WHEW

Hey guys! I finally have a chance to breathe! My paper and presentation on this paper (I dare you to try getting through this without falling asleep!) are finally over and I couldn’t be more relieved. I am so drained–I haven’t gotten more than 5 hrs of sleep a night since last Wednesday!

This past week has been absolutely horrible. Not just with schoolwork, but just in general. I was really down in the dumps and my eating was really negatively affected. I let myself fall into the ’emotional eating’ trap and unfortunately reverted back into some of my overeating/overrestricting/overexercising cycle which is not good. I felt horrible mentally and physically and really don’t want to go down that path. I thought about giving up blogging for good but I think I’m going to stick it out and see how things go. I’m going to be more diligent about taking pictures of everything so that I don’t mindlessly eat (especially at night which is where things are hardest for me). I’m really not happy with how my healthy living has been going recently and I know that blaming it on stress is no excuse. I should be able to overcome the other issues in my life and make the time and effort to treat my body the way it deserves to be treated. I’m actually really excited to get back on track because I know that when I exercise and fuel my body right I just feel so much better overall.

I have to run to a meeting now (yes, at 10:00 at night) and then I am hitting the sack–I can barely keep my eyes open! Back to regularly scheduled blogging tomorrow!

11 Responses to “WHEW”


  1. 1 Julz Tuesday, October 28, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I LOVE YOU TO DEATH AND NEED YOU TO MESSAGE ME WHEN YOU FEELIN THE CRISIS MODE COMIN ON, SAR! Girl, we totally can rock it out. OUT LIKE TROUT. Don’t worry— You can totally do this and BE FINE. In fact, you WILL BE GREAT. Focus on YOU. Not “what you should do if this happens” or “what you should eat” or “when you should workout”.. WHAT DO YOU NEED? YOU NEED TO FOCUS ON YOU. Loving that amazing you is not just what you SHOULD do. It is what you HAVE AN OBLIGATION ABOVE ALL OTHER THINGS, to do. SO DO IT. And message me LOTS. Cuz you know I got mad love for you, woman. MAD, MAAAAD LERVE.

  2. 2 gina (fitnessista) Tuesday, October 28, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    so sorry to hear that it’s been such a rough week.
    school can do that to ya– there were times in college when i was so uber focused that it would be 11pm and i realized i hadn’t eaten anything since breakfast, and then hit up late night taco bell and feast out. i’ve been in that undereat/overeat/over exercise mode before and it’s definitely exhausting i totally know how you feel.
    i’m SO SO glad you’re keeping the blog. i would miss you too much if you ever left again!
    hang in there and like julz said, focus on YOU.
    we’re all here for you!! here’s to starting fresh tomorrow!

  3. 3 Olga Tuesday, October 28, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    I am so glad you’re sticking to the blog, I feel like that’s a great decision. I always appreciate bloggers sharing their struggles, it really inspires me and lets me know that everyone shares the issues I do.

    As Gina said, we are here for you! Tomorrow is a fresh start =]

  4. 4 Elina (Healthy and Sane) Tuesday, October 28, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Hi Sarah, I just found your blog and I think it’s great. You may be inspiring more people than you realize!!! I’m sure you’ll be able to get back on track in no time! 😀
    Good luck!

  5. 5 Erin Tuesday, October 28, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    I would love to “talk” with you more about this on fb if you need some extra support. I totally get where you are and it’s a crappy place to be.
    But it doesn’t have to be! You’ll be fine. Whatever you need from us, just let us know. I’m really proud of you.

  6. 6 Hil Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 1:17 am

    I know that it isn’t very comforting, but stress eating is the most natural thing in the world when you’re working on a huge project and not getting enough sleep. And sometimes big papers happen! Please don’t be too hard on yourself. You’ve had a rough week, and now you’re listening to your body and jumping right back on track.

  7. 7 eatingbender Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 1:27 am

    I am so glad that your presentation is over and that you can BREATHE!! I meant to tell you this sooner, but I definitely think it’s a good thing to stick with blogging. We would all miss you too much, and I do think there are many ways that blogging can help!! I’m sooooo sorry to hear about your struggles and I am ALWAYS here if you need support. We’re in this together, you and I 🙂 And I’m so glad that I know you, Sarah!!!

    Have a good hump day!

  8. 8 jenngirl Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 8:45 am

    I’m truly sorry you’ve been having a rough week, and a hard time. I think it’s a great decision to stick with the blog a bit more and see how things go. Just remember that just because you’ve had a tough time dealing with stress lately does NOT mean that you SHOULD have been able to handle it better. It’s all about learning healthy ways to deal with obstacles in life, and this comes easier to some than others. So I wish you well the rest of this week, and stay strong girl, I’m here for you anytime! 🙂

  9. 9 VeggieGirl Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Sarah!!! Thank goodness that paper is over; but I’m terribly sorry about your tough week – it’s been a super-tough week for me as well, so I can fully sympathize 😦 You know where I am on Facebook, so never hesitate to contact me for extra support – as everyone said above (and we ALL mean it, I know it!!), we’re here for you!!! Chin up, girl!!

  10. 10 Melissa S. Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 10:58 am

    ah sarah!!! i’m so glad that school work is over so you can hopefully take some time to relax. you know i’m always here for you and just an email away like before. i know you can get through this! keep your chin up!!! always here for you!

  11. 11 Beadie Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    I’m sorry you have been having a hard time. I am the same as you, when I feel stressed or any other way besides happy and normal, my eating and exercise go out the window. Hang in there, I know you have it in you to combat this!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

