Short and Sweet

Gotta let the pictures do most of the talking tonight because I still have MAJOR work to get through tonight if I have any hopes of sleeping. And you know what the saddest part is—this is my “easy week” for all of October. Blech.

Breakfast

WAFFLE TOWER. With red pear. Amazing.

Lunch

Leftover Annie’s Mac & Cheese with a salmon pouch. The mac & cheese wasn’t nearly as good reheated but this kept me full all afternoon!

Snack

I decided to give my legs a break from running today and went to a yoga class instead. It felt wonderful. My nose is super runny though so that did make for some pretty uncomfortable downward facing dogs.

After yoga I snacked on some dried fruit trail mix. So good.

Dinner

I met some friends in the dining hall and had a big salad and an apple. This doesn’t even come close to the wonderful WF salad bars. It was quite a disappointment.

Sorry for the crappy picture, I was eating with friends so I had to be super stealthy with my picture snapping. This brings me to my…

Question of the Day!!!

Who knows about your blog? For me, it’s just my immediate family who knows. How do you explain it to people? Do you ever have to take stealthy pictures like I did–any tips? 

Dessert

I made myself a little platter of snacks to eat throughout the night while doing my insane amounts of work. I like making little platters like this because it allows for lots of little bites and variety. Hopefully this will keep me going until the wee hours.

See you tomorrow for an extremely busy day.

10 Responses to “Short and Sweet”


  1. 1 Josie Monday, October 6, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    I’m too embarassed to tell my friends about my blog. My immediate family knows and they think it’s pretty sweet 😉 But I’m not sure how my friends would judge me…or if they would judge me. Honestly, I hope they never find out. Food is a passion of mine and none of my friends understand that. They’re the kind of people who go on ridiculous carb-only diets, or just don’t eat at all…and make funny faces at me when I actually eat. I love ’em, but they just wouldn’t understand my joy in yummy, substantial food! Haha I sound like such a nerd now so I’m gonna be quiet.

    To answer your other question, I’ve never tried to take a stealthy picture, but you should have seen the look on my sister’s face when I first snapped a picture of my food in front of her! “What the heck…”

  2. 2 Erin Monday, October 6, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Such a cute dessert plate! My family knows about the blog, and so do some friends in Portland, but no one here. They think I’m crazy enough as it is.

  3. 3 eatingbender Monday, October 6, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    For some reason that waffle tower is looking extra luscious today. Nice!

    We’ve had this convo before, but my family knows about the blog + Bobby and my roommate. I also randomly told one of my guy friends once, but that was a mistake because now he always asks me “Why?” and I hate it. Ugh. So I have definitely done the stealth picture (especially in the past two weeks), but I haven’t been able to post my meals, which is why you haven’t seen the stealth in all its glory!

  4. 4 Nicole Monday, October 6, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Hooray waffle tower!

    Most people I know are aware I have a blog. I spread the link around as much as I can, haha. My mother has also passed my link around to my entire family who then emailed it to more of the family, who passed it on to their friends and family, so now everyone knows! More readers, woo!

  5. 5 Melissa S. Monday, October 6, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    great innovation using the cupcake wrapper to put your trail mix in!! GENIUS!!!

    my immediate family knows but doesn’t really care, so they never check the blog…i have one cousin who found mine, and another I told it about. Otherwise my co-workers and roomie know and think i’m kinda crazy for it. and as far as taking pictures in front of people who don’t know about the blog, or trying to be stealthy…i simply tell them the truth and if they want to make fun of me, let em! i have fun with it!!!

    good luck studying tonight!

  6. 6 fitnessista Monday, October 6, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    good luck with everything you’ve got going on this week, too! we need to celebrate when it’s all over! when are your midterms done?? my last one is a week from this thursday! ughhhh
    i love that you put your trail mix in a cupcake wrapper- so cute! i color-code my planner too 😀
    have a great night!

  7. 7 jenngirl Monday, October 6, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Yummy eats! and yay for waffle towers!!

    I have a really hard time telling people about my blog, my mom knows, but I haven’t fully explained it to her, because once I mentioned the word “blog”, I think I kinda lost her. None of my friends know either, because as Josie stated in her comment, they just wouldn’t understand my passion for healthy living and eating. I really don’t like having this part of my life a secret, but I have NO idea how to bring it up in conversation. Like the boy I’m dating, I don’t know what he would think of the blog, and I can’t tell him anyway until he knows about my past. I wish that it didn’t have to seem like such a strange thing to outsiders, but I guess this is just a part of our lives that is a bit different.

    As far as stealthy pics, I’ve been known to use my Blackberry on occasion (it looks like texting) and then email to myself from there 😉

    Have a good night!

  8. 8 VeggieGirl Tuesday, October 7, 2008 at 7:49 am

    WAFFLE TOWER!!! Holy yum.

    Literally everyone knows about my blog, and they’re the ones who encourage me the most to keep taking photos, writing, blogging about it, etc. Just have fun with it!! 🙂

    Good luck with your busy Tuesday, Sarah!!

  9. 9 Kristie Tuesday, October 7, 2008 at 8:56 am

    That waffle tower looks quite incredible. 🙂

    I hear ya on reheating mac + cheese. It’s just never as good. When I reheat it, or at least when I did in the past, I used to add in some light cheez whiz… I know, not exactly the HEALTHIEST alternative (or really anywhere near healthy…) but it made the leftovers SO SO good. I wonder if there’s a healthier but similar option? Heh.

    I feel like all of my eating consists of little variety platters. I feel like I can’t eat a meal, a snack, NOTHING unless it has a good amount of variety in it haha

    As for those who know about the blog, mainly just my immediate family members, my grandparents, aunt… I think I mentioned it to one friend too but that’s it. I eat most of my food at home so I don’t often have to worry about stealthy pictures but otherwise I typically just don’t take them… often it’s just a snack or something anyway and I don’t even bother photographing the majority of those. Someday maybe I’ll get more comfortable with the whole snapping in public thing. I love photography! And food! It shouldn’t be an embarassing hobby… too bad people are just too darn nosy 😉

  10. 10 Mel Tuesday, October 7, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    That waffle tower looks so yummy!

    As for those who know about my blog, just my boyfriend, who was the one who started the photos of all of the different meals. But then again, I just started my blog too!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

