Finally Friday

This was a looooong week, huh? I am definitely glad that it’s finally the weekend!

Today was not my typical Friday but I sure was busy. I got up really, really early this morning to drive my friend to the airport. In return for driving her I used her car to make a little trip to Whole Foods! I picked up lots of new goodies to try so be on the lookout for new products on my blog! I was so excited to see that my favorite seasonal teas have hit the shelf. I picked up: gingerbread spice (which I’m sipping on now, and it smells and tastes so good!) sugar cookie sleigh ride, and candy cane lane. While I can drink hot coffee all year round, I usually just have tea in the winter so I’m excited that the time has come for me to bring it back!

Breakfast

Since I had to get up so early I didn’t have time or an appetite for breakfast right away so I just packed up some stuff to eat in the car. Don’t worry—my friend drove there so I wasn’t eating yogurt while driving, which would be pretty tough I’d imagine!

img_20581

Snack

There was a Starbucks attached to Whole Foods so I treated myself to a double tall nonfat 1 pump sugar-free vanilla latte while I shopped. It was a great trick to avoid all the free samples!

img_2059

This Whole Foods had a make your own trail mix bar! SO EXCITING! It was great to be able to pick exactly what I wanted (aka no silly peanuts!)  Obviously I couldn’t wait to dig in so I had a little sample while I was putting my groceries away. Mmmmm. Oh, and I thought it was really funny that there were signs there that said ‘no nibbling’ haha, they know me too well ; )

img_2056

Lunch

I had an appointment this morning for my 2nd HPV vaccine and boy did it hurt! Good thing I picked up some brown rice grilled salmon and avocado sushi at WF to treat myself to afterward. This was so good! I really love how they use brown rice–I think that it actually sticks together a lot better than the regular rice, which is definitely a plus because I am the messiest sushi eater ever! This sushi was so fresh, healthy, and delicious, and I felt really good eating it. Also, this is a pretty big step for me–I have no idea how many calories this lunch was. It could be 200 or it could be 900 for all I know or care. I’m trying really hard to get away from being so restrictive with my eating and to just relax and enjoy food without overanalyzing everything. All I know is that I really enjoyed this lunch, the ingredients were all healthy and great for my body, and it filled me up. That’s really all that matters.

img_2060

Snack

After lunch I was doing some work (in bed—oops!) and get this-I fell asleep for 2 HOURS! Wow. I haven’t been napping at all lately and when I do I usually only sleep for like 20 minutes. I guess my body really needed some extra rest! 

A little later I was getting hungry and wanted to try out some of my new products! I had some meringues (which I’ve had before) along with my first ever Annie’s Bunnies!! These are SO SO good! The box is a mix of the cinnamon, chocolate, and chocolate chip, and I love them! I had a few straight from the box too and almost let myself slip. I felt guilty about it and in the past that would have been a trigger: “I screwed up and had 5 unaccounted for bunnies so I might as well have 20 more and then eat everything else in sight to.” I know how silly that must sound but that’s honestly how my train of thought goes sometimes and I’m trying hard to work on it. So I thought about it rationally and honestly 5 extra bunnies means nothing. My day is by no means ruined, it wasn’t a ‘failed’ day of intuitive eating, and I don’t have to wait until tomorrow to start over. I successfully calmed myself down and enjoyed my snack guilt-free.

img_2061

I know how ridiculous I probably sound, making such a big deal out of something so trivial, but to me this sort of thing actually is a big deal, and I feel like I’m making great progress. Please tell me I’m not alone with these issues! 

As for the rest of the night, I’m going out for dinner with friends so there probably won’t be a picture, then who knows what’s going on. Hopefully it will stop raining!

Have a great weekend everyone!

13 Responses to “Finally Friday”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, November 7, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    “My day is by no means ruined, it wasn’t a ‘failed’ day of intuitive eating, and I don’t have to wait until tomorrow to start over. I successfully calmed myself down and enjoyed my snack guilt-free.”

    KUDOS, SARAH!!! You ARE making progress, and your thought-process is definitely positive/on track. Keep it up!!

    Enjoy your evening; and hooray for the weekend!! 😀

  2. 2 wholefoodswholeme Friday, November 7, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    those dried banana chips & sushi look wonderful! i’m so sorry you had to have a jab 😦 they can really hurt!!

    “I screwed up and had 5 unaccounted for bunnies so I might as well have 20 more and then eat everything else in sight to.” yesyesyes. been there SO many times. (including today – cheerios, argh!!i promise you you are not alone in thinking this way, and i admire you for being so positive and doing so well.

  3. 3 Sarah's Mom Friday, November 7, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    I miss whole foods shopping with you!! Have a great weekend. Love you, Mom

  4. 4 Elina (Healthy and Sane) Friday, November 7, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    This doesn’t sound ridiculous to me at all. My mind works like that all the time, and I’m also working on a healthier mindset. You’re doing really great and are definitely an inspiration!

    Now the important question: where is this Whole Foods that has a make-your-own trailmix? I have to go there asap! 😀

  5. 5 littleengine Friday, November 7, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    sarah, i found your blog a little while ago and i love reading it because of how much i relate to it! i am SO impressed by what you did with the bunnies (AND i picked up my first box at the store today, too) and the sushi. that’s seriously awesome. i struggle with some of the same things and i’m glad to see you doing so well! i especially loved that you said, “All I know is that I really enjoyed this lunch, the ingredients were all healthy and great for my body, and it filled me up. That’s really all that matters.” you put it SO well, and i’m going to keep that in mind in the future!

    also: when i got my 2nd hpv shot they gave me a lollipop. i definitely needed the treat after that shot!!

  6. 6 Melissa S. Friday, November 7, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    totally not alone babe; i’m normally like that but have def had a change of heart/mind and it’s getting so much easier and better!

    i’m so jealous of the make your own trail mix bar!!! i totally need one of those!!!!

  7. 7 Erin Friday, November 7, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    OF COURSE YOU’RE NOT ALONE! WE ALL DO IT! My mind works in the EXACT SAME WAY.
    Have a blast tonight. 🙂

  8. 8 Sharon Friday, November 7, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Awwwhh, why not combat the rain by going outside and singing in the rain?! 😉

  9. 9 eatingbender Friday, November 7, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    Ooh! I’m excited to see these new products from Whole Foods – and the teas sound very yummy!

    I had my first Starbucks holiday cup today, too! Except I sort of indulged a bit and got the peppermint mocha with chocolate shavings – so worth it!

    MAKE YOUR OWN TRAIL MIX BAR?! Umm…can you say heaven on Earth?! 😉

    I love what you made with the meringues and bunnies – YUM! And kudos on the rationalization of those 5 extra bunnies. You are so right and I am glad that you were able to come to a stress-free conclusion!!

    Happy weekend, Sarah!

  10. 11 HangryPants Friday, November 7, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    P.S. GLad you enjoyed them guilt free. It’s hard sometimes, I know. 😀

  11. 12 Julz Saturday, November 8, 2008 at 12:35 am

    WAY TO GO, BABE. HOMERUN 🙂

  12. 13 Julz Saturday, November 8, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Awww, OMG, HI MOMMA SCHREIBER!! 🙂 We adore your daughter!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

