Still Going

Today has been a really long day. When I was uploading my pictures I got really confused because I couldn’t find (or remember!!) what I had for breakfast. Then I realized that I had already posted earlier today. That seems like an eternity ago! I’m still going though and have a little more to do before I can get to bed so this is going to be brief.

Lunch

I was busy running around all day so I had to pack my lunch and quickly eat it before my afternoon class. I had a delicious pb sandwich on an ezekial. With a honeycrisp apple which are quite easily my favorite food ever. This was absolutely perfect.

img_2093

Snack

After class and yoga I had a clif mini but that definitely didn’t fill me up so I had a yogurt too which tided me over perfectly.

img_2095

img_2097

Dinner

Dinner was a success in many ways. First off–I finally found a “fake” chicken that I actually like! Quorn ‘naked’ cutlets! Not only could these pass for chicken, but they are really moist and taste so good. I’m really glad that I found these because the last soy chicken I tried was a disaster. These are a winner though! With it I had some orzo pasta and broccoli. Another reason I’m deeming this meal a success is because I really felt like it was a “real” dinner similar to one I would eat at home. I’ve really been struggling to have meals that satisfy me mentally and physically, but this one definitely worked. Yay!

img_2096

Dessert

And obviously there was dessert: trail mix and a lemon shortbread cookie. I really think that allowing myself a little bit of trail mix (or dessert in general) every night helps immensely in cutting back my cravings and my binges. It’s so true that deprivation=destruction. I’ve been really happy with my eating habits this past week and once again I’m realizing the importance of moderation! When I restrict or form strict rules for myself it just leads to trouble. It’s really all about a healthy balance.

img_2094

My eyes are closing on me—I’m such a grandma! Honestly what kind of college student is ready to pass out at 11pm? Haha. I need to make it a few more hours at least and finish up some work then it’s off to dreamland. Goodnight!

5 Responses to “Still Going”


  1. 1 Jenny Thursday, November 13, 2008 at 12:15 am

    Honeycrisp apples ARE pure bliss 🙂

    I’m jealous of your dinner. Dinners have definitely been a struggle for me too, so I know how you feel. At least I’ve learned how to get creative with egg whites and a microwave this semester!

    I went to bed at NINE THIRTY last night…well it was so I could get to spin at 5:30am, but still…we are the most unique college kids EVER!

  2. 2 eatingbender Thursday, November 13, 2008 at 2:02 am

    Tell your mom thank you for the cool site on your last post!

    I’ve never tried the Cabot yogurts but I’ve seen people eat them frozen before – was that you?! I’m trying to remember. It sounded really good when I saw it!

    I love Quorn cutlets, too! I actually had one for lunch today 🙂 I highly recommend topping it with Annie’s BBQ sauce. Holy yum.

    I agree with Jenny – we are definitely a unique bunch when it comes to bedtimes! Haha, I think your term “grandma” sums it up well!

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Thursday, November 13, 2008 at 8:42 am

    Long day, indeed.

    HOORAY FOR HONEYCRISP APPLES!! 🙂

    Um, I’m definitely in bed by 10:00pm, every night, haha – I had to DVR ‘Top Chef’ to watch this morning, since I couldn’t stay up last night, haha 😀

  4. 4 Elina (Healthy and Sane) Thursday, November 13, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Thanks you SO much for your comments on my blog. You are totally right and your attitude is very healthy… moderation is key and restriction DOES equal destruction. I’m trying to do better today… I can do this! Thank you thank you thank you

  5. 5 Erin Thursday, November 13, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    You’re so right – it’s better to just eat what you want in mod. I’m so glad you liked the Quorn cutlet! Aren’t they yummy?


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

