Studying Away my Saturday

I knew that I was going to have a lot of schoolwork this weekend but I don’t think I realized just how hard everything is! One class in particular (Multinational Enterprises) is really tough and I have a 10 page research “take-home exam” and a 75 minute group presentation (3 of us in the group) a day apart from each other! Luckily I have next weekend to work on them also, but I’m getting anxious already. The material is really hard and I feel like I’m working and working and working and not even putting a dent in what I need to get done. 

Breakfast

I woke up this morning and instead of diving straight into my day like I usually do I decided to make a cup of tea and get back into bed with my book. I read for about an hour and it was so nice–a great way to get some relaxation in since the rest of my Saturday was not so fun.

I eventually made myself some breakfast: greek yogurt, fiber one, flax, and an apple. Delicious.

I spent the rest of the morning doing lots of research. When my eyes started crossing from staring at the computer screen too long I knew it was time to take a break and get some exercise in. I went for a run and did my usual 3.2 mile loop. I felt great the whole time and didn’t want to stop running. I have a lot on my mind and running is a great stress reliever for me. I ended up doing an extra 15 minutes or so but had to stop because I felt like I was wasting precious work time. 

Lunch

I made a fantastic lunch today! I loved the Annie’s mac and cheese I made last week but didn’t like it so much reheated. Luckily I found some single-serving microwavable Annie’s mac&cheese! I made one today and mixed in some tuna and it was SO. GOOD. Very tasty and super comforting. I had a little salad with it and was seriously full all afternoon.

Snack

I headed over to the library so that I would seriously concentrate. I spent way too many hours there and re-fueled at one point with a Kashi bar. This tastes great but definitely was NOT an ideal library snack. I felt like everyone could hear me crunching! 

Dinner

Dinner is always my most upsetting meal because all I want is a healthy, fresh, home-cooked meal, but I unfortunately have to find other alternatives. Tonight I chose an Amy’s Texas Burger on a Rudi’s bagel with an apple and some goldfish and soy crisps. It was good for what it was.

Dessert

Then it was back to the books. I obviously needed to reward myself for all my hard work with a little dessert: chocolate rice cake, pb puffins, and meringues. I love making little “dessert platters” like this so I get lots of different flavors and bites.

A little bit later I was still feeling sort of hungry/snacky so I decided to listen to my body and have a little more. I portioned out a few more meringues and a tootsie pop. This was perfect because the lollipop took a long time to eat and by the time I was done my mind and stomach finally caught up with each other and realized I was full.

Now I’m beat. It’s been a long day. I really think that I get more exhausted when I’m working out mentally than when I’m working out physically! And when you combine the 2…it’s draining! I’m going to finish the chapter I’m on in my lovely “Multinational Firms in the World Economy” and call it a night. I still have to watch the Office from this week!

Night everyone!

8 Responses to “Studying Away my Saturday”


  1. 1 jenngirl Sunday, October 19, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Ugh studying all day on a Saturday is never fun! At least you had a productive day 🙂

    I am with you on the dinnertime meals…I never seem to get what I want when I’m at school for dinner, I know how frustrating that can be.

    I need to watch The Office from this week too, can’t wait! 🙂

  2. 2 Sharon Sunday, October 19, 2008 at 1:40 am

    I wonder why everyone loves to watch the Office. Maybe I should find an episode and see what it is about. LOL.

    Anyhow, studying all day is hard, I know! But everything you had looks delicious! At least you got lots done, I on the other hand… didn’t. LOL

  3. 3 Erin Sunday, October 19, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Studying can be so unsatisfying, right? I mean, you just sit there in the quiet all day, trying to absorb information. Ugh. I’m glad you had some yummy dessert, at least. Hang in there!

  4. 4 Beadie Sunday, October 19, 2008 at 8:33 am

    Sounds like an intense day of studying. Hang in there!

  5. 5 VeggieGirl Sunday, October 19, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Love your “Dessert Platter” – yum!! 🙂

    Eek, I’m terribly sorry that you had to study so much during the weekend – stay strong, Sarah!!

  6. 6 tryingtoheal Sunday, October 19, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    kudos for doing so much work on a saturday! i wish i had had that type of discipline when i was in college…i left all my work to sundays!! hehe!

    i hope your sunday isn’t as strenuous on your brain!

  7. 7 Josie Sunday, October 19, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Hurray for Annie’s Mac n’ cheese! And Kashi! And Amy’s! And Rudi’s! That looks like a very put-together dinner, imo. Delish!

  8. 8 eatingbender Sunday, October 19, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Ugh, I’m really sorry that you are getting slammed with work this weekend. And I hope that you’re feeling better all around, too.

    You definitely had some yummy eats to make up for all of your hard work! I personally think your dinner looks amazing – I never would have thought to use a bagel as a burger bun. I love it! And I had a Tootsie Roll pop last night myself 🙂 Come to think of it, I also had the brown wrapper. Surprise, surprise!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

