Friday!

Happy Friday! I hope everyones weekend is off to a great start! Unfortunately I’m not feeling that great–I’ve had sort of a dull headache that’s been bothering me all day and even though I’ve been popping advil like it’s candy it hasn’t really helped. It’s gotten worse as the day has gone on and I think it might have something to do with staring at my computer screen all day writing my papers! But I love you all too much to deprive you of a post so I’m pushing through : )

Breakfast

Cereal mix as usual. I love Fridays because I can get up as late as I want (I slept in until 7:50 this morning, I’m really living the lazy life, huh?) and then leisurely ate my breakfast and slowly eased my way into the day instead of getting up and going to it immediately. Once my breakfast settled I hit the gym for a great workout. I’ve really been into strength training lately so after my cardio I got in a fabulous upper-body workout. I love how strong I feel (with my 10 lb weights, haha) but still, it makes me feel great! I have noticed that I’ve been extra hungry lately–I wonder if there’s a connection? Maybe it’s my extra muscles that are demanding I eat more trail mix!

img_2108

Lunch

Sorry to be boring, but leftovers! And there’s still more after this, so be prepared!

img_2109

Snack

After lunch I hit the library hard core. It was like eerily empty there today. I guess most people have more exciting ways to spend their Friday afternoons/evenings. By the time I left my friend and I were practically the only ones there, it was sort of creepy. Mid-way through paper writing I had a chocolate chip pure protein bar. I really liked this flavor!

img_2107

Dinner

I made something quick for dinner because my friend and I had some serious Gossip Girl catching up to do. We watched 3 episodes! I have to say that I’m getting a little disappointed in it though–I hate when shows like this start getting so ridiculous and I have a bad feeling it’s going to go downhill soon just like the OC did. Sigh. Anyway, back to the food: I had my usual sweet potato with cottage cheese, giant apple, and pretzel crisps. This was really good as always but so much food. I was stuffed by the end and almost couldn’t finish. Of course I managed to push through though!

img_2111

Desserts

After our tv marathon my sweet tooth kicked in so I had a chocolate rice cake with cinnamon raisin pb. Boy was this good! I can’t believe it took me so long to discover this combination, it’s definitely going to become a staple dessert.

img_2112

Then a little later I started getting hungry again, which is weird because my dinner had seriously stuffed me up. I had a little trail mix and bunnies. Then I started blogging and got hungry again and had some carrots with hummus and some frozen berries, but my camera was occupied, so no pics. I’m confused where this out of control hunger came from because I had eaten really balanced, filling meals all day but my stomach just felt really empty tonight. This has been happening to me a lot recently, I’ll be ready to go to bed but my stomach will just feel so empty that I have to eat something else because I know that I won’t be able to sleep otherwise. I’m not sure what to change because I’m always satisfied with my meals and snacks throughout the day so I don’t really want to bulk those up any more and I eat filling healthy dinners as it is. I guess that I’ll just have to eat more after dinner in the form of more voluminous and calorie-dense desserts. I don’t really like eating so much late at night but I guess since I’m up late my body just needs more fuel. I guess I’ll play around with it and see what works for me. What are your thoughts on eating after dinner? 

img_2113

I hope you all have some fun plans for this weekend! I’m probably going to be doing work for most of mine, and then Sunday will be totally taken over by my sorority. It’s election time which means long hours and lots of drama

See you tomorrow!

11 Responses to “Friday!”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, November 14, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Since I need to make sure that I consume enough calories, I’m all FOR eating after dinner if I’m hungry.

    Hope you feel better soon!!

  2. 2 Erin Friday, November 14, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Hi!
    I lift weights and I’m hungry all the time, so I think there is some truth to that. Having muscle on your body definitely jacks up your metabolism, as does lifting heavy – for up to 48 hours.
    I wish there wasn’t so much negativity about eating after dinner because then we wouldn’t deal with unnecessary guilt, right? It’s totally good to eat when you’re hungry and if you’re more hungry at night, that’s fine. I really think it can be that simple. When I used to stay up until midnight or later, I’d eat at two separate times after dinner. I do not love all the rules – no carbs in the afternoon, no food after 10:00, etc. In the end they all contradict each other anyway!

  3. 3 Sharon Friday, November 14, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    It depends on what I’m feeling for. But I tend to snack after supper…
    Love the eats for the day – especially the cereal combo!

  4. 4 jess Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 2:07 am

    Lifting weights absolutely makes you more hungry! You’re not only building muscle, but that muscle being formed burns more than it did before- I’m All for eating after dinner. It doesn’t matter When you eat, just how much overall; Do Not feel guilty!!

  5. 5 gina (fitnessista) Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 10:47 am

    lifting weights definitely makes you hungrier… i feel like there’s not enough food in the world for me sometimes!
    that’s one of my favorite pure protein flavors 😀
    hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  6. 6 Melissa S. Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    like the others, i notice that lifting makes me way more hungry. just means you get to eat lots more good eats!!! yay!!!

    have a great weekend!

  7. 7 strongandhealthy Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Some days I am much snackier after dinner than others. At least your after dinner munchies were healthy!

    What a great sweet potato and cottage cheese combo!

  8. 8 ksgoodeats Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    I’m going to sound like an echo but I’m pretty sure it’s normal to have an increased hunger with strength training. Also, I almost ALWAYS have an after dinner snack – I’m not a desert person but things like crackers with PB or cottage cheese are my bedtime snacks 🙂

    I was planning on having something else for dinner but after seeing your sweet potato and cottage cheese I might have just changed my mind!

  9. 9 eatingbender Saturday, November 15, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    I hope your headache went away!!

    You definitely ate very balanced and delicious meals — I’m going to have to agree with everyone else and say that on days where I do more than just cardio, I am infinitely more hungry and tend to snack bigger and more often. Also, I usually always have to have something after dinner (particularly if I eat earlier), so sometimes I’ll literally split dinner in half so that I get two filling mini meals.

    As always, I love the sweet potato/cottage cheese combo and those pretzels!!

  10. 10 jenngirl Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Hope you had an awesome weekend! I’ve never tried that flavor of Pure Protein, but I was definitely curious…Thanks for the review!!


  1. 1 Sunday is no Funday! « K’s Good Eats Trackback on Sunday, November 16, 2008 at 8:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

