A Fun Monday!?

For being a Monday today actually went by really quickly, I got a lot accomplished, and I even managed to have some fun. Now that’s pretty impressive.

Breakfast

I started my day bright and early with my usual cereal mix. Excellent as always. Later in the morning I had class and then hit the gym for another awesome workout. My legs are still sore from Saturday but it actually felt good to get a good cardio workout in, I think it loosened them up a bit. I also did some upper body strength training and lots of stretching. I’m really getting into the weight lifting, I think it’s fun and it really makes me feel so good. I definitely think that it speeds up my metabolism big time because yesterday I took the day off of ‘official’ exercise and just took an hour long leisurely walk and noticed that I definitely wasn’t as hungry all day. Then today when I got back into my intense workouts I’ve been ravenous once again! I guess that’s just my body’s way of telling me I need more fuel and instead of trying to fight it I just need to eat more to make it happy!

img_2130

Lunch

I have been seriously lacking in the veggie department lately and all I was craving today was a big crunchy salad. I loaded this up with veggies, chickpeas, hummus, tuna, kidney beans, croutons, and sesame sticks and had a deliciously sweet apple. All the fiber definitely filled me up for the time being but like I said before, I was starving a few hours later!

img_2131

Snacks

I hit the library later in the afternoon to work on my paper (it’s all written, now I just have to edit! yay!) And snacked on some almonds/dried edamame. This just didn’t cut it though. Luckily I always carry around an emergency bar for times like this and had a clif mini. I’m really glad I had this around because it was a much better option than hitting up the cafe for a muffin or cookie which would have given me temporary energy but then cause me to crash hard an hour later.

img_2132

img_2134

Dinner

Tomorrow is my friends’ birthday so we decided to bake tonight for a little dessert party we’re having tomorrow. We made triple chocolate brownies and gooey chocolate cookies. It was really fun baking and relaxing with my friends and the treats smell so good, I seriously can’t wait to try them tomorrow!

After we finished baking and cleaning we ate dinner together. I had an Amy’s Enchilada but didn’t take a picture of the actual meal because 1) my camera was up in my room 2) they don’t know about the blog and it would have been sort of awkward. It was delicious, as usual!

img_2133

Dessert

I needed something extra-decadent for dessert tonight because I have to get blood-work done tomorrow morning and had to be done eating for the night at 9 so whatever I chose had to satisfy me physically and mentally so I wouldn’t need to snack later. I had a weight watcher’s chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream and some trail mix. This was my first time trying this ice cream and let me just say, it’s amazing! Ice cream is definitely a weakness of mine and is probably one of my very favorite things to eat, so the portion control here is perfect. The taste was really good too and I loved the little chocolate chips and cookie dough pieces in it. I’m definitely buying these again!

img_2135

Things I’m Loving Today

I’m stealing this idea from Jenny because I like it so much! A lot of times, especially when I’m under a lot of stress and have so much work, I tend to be really pessimistic and forget about all the little things in my life that I’m happy for. Especially with Thanksgiving coming up, I think it’s great to think about things that I’m thankful for and make me happy. So today its:

1) The sun was out for the first time in days

2) My friends. I have a few really close friends here that I am so thankful for. They’ve really been there for me this semester and I don’t know what I would do without them.

3) My blog readers. You guys seriously make my day every day. I love reading each comment and you’ve definitely helped me and supported me through some tough times, so thank you!

4) My warm bed. Which I’m about to get into and read a book and relax  study as soon as this post is done. 

Goodnight everyone!

12 Responses to “A Fun Monday!?”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, November 17, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Same Monday here! 🙂

    Kudos for listening to your body, and feeding it more fuel when needed – excellent!!

    Such a cute little container of ice cream!!

    I loved Jenny’s list of “Things I’m Loving”; and yours rocks too!! Hooray!!

    Good night!!

  2. 2 jenngirl Monday, November 17, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Yay I’m sooo glad you “stole” my idea, I hope others do the same! 🙂

    I agree about the strength workouts, I definitely am hungrier on days I lift weights, I can just feel my muscles growing, haha! And yay for Amy’s meals!

    That weight watchers ice cream sounds like a good idea, I may look into that….

    Have a wonderful night Sarah!!

  3. 3 Melissa S. Monday, November 17, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    great list of things you’re loving today! i def agree with all of them!

    yummy dessert!

  4. 4 Sharon Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 12:55 am

    Weight watchers has ice cream? Whoa, since when? I have never seen them! Yum, yum! -lol-

    Good luck with the blood work. I hate needles and all that jazz.

  5. 5 eatingbender Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 2:12 am

    Your first sentence made me smile 🙂 I’m glad today was a good one for you!!

    I’m also glad to hear that you’re enjoying strength training. It really is fun stuff once you get into it!

    I need to pick up some of that dried edamame! It looks so good every time you eat it!

    Aw, baking sounds like so much fun! I bet your friend is going to love everything – you are so thoughtful!

    That WW ice cream sounds perfect! I’ll be on the lookout for it. And I love your “Things I’m Loving” stolen idea 😉 I may have to take that one myself – it’s always good to end a post on a happy note!!

    And on that note…HAPPY TUESDAY!!

  6. 6 ksgoodeats Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 9:31 am

    I’m glad to hear you had a fab Monday! Amy’s products = soooo good!

    I love the last parts of your posts, so positive 🙂

    Have a great Tuesday!

  7. 7 Julz Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 10:05 am

    WW ice cream… Love that concept! Loveyou, Love Jenny, loveeed this post!

  8. 8 Erin Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    That’s a great idea to steal! I like it!

  9. 9 seeleelive Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Hi! I read through most of your blog and it seems really cool. Do you still count calories? I have some tips for breaking free of that habit, if you are interested.
    I always keep a bar on me, too… What a great idea!

    I can related when you say “fighting your body”. Up until about a month ago (when I got into blogging) i would fill myself up with lowest amount of calories possible..but i’d be fooling myself because i’d always make them up somehow even if that meant 4 snacks after dinner!

    Peanut butah girl

  10. 10 Katie Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    That’s such a nice idea… I definitely get too wrapped up in stress and “drama” so often and don’t always appreciate the daily things that make me happy.

    Can’t wait to see what you guys baked up!

  11. 11 Kristie Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    I like your happy things list. Especially for a Monday, one of the days when it’s probably MOST needed haha.

    I also love ice cream. I should consider pre-portioned like that though because if there is a delicious ice cream flavour sitting in my freezer, I CANNOT keep the spoon out of the container.

  12. 12 eatingbender Tuesday, November 18, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    P.S. You’ve been awarded!! See my blog for details – yay! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

