Changes

Good morning! I have lots to talk to you about today—there may be some big changes coming up on the blog, but don’t worry, they’re all positive! 

First of all, I’m going to try posting more throughout the day whenever I have some free time. It’s been really overwhelming lately when I go to post at the end of the day, exhausted, and just don’t have it in me to recap the whole day (like last night–I still had work to do and just wanted to go to sleep!) So hopefully by posting more often during the day I won’t view it as a chore, but rather the fun hobby that it is.

Second, and this is the more important news, there are going to be some changes in my eating habits, probably starting this weekend. Here’s the deal. Over the past 1.5 yrs I have lost a significant amount of weight (30-40 lbs!) through healthy eating and exercise. During this process I developed a love for nutrition and food in general and became the most physically fit and healthiest I’ve been in my life. I met my goal weight in May but over the summer inadvertently kept losing and I have maintained the same weight from about August-now. This semester, especially over the past month or so though, I’ve just felt sort of “off”—I’ve been getting weak and irritable if I go more than a few hours without food, and I just don’t have the strength and energy I used to. I’ve also been eating healthy during the day but bingeing sometimes at night. I went in to get a physical this week and the doctor noticed that my heart beat was slower than normal. I got bloodwork done and everything else is fine, but she wants me to gain ~5 lbs. 

Now, this really scares me. I like the way I look now, and I am finally at a place where I am comfortable with my body and don’t want to change it. But I realize that the weight that I am is just too low for my body and I need to work to make myself the healthiest I can be. I am always pushing for living a healthy, balanced lifestyle, and I know that I am being sort of a hypocrite by not letting my body be at the weight it needs. I scheduled an appointment with an off-campus RD on Friday which I am really excited for, but also nervous about. I am going to really try to stick with the plan she sets out for me, and trust that the nutritionist and doctor have my best interests in mind and that this is what my body needs. It’s really hard though and I am seriously conflicted, confused, and anxious right now. I’m definitely going to need all of your support! I know that a lot of you have dealt with similar things, and I would love to hear your stories, advice, etc. Please feel free to email me at ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com because I think it would really help me!

I’ll definitely keep you all posted on what’s going on, but I just wanted to give you a heads up that some changes might be coming.

Now on to today. This is going to be such a crazy  busy day! When I leave for my 10:30 class I won’t be coming back to my room until 10:30 pm! I have all sorts of meetings, work, and events going on.

Preworkout

I had my usual clif mini before I hit the gym early this morning for some cardio and upper-body strength training.

img_2144

Breakfast

Quick bowl of cereal. Same as usual: kashi go lean, fiber one, skim, flax, giant banana

img_2147

Lunch

I packed up a sandwich: turkey, laughing cow, hummus with a pear and carrots.

img_2145

Snack

Kashi bar. I’m also sure I’ll be picking up a large latte after my class this afternoon for a necessary caffeine fix!

img_2146

Dinner

I’m going to an event tonight and won’t be able to take a picture of my dinner. It’s going to be catered by Boloco, which I’ve been to before and loved! I hope they have the Bangkok Burrito because it’s my favorite!

Have a great day everyone!

13 Responses to “Changes”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Sarah, I will support you 100% with your weight goals, eating goals, etcetera – stay strong, girl!! You can do this!!

    I used to LOVE Boloco when I resided in Boston!! 🙂 They have it here where I live now, but it’s called Currito (weird, haha).

  2. 3 Beadie Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    Good luck with the RD! I’m sure you will find a good solution to eating in a healthy way. We are here for you!

  3. 4 jenngirl Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    You CAN do this Sarah, believe me, I KNOW how scary it is to think you need to gain a few pounds, even when you are comfortable where you are. It is SO frustrating. But don’t let those negative thoughts even start, you are doing so well, focus on your overall HEALTH and well-being. That’s what’s important. I think you’ll also come to find that the upcoming “changes” and “adjustments” will not be as drastic as you think. I’m here for you, girl!! Happy Hump Day! 🙂

  4. 5 Sharon Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Good luck with the RD. I hope everything turns out alright.

  5. 6 Erin Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    I understand those feelings. I don’t have this in my about me for a reason, but I feel okay telling you I’ve been anorexic and bulimic for 14 years (lord!) and I can relate to those thoughts. Please let me know if you need to talk to someone. I know the binging and restricting cycle is maddening and very shameful, but it can be overcome – or at least temporarily quieted. 🙂

  6. 7 seeleelive (for the love of peanut butter) Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Hi…i Know we do not “know” eachother that well..but I read your full post and decided to chime a little something in! I am working on maintaining my “goal” weight and fall a little bit under every now and than, and I am working to get back in the middle of my range. Thank you for sharing this with us. It is so scary believe me I know. But I have alot of ideas and tips–you can make this something fun! This is for your overall HEALTH-look at your life as an ongoing process–not something that will end once you need to stop gaining.

    Did this help?

  7. 8 ksgoodeats Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    What a fun dinner planned!

    I admire your honesty on the blog. It may be hard to think about now but just think of how much more energy you’ll have when it’s all said and done. It will be a process but it will definitly be worth it. Let us know how it goes with the nutritionist! Don’t worry – we’ll all be here to support you every step of the way 😀 Happy Wednesday, Sarah!

  8. 9 Katie Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Congratulations on approaching this with a healthy mindset, and having the confidence and honesty to share it with us all. Good luck, and we’ll be here for you!

  9. 10 Kristie Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Best of luck with the RD, but I’m sure it will go completely fine. I’m sure it’s a scary experience for you but at the same time it’s the healthiest and best thing you could do for your body right? And you seem to be well aware of that. Plus, you have a great backing of supporters who are going to be here for you the whole way 🙂

  10. 11 Amy Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Sarah—Thanks SO much for commenting on my latest post. In turn, I see that you are facing a similar challenge and it really helps me to have others in the blogworld for support. We are in this together, so I’m always here to talk. Thanks again for your kind words.

  11. 12 Melissa S. Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    I love the mindset you’re applying and support you 100%. You know I’m always here for you via blog, email or facebook so do not feel afraid to reach out if you need to.

    G’luck w/ the RD and I’m sure it’ll go great. Stay strong and positive babe, i know you can do it!

  12. 13 eatingbender Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Sarah, I am so inspired by you because you are aware of what you are feeling and are always taking the necessary steps to make things right. I am looking forward to these changes and following along with you in your new plan.

    It means SO much to me that we can talk both inside and outside the blogosphere about anything and everything. Your friendship is very important to me – I just want you to know that 🙂

    I hope you had fun at your event and ate some tasty Boloco!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

