even plain nonfat instead of greek. I normally love the creamy, tanginess of fage (and eat it almost every day–or more than once, like today!) but for some reason I just didn’t like the combo with the vitamuffin. I think from now on I’ll keep the two separate.

img_2325

I did some work and took a little study break to watch Grey’s with one of my friends. I came up to start this post and realized I was definitely hungry again. It wasn’t just ‘snackiness’ but actual hunger so I decided to listen to my body and have yet another snack! I chose a super juicy pear and hot chocolate.  Mmm, this hit the spot. I definitely don’t want to go to bed hungry and wake up in the middle of the night famished again!

img_2326

Overall today was a very successful eating day and I’m really proud of myself. It may not seem like much, but the fact that I let myself have a morning snack (and a big one too!) and had 2 desserts is a big deal. In the past I would have felt really guilty about it, restricted, and probably binged. Instead I really listened to my hunger cues and fed myself when I needed it. Yay!

I think I have a few more hours of work left in me, so it’s back to work! Tomorrow is Friday : )

7 Responses to “Successful Day!”


  1. 1 Sharon Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Oh that vita muffin looks so googy and yummy. And great job on such success. I can definitely relate to what you are going through. I used to be so guilty if I overate, but now, I just take it and learn from it.

  2. 2 eatingbender Friday, December 5, 2008 at 12:29 am

    I’m so happy for you! Great job 🙂 All of your eats look fantastic, and I can tell just by the way you wrote the post that you truly enjoyed everything. Yay!!

    Well, except for the Vitamuffin and Greek yogurt combo – but they are definitely good by themselves, so it technically counts, too! And I hope you can find those thins at home!

    Have a GREAT weekend!

  3. 3 Melissa S. Friday, December 5, 2008 at 12:39 am

    i wish i had had as good a day as you…my eating has been so out of wack. boo.

    great job babe. and gluck w/ the studying!

  4. 4 Katie Friday, December 5, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Good job being productive! I’m a little jealous… I can’t seem to focus AT ALL. Blah.

    Try mixing the vitamuffin and yogurt with a little nut butter… it gives it a little more oomf.

  5. 5 VeggieGirl Friday, December 5, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Hooray for a successful & delicious day!! 🙂

    Happy Friday!!!

  6. 6 Jenny Friday, December 5, 2008 at 10:41 am

    So awesome that you had such a successful day!! My body does that too sometimes, waking up early, stomach growling, but my mind says “sleep”! Just goes to show how unrelated our mind and stomachs can be sometimes, haha!

    Have an awesome Friday!

  7. 7 ksgoodeats Friday, December 5, 2008 at 10:46 am

    Congrats on listening to your hunger cues! What a great day of eats too 🙂

    Glad to hear the soup is a winner – I have it in my house and it’s been staring at me for a while, I’ll have to try it now!

    Happy Friday!!!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

