What a Day!

Well I’m back in Boston—only 4 hours later than expected. I guess for the busiest travel day of the year that isn’t too bad. Thanks to some outstanding books “New Moon” (the 2nd in the Twilight series- which I finished at the airport) and “Those Who Save Us”( which I started and can’t put down, it’s so good!) the long delay wasn’t totally miserable. As expected, I’m not in the best mood right now because I really didn’t want to come back to school, so I’ll keep this brief and spare you all my blah-ness.

Breakfast

I woke up this morning to a gray, rainy day. I hate rain at school when I have to trek around in it, but at home I didn’t mind, it made for a very cozy morning with the breakfast I have desperately been craving all semester: stovetop banana oatmeal. Oh, wow. I don’t think I realized how much I missed this until I had it this morning. Good thing I go home again in 12 days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and can eat this nonstop.

img_2278

After breakfast I packed up, got in a quick cardio workout, showered, and made a quick lunch before rushing off to the airport. 

Lunch

I had a sandwich: Ezekial cinnamon raisin with turkey and a clementine. I was skeptical at first about how the turkey/zeke combo was going to taste but it actually worked really well. The sweet/savory flavors were great. My thought process was: turkeys+cranberries=good. Cranberries=raisins basically. Thus raisins+turkey=good. Really, my thought process should have been ezekial+anything= awesome because that works too.

img_2279

Snack

I bought a little snack to have when I still thought my flight was on time that would hold me over until I got home for dinner. Honey Peanut Balance Bar. This was my first try with this flavor and I LOVED IT. The taste was great, the texture was great, there is tons of protein and it really did a good job of keeping me full. I’ll definitely get these again.

img_2281

Dinner

I found out that my flight was delayed so that it wouldn’t take off until 6:30 at the earliest. I thought about just buying a few more snacks to make it through because I was sort of scared of the fast food options at the airport. But I know better than that now. If I don’t have a real meal and just snack on little things I don’t feel satisfied at all and it just sets me up for a binge. Instead, I walked around the airport deciding what to have and settled on Subway.

6” Veggie Sub on Honey Wheat. This was really good! I haven’t had Subway in so long so it was sort of fun to try it out again. It felt good to get so many veggies in too, mmm.

img_2282

I also had some dried pears that I found at a kiosk. These were sort of weird–they were really chewy but not much flavor–they were only 50 calories for the whole bag though, so I don’t really know what I was expecting.

img_2280

The flight was HORRIBLE! I used to fly all the time, like seriously at least twice a month because I was always off visiting my ex-boyfriend who went to school in North Carolina, or going home, or flying while studying abroad. I never had any problems with being scared of flying but for some reason last time and tonight I have been a nervous wreck. I’ve been so anxious and scared and it didn’t help that this was seriously the bumpiest ride of my life. We were on a teeny-tiny plane and the weather was terrible so there was more turbulence than ever. It was so scary! When I got off the plane I looked in the mirror and I was white as a ghost!

Dessert

When I finally made it back to my room I was getting really hungry again so I had some dessert of graham crackers and chocolate. It was almost like s’mores! 

img_2284

Ok, now I need to seriously get my act together with schoolwork. I did basically nothing over break and have so much to get done before finals. I’m just warning you that my life is not going to be all too exciting over the next couple weeks. Hopefully I can create some good meals to get me through. 

Don’t worry though—come December 13 this blog is going to be better than ever. I’ll be home for a whole month cooking up amazing, delicious, beautiful recipes and I CAN’T WAIT!

11 Responses to “What a Day!”


  1. 1 ksgoodeats Sunday, November 30, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    Keep your head up girly! These 12 days will FLY BY!

    Sorry to hear you had such a horrible flight but I’m glad to have you on the blog all in one piece 🙂

    Enjoy your evening!

  2. 2 Kristie Sunday, November 30, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Stovetop oatmeal is the best.
    So is Subway. Subs never fill me up though sadly. I always seem to be almost just as hungry after eating one as I was to begin with. Boo to that!

    I’ll be right there suffering along with you doing nothing but studying for the next couple weeks. We’ll make it through! Haha. Just keep thinking about how awesome it’ll be once it’s all over and the time will FLY by.

  3. 3 jenngirl Sunday, November 30, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Okay first, I finished Twilight today, and am about to read New Moon when I get in bed in a little while…second time around I’m loving them even more!!

    So sorry your flight was nerve-wracking..flying does that to me sometimes too. That’s so great that you knew what your body needed at the airport and fueled it appropriately…it’s so hard to listen to our BODIES sometimes when our HEADS say different, way to go!

    And yes, Christmas break is fast approaching, I can’t wait to actually have time to make amazing meals for the blog as well as read everyone else’s!! have an amazing evening 🙂

  4. 4 Sharon Sunday, November 30, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    You head back home around the same time I do! How exciting! My last exam is on December 12th in the evening, so I plan on heading back on the 13th if the weather is great.

    I’m exciting about heading back home too! And ooh, I love that chocolate package. The design intrigues me. LOL

  5. 5 Betsy Sunday, November 30, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    my flight was horrible too!!!!! delayed and soooo f-ing bumpy. I also fly all the time (especially when I studied abroad too) and tonight my anxiety was right up there. i think i was actually shaking at one point. at least i had eclipse to get me through it!! finished new moon last week. those stupid twilight books are so addictive!

  6. 6 Melissa S. Monday, December 1, 2008 at 1:18 am

    yay! 12 more days and you’re home again!!! LOVELY LOVELY!!! I used to do the same thing when I went home for break, cook, bake and cook some more! BREAKS ROCK!!!

    sorry about the flight…that totally sucks.

  7. 7 eatingbender Monday, December 1, 2008 at 2:47 am

    I’m glad to hear that you got home safely and with a reasonable amount of delay. I’m very nervous for my flight tomorrow because it is snow storming where I’m headed!

    Loooove banana oats. And Ezekiel English muffins. And Subway (especially the veggie!). And graham crackers. And chocolate. I guess you just had the perfect day of food, didn’t ya? 😉 Yay for the New Moon shout out, too! I’m glad you liked it! What’s the new one you’re reading about???

    Can’t wait for Christmas break, either!!

    P.S. I will email you soon – promise! I’m sorry I’ve let it go this long.

  8. 8 VeggieGirl Monday, December 1, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Eeeek, thank GOODNESS you’re back safe in Boston, after that flight – hang in there, Sarah!!

  9. 9 gina (fitnessista) Monday, December 1, 2008 at 10:49 am

    i was scared on my flights yesterday, too! the weather was absolutely horrible and i was praying for my life most of the time :/
    i didn’t touch my homework over break either and now am a little worried about how i’m going to finish everything. the good news is we’re almost done!!! hooray for going home when school’s over- we can live it up 😀 and i can finally read the twilight books! whoo hoo!
    have a wonderful day! glad you made it home safe and sound

  10. 10 seeleelive Monday, December 1, 2008 at 11:36 am

    hahaha i love your exclamation of the thought process for your eats!! sooo brilliant!
    i know waht you mean about stove top oats!! OH MAN!!

    that dessert looks divine- your so lucky your home in twelve days!

  11. 11 Erin Monday, December 1, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Oh no! I’m so sorry about the flight BS! That’s terrible.
    The countdown is on!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

