All Around Boston

What a great day I had! We were total tourists and made our way all over the city. It was great because I definitely don’t get to explore Boston as much as I would like when I’m at school. It’s definitely fall here though–it was very chilly out. I love fall but at the same time it makes me sad about what’s to come—the dreaded never-ending New England winter.

Breakfast

I woke up this morning groggy due to my use of Tylenol Cold PM and definitely not feeling my best. I didn’t even have much of an appetite. Now, that’s when you know I’m sick—when I don’t even feel like eating, something is seriously wrong! I just kept breakfast light with some fruit, yogurt, and COFFEE.

My mom and I took part in the #1 touristy activity of all time: DUCK TOURS. How embarrassing, but SO SO fun! Luckily we didn’t see anyone we knew!

Here’s a pretty view of Boston I took while floating along on the Charles river. I had such a good time (despite the awkward quacking that our guide made us do at random people on the street). I learned a lot too—like did you know that prisoners used to be fed lobsterย so often that a law was passed limiting it to 2 days per week!

Lunch

The Duck Tour boarded/unloaded at the museum of science so we decided to use our coupon from the tour and eat lunch there. The salad bar was awesome! I’ve been spoiled with these great salad bars lately that it will definitely be a disappointment going to back to the one at the dining hall. I only ate about 1/3 of the roll but devoured every bite of the yummy salad!

After lunch we headed over to Newbury Street to do some window shopping and drool over all the gorgeous stores. I did end up making out with a new North Face jacket—the college staple. I buy the kid’s size and it’s about half the price of adults which makes it very reasonable. The stuff here is such good quality that I don’t mind spending (my parents) money on it, haha. It’s green and pink and I LOVE IT!!!! I asked my mom to take a picture but she still doesn’t understand digital cameras (you don’t have to look in the peephole….) so it’s not so great. The jacket is super cute though, yay!

After our shopping adventure we headed a little outside the city to Sharon, MA for a little family reunion. We went to my cousin’s house and spent some time with him, his wife and 3 kids, and my aunt and uncle. It was nice to see everyone but I wasn’t feeling great at this point and then found out they have a cat (which I’m allergic to) so needless to say, my respiratory system wasn’t too happy. It was fun to see them though, and my cousin, who is an 8-time marathoner gave me some great tips!

Dinner

For dinner we went into Harvard Square and at at John Harvards. I love this place, it has a great atmosphere and great food. I’m not a fan of beer but I hear that’s good too!

Of course I had some of the fresh, warm bread that was brought to the table. I hadn’t eaten since lunch and was finally starting to feel better (yay for having an appetite again!) so I happily gobbled up a slice.

For my meal I ordered the Mediterranean Lentil & Hummus Salad:ย Green lentils, roasted portabella mushrooms, baby lettuces, feta cheese, artichokes, Kalamata olives, pita bread and creamy hummus.ย 

SO GOOD. This was seriously delicious, and I will definitely try to re-create it on my own. My only complaint was that the pita was dry and cold so I didn’t eat it. I always forget how much I love lentils–I need to eat them more often!

Dessert

Obviously my mom couldn’t leave Boston without having JP Licks ice cream! This place is awesome, they have so many interesting and delicious flavors! For my “treat” I tasted the Oreo Cake Batter, and almost died it was so good. I should have just gone for it and ordered it, but instead I tried to be a little healthier and went with the hard frozen yogurt: mix of coffee chip and oatmeal cookie. I was feeling indulgent so I added some chocolate sprinkles : ) And of course I ate it with my tiny sample spoon to slow myself down. This was so delicious! The portions are huge though, and even though I got a small it was A. LOT. I need to remember to get a kiddie next time! Yummmmm.

We got back to the hotel and I was feeling SO much better. I had a lot of energy and after talking to my cousin about the marathon earlier I was really in the mood for a run. So, despite the fact that it was 9:45 I put on my new workout gear and headed down to the hotel gym for a quick 3 mi run. It felt great.

