TGIF

Wow, what a week, huh? I am so beyond glad that it’s the weekend, and that I go home for break on Tuesday! I definitely need it. It has been quite a day today, I could definitely use a massage (hehe), and maybe a glass of wine–but that’s to come later tonight!

Breakfast

I slept horribly last night. I don’t know why but I just could not fall asleep and then once I did I couldn’t stay asleep! I woke up around 2:30 and tossed and turned for hours. I don’t know what time I finally fell back to sleep because I refused to let myself look at a clock (that just stresses me out and makes it harder to fall asleep) but I know it was quite a long time because my sound machine runs on 1 hour intervals and I had to reset it twice! Yikes.

I woke up around 7 this morning freezing because the heat somehow stopped working, which is great when it’s 20* outside! The thermostat was registering 58*, I wanted to cry. Luckily someone came over to fix it soon but it took way too long to get up to a bearable temperature. There was no way I could stay in the house so I bundled up and hit the gym bright and early. 

I wasn’t thinking when I left and didn’t grab a pre-workout snack so I got really hungry after my cardio so I decided to just skip weights and come home for breakfast. 

I tried to have my usual cereal mix but ran out of milk mid-pour so it ended up not being as delicious as usual.

img_2159

Lunch

I had meetings and things to do all morning and was definitely hungry for lunch. I had a delicious sandwich thin, topped with cottage cheese and cinnamon (I’ve seen this on the blogosphere but forget who I stole the idea from—so if it was you, thanks!) and the biggest apple of my life. 

img_2161

Snack

I had my appointment with the nutritionist this afternoon and the office was right across the street from Starbucks so I obviously popped in for a red cup double tall nonfat extra hot latte. Yum!

img_2162

The appointment went really well, she was very helpful and I got a lot out of it. She really, really wants me to get away from calorie counting, which is scary for me. I’ve done it for so long and it makes me feel secure so this will definitely be hard for me. Also we went over my history and current eating habits and determined that I just am not eating enough to fuel my body and my activity level. She helped me come up with some solutions and I’m definitely going to try to do what she told me. I’m meeting with her again in a few weeks to see how things have been going and to settle on a more definite plan. For now we decided that my main goals are to 1) stop calorie counting obsessively and 2) stop eating by the clock. I tend to let the time determine when I eat rather than my hunger. If I’m starving 2 hours after I ate something I feel like I shouldn’t be hungry and don’t deserve to eat then, so I just put it off, getting hungrier and weaker by the minute and then eat way too quickly and too much at my next meal. I’m going to try to eat when I’m hungry, even if it means incorporating more snacks throughout my day. I guess this is a good thing because it just means more opportunities to eat delicious food!

In keeping with her suggestions, I was starting to feel a little hungry when I got home around 5 but wasn’t ready for dinner yet so I had a graham cracker. I love these! I don’t know what it is about graham crackers but they are just so comforting to me; definitely one of my favorite treats!

img_2163

Dinner

When it was time for dinner I threw my old plan (that I had decided on yesterday) out the window and decided to go for what I was craving: an Amy’s Black Bean Burrito and salad. Like all Amy’s products this was amazing, but I think that I liked the southwestern one a little better. Good to know for next time I go shopping!

img_2164

Now I’m off to get ready for my sororities semi-formal. I’m a little bit nervous because for this event all the single sisters are set up with a blind date! Hopefully I get a cute one ; )

Anyone else have fun plans? This is it for me because the rest of the weekend is going to be spent in the library. It’s that time of the semester I guess!

I’ll be back (most likely tomorrow) with fun pictures!

10 Responses to “TGIF”


  1. 1 Jessica Friday, November 21, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Haha, oh my can I just say that I also have a sorority dance tonight, it’s a themed one, not semi-formal but ALSO I was planning on eating THE SAME amy’s burrito for dinner tonight!!! I feel like when you talk you are ME!….haha,because lately I have also been very timed about when I eat, even if I am hungry earlier, etc….and I have noticed myself seeming weaker at certain times of the day, even though I definitely eat 3 meals a day plus snacks, but I do know my calories when eating them… Would love to talk to ya, seems like we are just too similar! haha!

  2. 2 Sharon Friday, November 21, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Wow, have a great time! It sounds exciting.

    And great eats. I definitely need to try putting sliced bananas in my cereal mix! Cheers girlie~

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Friday, November 21, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Sooooo glad that you’re appointment went well!!!

    Graham crackers bring back nostalgia/”comfort food alert” for me too 🙂

    Have fun at semi-formal!! Hope the guy is a GOOD-LOOKING one!!

  4. 4 Lindsay Friday, November 21, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    yum – that definitely does look like one big and yummy apple!

  5. 5 carolinebee Friday, November 21, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    OMG semi-formal!! I miss all those fun events, have the best time!

  6. 6 seeleelive Saturday, November 22, 2008 at 12:37 am

    how do you make your wraps like that?

  7. 7 Melissa S. Saturday, November 22, 2008 at 12:41 am

    ohhhhh….blind semi-formal date!!!!! how exciting!!! that sounds absolutely wonderful! i hope you get a cute one too!

    I hate it when that happens at night and you can’t sleep…and you know you’re awake…my radio timer is also an hour…i remember one time going through it 4 times.

    and i’m glad th appointment w/ the nutritionist went so well! that’s great to hear! Did she give you any suggestions about how to get away from the calorie counting? my bad habits are creeping back in that department so any suggestions would help…

    have a great night babe!

  8. 8 Caroline Saturday, November 22, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Ooh! Hope you had fun at your semi-formal…and that you got a cute date! Our semi is tomorrow, so I’ll be in a similar situation tomorrow evening!

  9. 9 Hangry Pants Saturday, November 22, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    It was interesting to read about your appointment with the nutritionist. I often eat by the clock, too. How did you get an appointment? Was it through your doctor or health insurance or did you do it on your own?

  10. 10 ksgoodeats Sunday, November 23, 2008 at 11:36 am

    I’m glad you like the sandwich thin, cottage cheese, and cinnamon!! Glad to hear the appointment went well 🙂 I end up eating by the clock sometimes too.

    That burrito is calling my name!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

