A Little Something

So I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and I hate that I’m wishing away so much time. I keep waiting and hoping for Thanksgiving to come, then I’ll be anticipating winter break, spring break, etc, all the way up until I finally graduate. I definitely haven’t had a great college experience and I keep telling myself to just stick it out and pretty soon ‘my life will start’ and I’ll be happy. 

But why wait? My life isn’t going to ‘start’ when I graduate, it’s already going on! Things will certainly change, and hopefully in positive ways, but I really need to work on making myself happy here and now. So, even though my situation isn’t ideal currently, I’m really going to try to make the best of what I have. 

I’ve decided to make an extra effort to do a little something every day that really makes me happy. Of course school is still my first priority, my happiness should be right up there too, and I need to focus on myself a little more.

So even though I’m swamped with work I decided to go to the library today and pick up a book to read for pleasure. I love reading, and if you’re a long-time follower of my blog you’ll remember that I was constantly reading during the summer. Getting lost in a good book is one of my favorite things to do and it has definitely been pushed to the wayside due to schoolwork. Today I picked up “I am Charlotte Simmons” and read a few chapters. It’s great so far and I definitely feel better already. I can’t wait to keep reading, so it gives me something fun to look forward to!

What are some little things you do for yourself to make you happier?

Breakfast

Another thing that made me really happy today was my delicious bowl of overnight oats made with oats, flax, fage, banana, and cinnamon. So. Freaking. Good.

Lunch

My breakfast held me over so well I wasn’t even hungry for lunch! I knew I had to eat something before yoga though so I kept it on the lighter side with just a rudi’s bagel, laughing cow cheese, and an apple.

Snack

My appetite has been so off all day and I wasn’t even hungry for my afternoon snack but I was so excited to try it that I ate it anyway. I’ve been seeing these bars all over the blogosphere and this is my first time trying them. 

People were right when they say this tastes like you’re eating a candy bar! It was pretty good but there was something about the texture that I didn’t really like. I think Clif bars are still my fave, and of course PB larabars!

Dinner

Sorry to be so repetitive but when I’m cooking for one there are always tons of leftovers. I really hate wasting food and I know that if I don’t eat my leftovers right away they are just going to sit in the fridge forever and I’ll have to throw them out. So dinner tonight was an exact repeat of last night.

In a few hours my sorority is having a little party at a local restaurant/bar–hopefully I can stay awake and fun for it. I’m such an old lady, while everyone else in college is just getting going around 1030/11 I’m ready for bed! Haha. I don’t think I’ll be drinking though because I had major work to accomplish tomorrow and a hangover is just not on the agenda. I’ll let you know if I have any good snacks though!

10 Responses to “A Little Something”


  1. 1 gina (fitnessista) Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    hey!
    i wrote about it in your last post, but i TOTALLY know how you feel (i’m waiting for this deployment time to be over), but i think it’s a great idea to do something each day that makes you happy. i think i’ll do the same 😀 i also love reading and have a few books i haven’t started yet, maybe i’ll start one tonight 😀
    hope you have fun tonight! i feel like an old lady, too. it’s 9 and i’m ready to crash!
    happy-almost-friday 😀

  2. 2 Julz Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    DOLL ❤ I know EXACTLY how you are feeling about school! I have recently been having a rough time myself with things, and often times feel like I have no purpose, which is ROUGH. I know how you feel about the repetitive motions of the day, too! And often times, I make sure to get in that EXTRA difficult task (A super challenging power vinyasa class today that I ROCKED totally made my day SO MUCH BETTER!!!), or EXTRA something special that I KNOW will heal me. It’s so important to do things FOR YOU, baby. YOu are beyond worth it and you need to feel good about yourself and your life. ❤

  3. 3 VeggieGirl Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Girl, I know how you feel – I was in the SAME predicament as you are in now about school, when I was at my previous university. I was NOT happy at all. I tried to wait it out, but after just one year there, I KNEW that I had to transfer; so I did. It ended up being one of the best decisions that I have ever made, and I LOVE my current university 🙂 Hang in there, and definitely live in the moment!!

