Sunday Night Sigh

Another weekend gone. Sigh… But that means it’s one weekend closer to THANKSGIVING break, which I could not be more excited about! Then after that I just have 1 more week of classes, finals, and then a whole glorious month of cooking! 

Breakfast

I got up this morning excited about breakfast–overnight oats! I chopped up a red pear this time to switch it up a bit, but I have to say that I definitely prefer it with banana–it just adds to the overall creaminess. It’s really funny, up until about a year ago I hated bananas! You seriously could not get me anywhere near them, and now I eat one every day. I was the same way with tomatoes, I avoided them at all costs and now they’re one of my very favorite foods. It’s so funny how tastes change. Oh–and the most ridiculous of all: I used to hate peanut butter!! Can you even believe that?! Thank goodness I changed from my old ways because I don’t know where my life would be without these foods. Is there anything you used to hate but now you can’t live without? Or the opposite?

img_2074

Lunch

After I digested a bit I went out for a really nice run. I did my 4 mi loop and felt really good so I just kept running for another 10 minutes or so. The weather was great and it was exactly what I needed to get my day off to a good start. After that, with the exception of a small break to watch part of the field hockey game, my day was spent in the library. Yep, 10:30-6 at the same table. I was going stir crazy! And if I didn’t have to leave for a sorority meeting, I probably would still be there now!

Luckily I packed up some delicious eats to get me through the day!

When I was at Whole Foods I spotted these maple almond butter packets. And I just had to try them! It was SO GOOD! And I love how they are individually portioned because I definitely have a bad habit of extra bites from the pb jar when I’m making my lunch!

img_2072

Along with my AB sandwich I had a banana (since I missed it at breakfast!) and some carrots.

img_2073

Snack

I was so excited to find some seasonal clif bars at WF and couldn’t wait to try out the Spiced Pumpkin Pie because I love all things pumpkin. It was so good! The pumpkin flavor wasn’t overwhelming and there was a icing on one side that reminded me of cream cheese frosting. Yum! I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed by a Clif bar, they’re all so good!

img_2071

Dinner

I didn’t know what I felt like for dinner so I just threw together something really fast and it ended up being awesome. It ended up being exactly what I was craving and I was so happy and satisfied while eating it. I just made some microwaved egg-beaters served on a cinnamon raisin ezekial english muffin, and swiss cheese which got all melty and gooey. On the side I had some cottage cheese. Boy was this a good dinner!

img_2076

Dessert

Obviously no night is complete without dessert, right? Tonight I had a banana split pudding. Delish!

img_2075

Gotta get back to work!

10 Responses to “Sunday Night Sigh”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Sunday, November 9, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Ah yes, the weekend came and went 😦 But we need to look forward to holiday break!! It’ll come soon, I hope!! 😀

    You used to hate bananas and peanut butter?!?!??!?! I could never imagine such a thing, since I eat one banana every single day, and also can’t go one day without some sort of nut-butter or seed-butter, haha.

    Enjoy your evening!!

  2. 2 Jenny Sunday, November 9, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Food preferences are crazy. I used to HATE fish, like would not even get near it, and now I love pretty much all of it! Also, I’m pretty sure I used to prefer grits to oatmeal for breakfast, and while I still do like grits, nothing beats a bowl of creamy delicious oats!

    Banana split pudding for dessert?! Yum. Hope you have a wonderful evening!

    PS- I am SO on the same page as you as far as Thanksgiving break goes, heck, I’m already counting down to finals!

  3. 3 Erin Sunday, November 9, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    YAY! GOod job at the library. I know how bad that sucks but you’re totally in the home stretch girl. Your classes are so hard! I admire you.
    Your dinner does look bombay.

  4. 4 Lizzy Monday, November 10, 2008 at 1:19 am

    LOVE THAT cliff FLAVOR!!! i am soooo excited with all the seasonal flavors, have u tried the gingerbread and apple struedel? so good! I cant wait for thanksgiving either…were almost there!!

  5. 5 saima Monday, November 10, 2008 at 2:51 am

    Sarah–how do you make your overnight oats??!!

  6. 7 Sarah Monday, November 10, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Saima,
    Just soak 1/2 c old fashioned oats with 1 T ground flax, pinch of salt (i usually forget this though) and 1/2 c water.

    The oats with absorb most of the water overnight but there may still be a tiny bit left. They get nice and chewy!

    Then in the morning stir in banana, cinnamon, yogurt, and whatever other mix-ins you’d like. I’ve heard of people adding PB which I definitely need to try, and I bet adding some dried fruit (raisins or cranberries) would add an amazing texture to it too.

  7. 8 Rose Monday, November 10, 2008 at 10:25 am

    I used to hate cheese… sometimes I can’t believe that!

  8. 9 Mel Monday, November 10, 2008 at 11:59 am

    I used to hate tomatoes too, and oatmeal (which is crazy!).

    Your egg beaters sandwich looks really good. I love eggs on english muffins!

  9. 10 eatingbender Tuesday, November 11, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Hahaha holy moly are we alike. Not only did I find those Justin Nut Butter packs, I also got the Clif holiday bars! I agree with the nut butter – it helps SO much because I seriously take 1/2 the amount I usually would this way.

    I agree with Jenny – I used to despise fish, but now I love it!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

