I VOTED!

I voted in my very first presidential election! My absentee ballot came in the mail this afternoon and I was so excited (and sure of my decision!!) that I filled it out right away! YAY! 

And that was definitely the highlight of my day. I will be a much happier girl this time next week when my research paper on ‘Whether the growing importance of foreign direct investment and multinational enterprises poses a challenge for “traditional” and “new” trade theory’ is handed in and my 75 minute presentation on ‘Does Economic Integration Cause Foreign Direct Investment?” is over with. Along with all this schoolwork, I’m helping to plan my sorority’s booth at the Greek Block Party on Friday (which goes on all day) not to mention a 6 hour workshop on Saturday with a chapter at a nearby school. Just thinking about all of it is overwhelming me!

Breakfast

I did start the day off the best way possible: Waffle Tower. This is the first time I’ve tried the Kashi Go Lean Blueberry Waffles (I’ve had the strawberry before and they’re just ok) but these are AWESOME! The flavor is really pronounced and topped with fage, sf syrup, and a juicy red pear, I’m basically in love.

Lunch

Another winner: Cinnamon Raisin Ezekial with Cin-raisin pb and laughing cow. With a side of cottage cheese. Oh so good. I bought 2% cottage cheese this time instead of nonfat and it made SUCH a difference! The flavor and texture was way better and it kept me full foreverrrrr. I’m not kidding, I didn’t even want an afternoon snack which is basically unheard of for me!

After yoga I went in to meet with my group and professor regarding our presentation next week and then I went in to do some work for my internship (I’m the Hillel Marketing Intern which is basically a fancy name for: “I sit at a computer and input numbers into a program”).

Dinner

Another excellent meal (3 for 3 today!) Annie’s single serving microwaved mac&cheese with tuna and a side salad. This is definitely my new favorite meal! It is so comforting and really filling. The portion is really generous too for surprisingly low calories (1 serving of the mac &cheese is under 250 calories!)

Dessert

I definitely needed a reward for diligently working this evening. I knew the perfect treat= Peanut Butter Cookie cookie dough Larabar. So amazingly good.

Around 10 I have something to do for my sorority and then it’s back to work. I’m really skimping on sleep lately–I ideally like 8 hrs but can manage on 6-7, recently I’ve been getting more like 5-6. 1 more week and then I can sleep to my hearts content (which I guarantee you won’t be past 8:30 because my body is crazy.) Sigh.

Have a great night everyone!

12 Responses to “I VOTED!”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    I’ll be voting for the first time ever in this election as well!! Exciting!! 🙂

    Good luck with the upcoming work!! It’ll all be over soon!!

    PB COOKIE LARABAR!!! My favorite.

  2. 2 gina (fitnessista) Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    you just reminded me to send in my absentee request form (yes, i’ve been a huge slacker)
    it’s crazy how a higher-fat content in dairy makes sure a difference! it really keeps you full longer and tastes soooo creamy and good 😀
    good luck with all of your work! 1 more week!!!

  3. 3 Erin Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    YYEEAAHH VOTING!
    This will be my third election. Basically…I am old!
    I can’t believe your presentation is 75 minutes long. Holy!
    So what do you want to do with your life?

  4. 4 tryingtoheal Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    YAY for voting!!!! this will be my second election and i’m super excited for it too!!!

    and dangggg…i thought my 25 min senior thesis presentation was bad! you rock!!!

    glad you’ll be able to sleep soon!!!

  5. 5 Sharon Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Good job on voting!

    And I must say, I’m really digging your plates! Where did you get them?!

  6. 6 Sarah Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Plates are from Target—the best store EVER!

  7. 7 Sarah's Mom Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Sarah, that is so funny that you like the blueberry waffles more than the strawberry. I had been buying the blueberry ones and when you came home over the summer you bought the strawberry waffles and I thought you liked those more than the blueberry waffles — so we kept buying strawberry (and have continued to do so out of habit). I like the blueberry more also!!!

  8. 8 jenngirl Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Yay for first time voting, of course we get this crazy election year to do it in!

    I agree about the Kashi waffles, the blueberry flavor is MUCH more pronounced than the strawberry, but they are both delish!

    Great job on going 3 for 3 today on meals! I hope my days can start looking that good 😉

    Hope you start getting more sleep soon, it seriously does suck to have to drag it to class everyday on low energy. Have a great Hump Day!! 😉

  9. 9 eatingbender Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Yay voting!! This is my first election, too!! And I can’t decide whether or not to do early voting when I go home this weekend or to vote on election day. I’m registered in both Arizona and Illinois — haha, two states that happen to have a very clear idea of who their “winners” will be! Should I be a rebel and vote in Arizona or go with the crowd in Illinois? 😉

    Wow, good luck with all of your work!! I am right there with ya.

    I love the blueberry version of those waffles! You’re right, they have a very pronounced flavor compared to the strawberry ones.

    Love the dinner – I’ll be on the look out for those individual Annie’s packets! And yay for that Larabar – sooo yummmy!

    I’ve been getting 5 hours of sleep all week, too. Can’t wait to sleep in this weekend! Good luck with everything, Sarah!

  10. 10 Sharon Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Oh no, we don’t have Target in Canada! 😦

  11. 11 blueberryhil Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    This is my second presidential election, but California isn’t exactly a swing state, so there’s no suspense there. I’m much more excited to vote on an LA city ballot measure that I helped write!

  12. 12 HangryPants Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Congratulations on your first vote! Absentee ballot was how I did my first voting, too. It’s so exciting, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

