2 Steps Forward, 1 Step Back

No pics today guys–sorry. 

Today was not a good day foodwise. I feel like I have made such great progress recently with the whole intuitive eating but today was unfortunately a big step back. My appetite was really off this morning so I wasn’t hungry until late afternoon, I had a normal lunch and dinner, and then became ravenous. I seriously was eating everything in sight. Blech, I just hate when that happens. I’m trying not to beat myself up over it though and I’ll start fresh tomorrow. It’s just frustrating when I’m doing so well and then something like this happens and I feel like I’m back where I started. It doesn’t help that I’m sitting in my room doing homework on a Friday night when the rest of the world is out having fun.

Speaking of fun though–last night was a blast! I’ll try to end this post on a positive note with a cute picture of us from last night.

Oh, and the fun thing I did for myself today: Paint my nails a fun fire-engine red! SO CUTE!

13 Responses to “2 Steps Forward, 1 Step Back”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, October 17, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    Sooo glad that last night was fun!! And your new nail color sounds lovely (I looove red!!).

    Do NOT beat yourself up over the eats, Sarah – it’s over, and tomorrow is a new day. Hang in there, and stay strong!!

  2. 2 Erin Friday, October 17, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Oh honey, that happens to me about once a week. It’s not fun but our bodies can handle the occasional overload. Serious! I know it’s distressing, though. I oinked tonight too and don’t have the pictures to prove it.
    Let’s start fresh tomorrow! 🙂 You look gorgeous in that pic and I’m SO glad you did a mani. THOSE ARE THE BEST!

  3. 3 gina (fitnessista) Friday, October 17, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    i did the SAME thing today… we’ve been going through so much stress lately, and just like erin said, our bodies can handle the occasional overload. we’ll start fresh tomorrow 😀
    i love the pic- you are so beautiful!

  4. 4 tryingtoheal Friday, October 17, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Ah honey! It looks like you had a great time with your friends last night! you look so happy!

    I hope that you feel better tonight and really you don’t need to beat yourself up; you felt ravenous so you ate. I was the same way yesterday after dinner; my stomach would not pipe down! i would say start tomorrow with a smile to get the day off right, but why not start with a smile RIGHT NOW?

    smile babe; we’ll be ok.

  5. 5 Olga Friday, October 17, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    I am right with you on the whole Friday night doing homework when the rest of the world is out…But it’s okay, tomorrow’s Saturday! New day, new possibilities!

  6. 6 eatingbender Saturday, October 18, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Well Sarah, it’s 12:41 am in Chicago and I am right. there. with. you. I’ve just had my last piece of pumpkin bread and I’m going to go to bed now and just be done with this day. It was fun and all, but there has been too much wine.

    Anywho, I just wanted to let you know that you’re not alone in this one, girlie! And I love the picture from last night — everyone looks gorgeous and it sounds like it was a lot of fun! And yay for fun nail colors!

    Have a better weekend!!!

  7. 7 wholefoodswholeme Saturday, October 18, 2008 at 2:47 am

    you look beautiful! honestly, as everyone says, this happens to everyone and our bodies can handle it. i hope you feel better tomorrow – hopefully your nails will cheer you up 😀 my favourite colour is red!

  8. 8 Beadie Saturday, October 18, 2008 at 7:13 am

    I’m sorry and I know how you feel. I think we just have to learn from these things. Take a moment to think about WHY it happened and know that next time, you will do better when faced with the same circumstances. Hang in there, we are all rooting for you!

  9. 9 jenngirl Saturday, October 18, 2008 at 9:49 am

    You’re doing great, the intuitive thing takes lots of practice, I hope I get there someday!

    Fun night, sounds like some HOTT nails! Happy Saturday 🙂

  10. 10 Kristie Saturday, October 18, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Don’t worry about a little slip up! You are doing well the majority of the time, so one day of a bit of extra eating is no biggie!
    And so glad to hear you guys had a fun night!
    Studying is such a drag eh? Just remember though, even though it seems like everyone might be out having fun, there are a BUNCH of people sitting at home suffering through their books right now right along with you. Myself included haha.

    PS. I really like your shirt!

  11. 11 Bridget Saturday, October 18, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    LOVE fun nail colors! I need to keep mine painted or I bite

    I think we all turn into eating machines once in a while, but its fine:)

  12. 12 Sharon Saturday, October 18, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    Ah homework, definitely know what you mean.

    My midterms are next week, so I’m hitting the books (or so, I should be! Hahah)

  13. 13 HangryPants Saturday, October 18, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Yeah, I agree! Don’t sweat it too much. It happens to me all the time, too. Well, not all the time, but ya know!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

