A New Person

I really feel like a whole new person today. I was just so much calmer, relaxed, and just happier. I just felt good for the first time in months. This is really good, but really bad at the same time. It’s great because it means that I am capable of being the happy, funny, relaxed person when I’m in the right place—but it also makes me sad to know that I’m only home for a few more days and then I’m going back to the place that makes me turn into lame-o Debbie Downer who is anxious and stressed and just plain sad. Boo. I guess I should work really hard over the next few days to figure out exactly what it is that allows me to be in such a great mood here and then try to recreate that back at school. 

Today was such a great and busy day. I was running around doing errands, shopping, chatting with friends, and cooking all day. I was so busy and (sorry to keep repeating it!) happy all day that what I was eating/how hungry I was/when and what I was going to eat next just wasn’t on my mind. I know that a lot of my eating issues stem from my unhappiness and boredom at school and that just wasn’t an issue here. I ate when the opportunity presented itself rather than obsessively scheduling my time surrounding my meals and snacks. It felt really liberating and made not counting calories a non-issue. I was too busy and relaxed to bother with numbers.

Lunch

At some point in the afternoon of running errands I drove past a Panera and knew that was exactly what I wanted for lunch. I popped in and had the vegetable soup and 1/2 Mediterranean veggie/hummus sandwich. It was delicious and perfect for the chilly day.

img_2218

Dinner

I was busy all afternoon getting my hair cut, going into the madness of the grocery store, and getting things ready for tomorrow. I didn’t even need an afternoon snack! We’re hosting Thanksgiving tomorrow so our fridge is jam packed with things for that and there was no way we were going back to the crazy store to pick up ingredients for dinner tonight so instead we got Sushi! We went to “our” sushi place–I miss it so much when I’m at school! My mom and I split: Yellowtail Roll, Eel Roll, Albacore/Salmon Roll, and Shrimp/Crabmeat Roll. I LOVE SUSHI!

img_2220

Dessert

I can’t show you pictures of dessert yet because it was all nibbles, licks, and bites while baking desserts for tomorrow. I CANNOT wait to officially dig in to these desserts because the tastes that I had were PHENOMENAL. My sister and I made what I think is going to be the best (and biggest) cake ever created. It’s unbelievable.

How’s that for a cliffhanger?

See you all tomorrow—HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

8 Responses to “A New Person”


  1. 1 Sharon Thursday, November 27, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Can’t wait to hear more!

    Looks like delicious eats for the day, and hooray for feeling wonderful!

  2. 2 Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) Thursday, November 27, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Wow, that cake sounds awesome! Can’t wait to see it!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Thursday, November 27, 2008 at 9:16 am

    Hell yes, girl – I’m so happy you’re feeling good!! 🙂

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!! I too made loads of desserts for the occasion 😉

  4. 4 seeleelive Thursday, November 27, 2008 at 9:21 am

    I just looooooove sushi. what a great pre-thanksgiving dinner! have a good one!

  5. 5 Hangry Pants Thursday, November 27, 2008 at 9:42 am

    I am glad you’re feeling good at home, but sad you’re unhappy at school. It’s hard not to schedule and plan, but seeing as though you know it makes you unhappy, maybe it would be worth a shot?

    Well, have a great Thanksgiving!!!

  6. 6 ksgoodeats Thursday, November 27, 2008 at 10:48 am

    Haha love the cliffhanger! Can’t wait to see how all the baking turned out.

    Panera = the love of my life! That’s usually what I get when they don’t have the black bean soup. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying every single second at home – you’ll be back before you know it for Christmas!!

  7. 7 Jenny Thursday, November 27, 2008 at 11:25 am

    Sarah that makes me happy that YOU are happy!! Sometimes we all need to get cozy and comfy at our house and recharge our batteries…I understand it for sure 😉

    Have a wonderful thanksgiving and I can’t wait to hear about your desserts!!

  8. 8 Erin Thursday, November 27, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Ooh I can’t wait for the unveiling!
    I’m so, so happy that you feel alive and refreshed. You so deserve and need this, right? Relish it. We’ll all be here for you when you return to school.
    I’m always amazed at how little I think about food when I’m with family, running errands, busy, and just no alone.
    I hope you have the BEST day today. I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