    To make myself feel happier, I spend time with the ones I love the most, and engage in my favorite activities (baking, cooking, dancing, walking, yoga, reading magazines/novels, listening to music, etcetera).

    No bar beats the Larabar, in my opinion 🙂

    Have fun at the party!!

  4. 4 Erin Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    I think this is excellent and I love that you had a turnaround in your point of view. Way to be an agent for change in your own life. You definitely have the power to make the situation better and I love that you see that!
    I totally understand. I left the beautiful city of Portland, where absolutley everything is perfect, to basically go back in time 25 years to this po-dunk town for 5+ years of 12 hours days and very challenging work. But I don’t regret it at all! I really do believe that self-care is the most important care.
    Ways that I practice this might sound superficial to some people but they bring me GREAT joy!
    1) Playing around with my hair, makeup, and outfits in the morning. I like to have fun with my appearance and keep things interesting. It reflects my fun spirit!
    2) Make people laugh. I don’t censor myself anymore and love to make fun of myself – and others!
    3) Take time at night to read blogs, eat trail mix, and breathe.
    4) Explore the po-dunk. It’s really fun,t he people who live here are interesting, and I see the craziest shit! For example, I parked tonight and noticed a guy riding horseback down the street. Just a typical night in the country!
    I know this was really long, but I just wanted to share that I understand and that it IS possible to find happiness in the most unlikely of situations and places. Like Julz said, you deserve the best and you can give it to yourself!

  5. 5 Rose Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Way to go, girl – live in the moment! It’s so easy to wish life away, especially with planned holidays in the future. Sometimes it’s really hard for me to live in the moment because my life is almost too planned – there is no time for anything extra. I’ve been trying really hard to do something for myself each day too – most of it involves exercise because that’s the one thing I let go when school and work are killing me.

    I’m so happy you had time to read a book today for enjoyment … it’s been too long since I’ve done that – perhaps I’ll go off right now??

  6. 6 jenngirl Thursday, October 16, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    What a wonderful post! You made such a good point, I’m definitely going to keep that in mind. I love reading to, and I’d have to say that it is definitely something I do each night before bed that makes me happy. I’m going to try and think of more things though!

    I am the same way. I always get made fun of for an early bedtime, but the truth is, I FEEL so much better when I’ve gotten a good night’s sleep. I hate dragging my feet to class. I consider myself to be saving it all up for the weekend 😉

    Have a great night/morning! 🙂

  7. 7 eatingbender Friday, October 17, 2008 at 12:44 am

    I am really glad that you decided to grab life by the horns (cheesy expression!) and do something you truly enjoy. I remember very well how much you loved reading during the summertime, and can’t think of a better way for you to have some “me” time. Now I need to take a page out of your book (haha, I guess I’m on a roll with these expressions) and STOP moping around like I’m helpless. Thanks for the wake up call!

    Those overnight oats look so scrumptious!! In fact, once I finish commenting, I’m going to go and make some for myself for breakfast tomorrow!

    Thanks for the review on the Pure Protein bar. To be honest, I wasn’t too sure I would like ’em, and since we have similar tastes, I’ll trust your judgment.

    I hope you had fun tonight!! I totally agree that 10:30/11 is bedtime 🙂 But sometimes it’s worth it to stay up a little later!

    Have a great Friday!

  8. 8 Caroline Friday, October 17, 2008 at 12:48 am

    I am the same way about wishing my life away–I start a Christmas countdown 100 days out! I need to take a tip from you and focus more on the present and enjoy it for what it is.

    I am Charlotte Simmons is one of my favorite books! I promise Duke is not really like that though:)

    Everything looks delicious, as usual!

  9. 9 Beadie Friday, October 17, 2008 at 9:27 am

    Hooray for making yourself happy now!

  10. 10 blueberryhil Friday, October 17, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    You have no idea how much reading this post lifted my spirits. You’re aboslutely right…life is going on right now. I have to struggle to remember that sometimes.

    Things that I do to make myself happy? Find a beautiful quiet spot to journal, sit in a coffee shop and people watch, get together with a friend and just talk, go on a good long walk…those are some of my favorites


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

