Day Off

It’s like a mini-weekend today! I love that we have no classes because of Veterans Day. Of course I still have plenty to get done and was up at 7:30 as usual to get things started. I figure now is a good time for a little break and then I’m off to exercise a bit and hit the books. 

 Breakfast

WAFFLE TOWER!! It has been far too long since I’ve had this amazing breakfast. It was especially good today because I added a smear of cinnamon raisin peanut butter to the waffle then topped it with maple syrup, fage, and banana. SO good! This was my very first time doing the pb/yogurt combo and I have to say I enjoyed it–but then again what doesn’t taste better with peanut butter!?

img_2085

Fun Facts

I’ve been tagged by Jenny and Jess to list 7 fun facts about myself. The rules are that I’m supposed to then tag 7 more wonderful bloggers-but since I’m a rebel (and everyone has already been tagged) I’m going to skip that step. But if you want to participate please do! And I always love learning fun facts about my readers too–so if you read and don’t usually comment (or even if you do!) leave me a comment with something interesting (or boring–I’m not picky!) about yourself.

1) I love learning foreign languages and have studied: Spanish, French, Latin, and Hebrew. I have lived in US, Spain, and Israel and have travelled to Spain, Israel, Canada, Bahamas, France, Portugal, Morocco, Italy and Jordan.

2) I don’t watch much TV (I would much rather read) but I think the Gilmore Girls is the best show ever created! When I’m home my dad and I watch it together (yes, he loves it too!)

3) I am obsessed with Harry Potter and have read each book many, many times. When I was in middle school I wanted to be Hermione so badly! My mom and sister are equally obsessed and whenever a new book came out we were at the bookstore at midnight and had to order 3 copies because none of us wanted to wait for the other to finish! Then we would stay up all night and read them straight through and discuss every little detail.

4) I used to despise running to the point that I would cry when we had to run the mile in gym class. I was really bad at it too! My family used to seriously make fun of me because when I ran I used to sort of flail my arms about and looked ridiculous. Luckily my form has seriously improved!

5) Despite being so active, I am not into team sports at all. I played volleyball in middle school and hated it. I’m just not very competitive in that way so I didn’t really care if we won or lost and my team would get frustrated with me. This is why yoga and running are much better for me because it’s much more individual. Football is the only sport I really enjoy watching — GO STEELERS!

6) I used to be the most pathetic person in the kitchen. My love for cooking is definitely a recent development. Before I left for college I couldn’t do anything and would literally call my parents at work to ask them how long to heat up leftovers in the microwave for!

7) Back home, I’ve been friends with the same kids since elementary school! It’s so fun looking back at pictures of us from when we were little 7-yr olds and seeing how we’ve all changed through the years. It’s so fun!

Ok–I better get back to work! Bye!

12 Responses to “Day Off”


  1. 1 Beadie Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 10:59 am

    I agree, everything tastes better with PB!

  2. 2 Melissa S. Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 11:32 am

    yay for your most popular waffle tower! you’re renowned for it!

    and i’m totally with you on the team sport thing…although x-country was a team sport, it’s not like organized sports…which i hate. i think it’s cause i never had enough coordination to be good at any of them…running is just one food infront of hte other. hahah.

  3. 3 Sarah's Mom Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Sarah, you forgot to mention that you actually cut out a picture of your face and glued it over Hermione’s face in a Harry Potter movie picture so that everyone would think you were Hermione!

  4. 4 Elina (Healthy and Sane) Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Fun facts!
    I am pretty athletic too but hate team sports. Trainers at the gym always ask me if I played sports when I was younger and are always surprised to hear that I didn’t. I just can’t stand them!!
    Where in Israel did you live? I went to middle school in Israel…I lived in Kfar Saba 🙂

  5. 5 Sarah Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Thanks Mom but I’m pretty sure I left that fun fact out on purpose…I don’t want people to think I’m crazier than they already do ; )

    Elina,
    I was in Haifa. It’s so gorgeous there and I want to go back!

  6. 6 gina (fitnessista) Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    happy day off school!
    what a fun list of facts! i love harry potter, too but for some reason can’t finish the last book. maybe it’s because i don’t want to feel like it’s actually over??
    amen about the pb! i can eat it on anything!
    i’m right there with you on the organized sports. i was TERRIBLE at them. i played soccer in 4th grade and was the goalie who spent the entire game sitting on the grass, picking flowers.
    hope you have a wonderful day!

  7. 7 VeggieGirl Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Love the waffle tower & fun facts!! 😀

    Enjoy your “mini-weekend”!!!

  8. 8 jenngirl Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Yay for adding pb to the waffle tower!! So good.

    I’m so jealous of you and your day off, hope you don’t work TOO hard! 🙂

    Fun facts, I love learning languages too!

  9. 9 eliza Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    looks so good. i love Cinnamon raisin pb, my fav.

  10. 10 HangryPants Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Yay Gilmore Girls!

    I didn’t realize it until you said it, but I love running and yoga and haven’t ever played a team sport…

  11. 11 jess Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Your facts are too cool (not to mention the addition from your mom! haha). Don’t worry, I was Totally at barnes and nobel at midnight many’a’time!

    I looove foreign languages and traveling! You must have quite a gift- languages just don’t stick with me as well I guess 😦

    Also, I used to be Absolutely Horrible at running. Keep in mind I’m still super poor at it, but I enjoy it much more than I once did.

    Hope your mini vacation turned out as relaxing as possible- Now I’VE gotta hit them books 😉

  12. 12 eatingbender Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    “What doesn’t taste better with peanut butter!?” You took the words right out of my mouth 😉

    Gilmore Girls is definitely the best show ever created!! My mom and I love watching it together, and I cried my eyes out during the series finale. There’s pictures on Facebook to prove it – not my most flattering portrait, lemme tell ya!

    Ahahaha I love the comment from your mom! It just makes the Harry Potter obsession that much better. Did I ever tell you that I have a movie poster hanging above my bed in my apartment?! It’s of “Dumbledore’s Army” – NERD!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

