Back on Track

It feels so good to be back on track with my healthy lifestyle. That’s what I have to keep reminding myself–that this is a lifestyle and really in the grand scheme of things, a bad week here or there and a few pounds in either direction really does NOT make a difference.

Thank you guys so much for all your support—everyone who has a blog can attest to the fact that kind comments mean so much and really help! I don’t know where I would be without all of you!

Breakfast

Even though my big projects are done for right now, I still have a lot of work to do! I put a lot of my other classes on the back-burner and now I need to catch up on them. I decided to pack up a quick breakfast to go so that I could spend the morning working, go to class, and then straight to the gym.

Lunch

I just packed up a turkey and cheese sandwich with an apple and some veggies to eat at the library before my next class. Then I have to go get some serious work done for my internship and then it’s back to the books!

Thoughts

I was doing a lot of thinking about what the causes for my nighttime snack-attacks are and I think I’ve come up with a few reasons:

1) Lack of sleep: I have been getting up at the same time as always (730-8) but haven’t been getting to bed until much later than usual (2-3). Obviously I’m exhausted mentally, and physically and it’s really easy to mistake feeling tired with feeling hungry. Also, I’ve been eating dinner at the same time as always but then have been awake for much longer. Being up for so many extra hours means that I need more fuel, but unfortunately I was stuck in the mindset of only 1 small snack after dinner. I should have just let myself have another real snack but instead I didn’t listen to my body and ended up starving late at night and grabbing everything in sight.

2) Being unsatisfied with dinner: I really, really miss cooking. I miss having real, healthy, filling, home-cooked meals. I am a firm believer in the importance of eating real, whole foods and have really been struggling with not being able to cook for myself like I did this past summer. I end up eating things that I don’t want, and that don’t satisfy me, which definitely leads to overeating later in the night. I’m not really sure what the solution to this is, except to just wait it out and try to make the best of the situation. 

Well, I have to run to class–see you all tonight!

8 Responses to “Back on Track”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Hooray!! I KNEW you’d be able to get back on track – you’re doing fabulously, and need to just keep that in mind, and keep on going 🙂

    I’m sure you’ll be able to find the solutions soon – you need your rest and nourishment. Hang in there, Sarah!!

  2. 2 Rose Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Can you pre-make healthy options that you can grab and eat? Do you have time on Sundays to make a big pot of soup, for example? Maybe that will help you. I do this occasionally (though even on Sundays I don’t feel like I have enough time…)

    Maybe soup isn’t the best example but hopefully you know what I mean 🙂

  3. 3 Julz Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    SO HAPPY 🙂 I was thinking about you and knew you’d come back around! So proud of you, Boo.

    -PS- IMHO, Beans make a GREAT filling source of Fuel! They always seem to really help me, in satiety and in how satisfied I feel! 🙂

  4. 4 Danielle Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    So glad that you’re getting back into the swing of things. Nobody is perfect, we definitely all have our setbacks, the important thing is that you return to that healthy lifestyle of yours and in the end, it really does balance out. This, of course 🙂 is easier said than done so I totally know what you mean about having bloggie support, a friendly reminder and a touch of compassion is a perfect antidote to negative thinking. We’re here for you always!

    I’m sorry that your academic and extra-curricular responsibilities have left you worn out! On the bright side, way to go for fitting the gym into that busy schedule. Exercise is a great stress reliever! Like Rose said, I would think that maybe preparing food for the week on Sundays would be a great help, even going as far as put together your sandwich lunches. You could also make big patches of cooked food (like soup or oatmeal) to save for breakfasts/dinners and then probably even freeze a few of them for further future use. We wouldn’t want you to get tired of yummy culinary creations ;). As for lack of sleep, there’s unfortunately no alternative, and I’m certainly not the person to give advice. Best of luck, I hope things slow down soon! Life’s too short and beautiful to be rushing through it 🙂

  5. 6 Melissa S. Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Hi hun. I’m glad you were able to figure out what had been triggering different feelings/emotions/things and have your list to focus on with that! I do that more often than I like because I always have things bothering me! Eek!

    Have a good night though!!! and keep your eye out (you know what for!)

  6. 7 Hil Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    That sounds like some really good self-analysis. I think you’re going to do just fine.

    I really missed homecooked food in college, too. I didn’t cope nearly as well as you, but I did have cooking parties with my husband (then boyfriend) on weekends. Our friends were always very happy to eat our offerings. Do you have (or could you acquire) a microwave? With a microwave and a knife and cutting board, you can do a surprising amount of cooking. Most veggies take very well to a microwave treatment.

  7. 8 gina (fitnessista) Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    so glad to hear that you’re feeling better today! sweet comments make such a HUGE difference!
    both of your reasons, i totally agree with! when i’m tired, i eat more to “keep myself awake” which makes me more tired. also, when i don’t have time to cook a real meal, i just snack and am not satisfied with what i’m eating. i feel like just as much satisfaction comes from the process of creating a delicious meal and actually eating it.
    i think this is why i lived off of lean cuisines in college, with a salad, i almost felt like i was having a “real meal”.
    hope you have a good night!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

