Cold and Dreary

Man, the weather in Boston was NOT pleasant today. Luckily the rain held off for the most part but it was cold, windy, drizzly, and gray all day long. I guess it sort of matched my mood.

Breakfast

Last night while I was burning the midnight 230 am oil I got really hungry and bored with studying and stressed and tired. These do not make for a good combination. The result was me + spoon + jar of PB. Ugh. I’m trying so hard to do this intuitive eating thing but I feel like I’m facing setbacks all the time. I don’t like the restriction of counting calories and I hate how obsessive I become with it, but I really don’t like this out-of-control late night eating that’s been happening since I’ve stopped calorie-counting. Do you count calories? If you have in the past, how did you get yourself to stop? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Anyway, due to my late night eating, when 7:00 rolled around this morning I was definitely not hungry. I hit up the gym without a preworkout snack because food really wasn’t too appetizing to me. I got in an extra-long, extra-sweaty workout (just how I like them!) and had a simple bowl of cereal when I got home.

Lunch

Quick hummus wrap, cottage cheese, carrots, and some random spicy rice crackers I found at the campus mini-mart. This lunch was great! I love having lots of little things to eat and there were so many different flavors and textures going on that it really hit the spot. It took me a long time to eat too, which is always a plus!

Snack

Once again the 2% cottage cheese worked it’s magic and kept me full for a really long time. I had the biggest apple I’ve ever eaten for a snack. It was just ok–it wasn’t as crunchy as I would have hoped. I like my apples SUPER crunchy!

I attended a panel discussion about the current financial crisis that the economics department put on today. 5 professors spoke and then opened up for questions. It was so interesting! They did such a great job explaining everything and I feel like I understand the current situation so much better now. Unfortunately the message I took away from it is that future for our economy is not looking so good…

Dinner

Due to the gross weather I was definitely in the mood for something warm and comforting. A big bowl of lentil soup and some Kashi crackers really hit the spot. This soup is good, I prefer the taste of Amy’s Lentil better, but the convenience and zero cleanup with this just can’t be beat!

After dinner I did some more planning for the Greek Block Party and ran some errands (we went to Target, and it was SO hard not to buy stuff for myself! My friend had a pretty hard time keeping me in line since I kept wandering down aisles and browsing, haha)

Dessert

Now it’s back to the books. I just ate the cookie and I plan to pop up the popcorn in an hour or so to motivate me through my work. After that I’m brushing my teeth and NOT mindlessly eating tonight.

Goodnight everyone!

9 Responses to “Cold and Dreary”


  1. 1 Julz Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    I happen to think you have AWESOME self control and I’m serious. I don’t eat enough during the day, EVER. And don’t have a balanced diet, so my eating is SO RANDOM… Haha, I don’t really know HOW to eat, which sounds ridiculous, but it’s true! If I could I’d just eat fruits and veggies ALL DAY LONG 🙂

  2. 2 gina (fitnessista) Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    i totally agree with julz– you have great eating habits! you eat well-balanced, healthy meals and snacks and the occasional dip into the pb jar is no big deal. when i was a dept store manager for a few months when we first moved here, i would no kidding come home from work, grab the jar and a spoon and sit on the couch to vent to my husband about everything. pb is a great stress food, haha.
    i used to be OCD about counting calories and i’m slowly easing out of keeping the mental tally. it’s helped me a lot to tell myself if i really want something, i can have it. i realize that i don’t really want it that badly, since it’s not off limits anymore.
    the current economic situation definitely has bad indications of where it’s heading. on the news this morning they were talking about a potential global recession, which is a scary thought.
    have a wonderful night!

  3. 3 Sharon Thursday, October 23, 2008 at 12:19 am

    It can be hard to stop mindlessly eating, and eating intuitively. I struggle that myself sometimes too. Have you tried chewing on gum while studying?

    Good luck with studying, as well! The weekend is just around the corner! =)

  4. 4 tryingtoheal Thursday, October 23, 2008 at 1:43 am

    i agree with the other girls. you eat healthy all the time that i think something like that isn’t something you need to worry about!

    and as far as calorie counting and getting away from it, i’m still working on that. we’ll figure it out. 🙂

  5. 5 Danielle Thursday, October 23, 2008 at 7:48 am

    You eat such a healthy, balanced diet I’m surprised you’re having some trouble with it… I guess it goes to show you that there’s no such thing as a perfect eater 🙂 it’s a good perspective reminder sometimes. I still calorie count in the ballpark kind of way but I don’t let it be the final decision as to whether or not I’ll eat a meal, most often it’s what helps me determine the size of my snacks. Good luck figuring out the best way for you!

  6. 6 Josie Thursday, October 23, 2008 at 10:10 am

    I use your meals as one example of balanced eating! I think you’re doing really well even when not counting calories!

    I count calories because if I don’t, I don’t eat enough. I figure after a while, I’ll get the feel of what a real meal looks like; then I won’t have to count anymore.

  7. 7 VeggieGirl Thursday, October 23, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Oh yes, apples MUST be crunchy – sorry that yours wasn’t! 😦

    That panel discussion definitely sounds interesting!!

    I have to count calories in order to make sure that I consume enough nutrition (since I often don’t have an appetite, and need extra fuel for my activity level).

    Hope your Thursday is going well!!

  8. 8 jenngirl Thursday, October 23, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Sorry about the blah weather, it’s definitely made it’s way down here today too, I’m really craving some soup too!

    Don’t worry too much about your eating habits, I think you’ve been doing great. The way that I’m able to not focus on calories anymore is the method of exchanges that my nutritionist works with. I have a certain number of food groups for each meal, and then about 150-200 calories alotted for snacks. Putting the focus on food groups for me works really well, and it eliminates my need to restrict or cut back. I just know that I need a certain amount of starch, fruit, veggies at each meal, no questions asked. Also remember that if you are staying up later, then those nighttime snacks are definitely needed, your body is still burning fuel as long as you are awake!

    Have a great Thursday!

  9. 9 Erin Thursday, October 23, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    I don’t think you have ANYTHING to worry about. I stopped counting for awhile but lately it’s popped back up again.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

