I Can Do It

I have to keep repeating positive affirmations to myself or else I’m never going to get through the rest of the semester. Even though I don’t feel optimistic right now, I’m going for the whole ‘fake it till you make it’ sort of deal.

Preworkout

I was up bright and early this morning and had a delectable clif mini before my chilly run. I hate the cold!
img_2312

Breakfast

After I showered I had the usual cereal. Same as yesterday. But oh, so good.

img_2313

Lunch

I switched up my usual sandwich today for something more fun: sweet potato with cottage cheese and carrots. I’m so happy to see that my creation has been making it’s way around the blogosphere. It’s so easy, filling, and delicious. 

img_2314

Snack

Somewhere during my studies I popped up some kettle corn

img_2315

Dinner

I wasn’t too hungry when dinnertime rolled around but I had a meeting to go to and needed something quick before I left. I had a yummy turkey, egg, cheese sandwich and apple. I love breakfast for dinner! I’m so glad I learned how to make eggs in the microwave because it makes it so easy, fast, and minimal clean-up. I just poured 1/2 cup eggbeaters into a bowl, heated for 1 min, stirred, another minute in the micro and the result is a fluffy egg patty. Amazing.

img_2317

Dessert

This was definitely the highlight of my day! When I was at Whole Foods on Monday I picked up a treat for myself and have been waiting to give it a try. Tonight I had it: gingerbread raisin cookie. Holy cow. This was amazing. Before Monday I had never tried out the WF bakery but now I can tell I’m hopelessly addicted. The biscotti I had earlier this week was awesome, but this cookie was unbelievable. It was so dense and chewy and flavorful. And I love how WF uses the best ingredients so there are no chemically/indecipherable ingredients in here! In the past I never really let myself indulge in things like this, but I am so glad I overcame that ridiculous attitude because this was outstanding. If it’s not too cold this weekend I might just have to make another trek out there to try out another flavor!

img_2316

Well, it’s back to the books now. But I do have a QUESTION OF THE DAY for you. 

QOTD:

If you eat dessert do you have it right after dinner or do you wait a while? Also, what is your favorite dessert (on an everyday basis and for an extra-special indulgence?)

17 Responses to “I Can Do It”


  1. 1 Jenny Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Good idea with the positive affirmations! I feel the same way about finals, I’m fakin’ til I make it!

    Yum! I love your cottage cheese and sweet potato meal, it IS delish and filling!!

    Have a great night 🙂

  2. 2 Amy Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Hey! I loveee the Whole Foods bakery goodies, too 🙂 I, also, would never let myself try them in the past, but I’ve gotten over the fear. It helps that they are made with real ingredients, not chemicals! I tried the pumpkin pecan biscotti last week…I see you had the gingerbread–yum 🙂

    QOTD answer: i have ‘dessert’ or my evening snack a while after dinner. usually 2 hours after dinner 🙂 my favorite dessert for a fancy occasion is TIRAMISU! or cheesecake of some sort. but for everyday, chocolate is always good, or light ice cream, even yogurt or fage with pb is acceptable to me!!

  3. 3 Julz Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Dessert is my fave part of the day… I usually have some yogurt and little slices of a variety of bars (I.E. Clif Mojo, Clif Apple Pear Streusel, Atkins, Kashi, etc. It’s SO much fun to eat!

  4. 5 Erin Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    You definitely can do it – you already are!
    I wait awhile. If life weren’t cruel, I’d eat 2 cups of trail mix every night – that’s my fave! So are Laura’s oat choc chip bitelettes. I love cookies, chocolate, and frosting.

  5. 6 gina (fitnessista) Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    i hate the cold too!!!
    that cookie looks divine– hopefully the tucson whole foods will have them
    i’ve seen your sweet potato cottage cheese combo all over the blog world and have yet to try it… i need to get on that!
    my favorite dessert is by far, flourless chocolate cake. i live for it, but usually only have it once a year on my birthday
    hope you have a wonderful night!

  6. 7 Hil Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    My favorite dessert for every day is always a bowl of a sweet variety of fruit cut up into nice pieces: pineapple, mango and strawberries are always favorites. I’m also partial to a single square of super dark chocolate.

    For a treat…I vary depending on my mood and the season, but I’m partial to decadent, rich things that aren’t too sweet, like buttery croissants, chocolate mousse, chocolate lava cake, creme brulee and gelato.

  7. 8 Melissa S. Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    keep up with the positive words babe! we’re always here to reaffirm them to you!

    my fav dessert is always chocolate…anything chocolate…yes yes… 😀

  8. 9 Sharon Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 12:07 am

    It usually depends what I am feeling for. Sometimes I wait a little while and sometimes I just dive into dessert! Hahah!

    And delicious eats for the day! Sweet potatoes rock!

  9. 10 anna Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 12:10 am

    i’m from mexico and the big meal is about 1 or 2 pm and i usually wait 3 or 4 hours and eat dessert as a snack at 5 pm (dinner in mexico is light light fruit, bread, yogurt or cereal and at 8 or 9 pm)or the other thing i do probably not that good it’s to eat dinner for breakfast the next day for example a piece of cake with coffee. i think i’m crazy 🙂

  10. 11 anna Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 12:11 am

    sorry i mean dessert for breakfast the nexy day 🙂

  11. 12 carolinebee Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 12:42 am

    you can totally do it!! I went through that phase on and off throughout school- when I just completely dreaded school and couldn’t wait to get back home…I think it’s more intense when you get a little taste at thanksgiving! It sounds like your sorority does some fun stuff, like that cookie party 🙂 Just power through and home will be that much more relaxing and nice!

  12. 13 Maddy Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Hey! I love dessert and eat it every night. It usually helps me to eat healthy during the day knowing I can eat a yummy dessert that night. One of my very faves is icecream, but I’m also partial to sticking a spoon in the PB jar a few times. =)

    I’m dyinggggg here without sandwich thins lol

  13. 14 VeggieGirl Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Keep up the positivity, girl!!

    My night-snack/dessert is about an hour after dinner.

  14. 15 ksgoodeats Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 9:49 am

    I am another “fake it ’til ya make it” person. It usually works for me so good luck!!

    Dessert: I’m not a big sweets person but if there’s tiramisu or cheesecake you know I’ll be first in line!

  15. 16 Mel Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Love the affirmations, I think that I will be stealing that idea for finals!

    Dessert: If I have it, it’s usually 30-60 minutes after dinner.

  16. 17 eatingbender Thursday, December 4, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    You CAN do it, Sarah! Just keep in mind that the end of the semester always seems overwhelming, and yet you always come out on top – it will happen again 🙂

    As soon as I have both a sweet potato and cottage cheese in my kitchen at the same time, you KNOW I will be trying your combination!

    That cookie looks SO amazing! I love the plate that it’s on, too! I really have yet to try any of the Whole Foods goodies, too…I need to get on that ASAP!

    I usually like to eat dessert fairly soon after dinner. That way I have a longer time between my last “meal” and bedtime. And I think my favorite dessert is rice pudding with a crumbled ZBar…or frozen yogurt!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

