Quick Hello

Happy December 1st! Umm, where did this year go and how is it almost 2009?!?! Wow. I’m about to get started on some hard-core work so I thought I would pop in and say hi quickly.

Dessert

I was up late studying last night and needed another snack. I had a serving of trail mix. Nothing like some TM love to get through the homework. 

img_2286

Breakfast

I was really slow getting my act together this morning and ended up having to grab breakfast on the go in order to make it to an early-morning meeting on time. I had a cinnamon roll larabar and LOVED it. This ranks right up there in my favorites. I think my order goes 1) Peanut Butter Cookie 2) Coconut Creme Pie 3) Cinnamon Roll.

img_2287

Since breakfast was pretty small I decided to switch up my usual black coffee in favor of a small double nonfat latte to power me through class this morning.

img_2288

Lunch

Nothing too exciting here, just my usual turkey, laughing cow sandwich and honeycrisp apple. 

img_22891

Snack

1) After finishing lunch I had virtually ZERO food left in my house, it was pretty pathetic.

2) It was a GORGEOUS day out. Freakishly warm for December and DRY and probably the last mild day we’ll have until May.

1+2=TRIP TO WHOLE FOODS!!!

There is a Whole Foods a little over a mile away and today seemed like the perfect day to make the trek. It’s not in the best area so I wouldn’t want to go once it gets dark but other than that it’s a nice walk there. The way home was a little difficult trying to lug my big bag home, but it was definitely worth it. I picked up some great new things that I’m really, really excited about.

One of those new finds became my snack, which I was so excited to eat that I put away my groceries way too fast to take a picture for you guys. You’ll see everything in due time though.

Gingerbread Biscotti.

img_2290
Oh, wow. WF once again exceeds my expectations. This was so good, I wish I bought more!

Dinner

While I was at Whole Foods I picked up some brown rice salmon and avocado sushi. Delicious as always!

img_2291

Dessert

My sorority had a little holiday party tonight where we decorated gingerbread men! This is one of my absolute favorite holiday activities and I definitely enjoyed myself tonight. I indulged a bit too much but it was worth every single bite because I had so much fun and was really relaxed with my friends. I find that my guilt really comes from my ‘secret eating’, when I stuff myself when I’m alone in my room. When I let myself indulge while having a good time with friends I don’t feel bad about it at all. I don’t know exactly what that means, but I think that even though I overate a little tonight, it’s a good thing because I did it guilt-free. Does that seem counter-intuitive/ridiculous?

Here’s the cookie-decorating spread:

img_2292

Gingerbread man #1

img_2293

#2

img_2301

And my personal favorite #3 plus lots of bites and nibbles throughout the process.

img_2302

I do feel a little icky from all that sugar but it was fun and I’m just going to put it behind me, move on, and start healthy tomorrow with no restricting. 

I love the holiday season! Time to get back to work.

9 Responses to “Quick Hello”


  1. 1 Sharon Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Decorating cookies is so much fun! Those creations of yours are adorable! But I wouldn’t mind having a bite of them! Haha!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 8:25 am

    Ahhh, can’t believe that 2009 is sooo close!!

    LARABAR!!! WHOLE FOODS!!! FESTIVE COOKIES!!! All favorites 🙂

    Happy Tuesday, Sarah!!

  3. 3 gina (fitnessista) Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 10:03 am

    oooh that flavor larabar is my favorite 😀
    i love the decorating gingerbread men idea! looks like a blasty!
    the sushi and biscotti look wonderful!
    good luck with all of your work! we’re almost done…

  4. 4 Melissa S. Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 10:08 am

    love the cookie decorations!!!

    i hear ya on the secret eating but not feeling guilty when you’re with friends…i feel exactly the same way! and lately there has been more secret eating than there needs to be because i’m lonely at my apt as my roommate is never here and she’s basically the only friend i’ve got down here! boo….

    but again, love the cookies! sorry, that was a downer comment…but you rock!!! i’m loving the new mindset! keep it up!

  5. 5 Rose Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 10:29 am

    It’s crazy that it’s December 2 already… where is the time going?

    Love the cookies 🙂

  6. 6 ksgoodeats Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Cute cookie decorations!!

    WF + Cinnamon roll larabar = perfection 🙂

    Have a great Tuesday!

  7. 7 Katie Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    What cute little gingerbread men! My boy and I are going to make them when we’re both home again… which seems like NEVER! Actually, it’s 10 days, but 10 days of finals… I know you’re in the same boat!

    I’ve never tried the Cinnamon Roll Larabar… can’t wait!

  8. 8 Erin Tuesday, December 2, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    That totally makes sense! It feels way better to indulge in a joyful mood than when it’s humiliating and verve wracking! Ya know?
    HOLLER TRAIL MIX! God it’s been too long.

  9. 9 eatingbender Wednesday, December 3, 2008 at 1:00 am

    Yay for making the trek to Whole Foods! That biscotti you found looks so good – I’ll have to look for it next time 🙂

    I totally agree with you on the secret eating. I never feel bad when I eat a little extra in a group, but alone is a different story! It’s just so much better when you’re with others because it’s about the experience rather than just eating to eat.

    Your cookie decorating party looks like so much fun!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