Now I’m exhausted–it’s definitely bedtime. Tomorrow is going to suck. I have to say goodbye to my mom (till Thanksgiving!) early in the morning and then have SO. MUCH. HOMEWORK. I haven’t done anything this weekend so it’s going to be a loooooong day in the library. Sigh.

Night guys!

15 Responses to “All Around Boston”


  1. 1 Julz Saturday, October 4, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Sar you’re too cute. PURRYOD. FEEL BETTER my little Babushka!!! I’m sending MOUNDS of healthy yummy vibes YOUR way! Get that appetite back! That’s DEF when I know I’m sick.. Although, even when I’m sick I still am always hungry ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. 2 fitnessista Saturday, October 4, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    i LOVE everything about this post! the yogurt, jacket (i buy kids size’s too) and the DUCK TOURS! i haven’t done that since sophomore year in hs, but boston is amazing.
    good luck with all of your hw– i have a ton too ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    hope you feel 100% tomorrow!!!

  3. 3 Erin Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 12:00 am

    You look so cute in your little jacket. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your dinner really does look yummy! Why couldn’t they have softened the pita up a little? I don’t get it.
    Have a good sleep!

  4. 4 anna Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 12:31 am

    wow your jacket it’s so cute i canยดt believe it’s for kids you must be so skinny

    btw your dinner looks awesome i can’t wait for your recreation i know it will be a lot better ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5 kate Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 12:33 am

    a stupid question do you need to be below a size 0 to wear kids clothes?

  6. 6 eatingbender Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 1:08 am

    You’re so cute in that jacket – I love the North Face!! It’s a total college staple, you’re so right ๐Ÿ™‚

    What a fun day out with your mom! I love the “duck” tours – I’ve never heard of those before. I’ve never been to Boston (I know, I should change that right?!), but it looks like a fabulous city. I really would love to try J.P. Lick’s!!

    That lentil and hummus salad looks scrumptious!!

    Glad to hear you got some running tips…and I hope you feel 100% better very soon!

    Enjoy your Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. 7 wholefoodswholeme Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 2:51 am

    actually, we saw a duck tour bus in central london the other day and my mum said, “i really want to go on one of those one day” and i agreed, so… completely not embarassing! boston sounds amazing, and i’m so glad you got your appetite back ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. 8 VeggieGirl Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 7:35 am

    FAAAAAAABULOUS day, indeed!! You made me miss Boston so much (since I used to reside there)!!!

    Love your new coat; and nice choice on dinner!! I’m craving that Mediterranean Lentil & Hummus Salad now, haha ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck with your homework!!

  9. 9 Hangry Pants Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Sounds like such a fun day. Ya know, minus the cat allergy!

    There was a John Harvard’s near my college and I used to go a lot. I always got the smashed potatoes with the garlic and the skins! Yum.

    Good luck with homework today!

  10. 10 Sarah Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Anna and Kate,
    The only real difference between a kids L or XL and an adult XS or S is the length of the sleeves and the shoulder width. Since it’s a jacket it’s bigger overall and has lots of room. I can get away with wearing a kids size because I’m so short! So no, you definitely don’t have to be below a size 0 for it to fit–I got my first kids one when I was a size 6+.

  11. 11 Christie I Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 8:56 am

    The pink bus is too cute. Looks like an awesome day!

  12. 12 jenngirl Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 9:27 am

    good luck with the homework today, I’m in the same boat. I’ve done next to nothing this weekend school-wise, so today I’m hittin the books. Don’t worry about saying goodbye to your mom, Thanksgiving will be here before we know it! Have a great day! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. 13 Caroline Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 9:54 am

    What a delicious day of touring the city!
    I do the same thing when I buy my North Face goods–it makes so much more sense!

  14. 14 Sarah's Mom Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Sarah, what a fun weekend we had. I miss you already! Sorry about my picture taking ability. Root for the Steelers tonight, we need this win. Love you, Mom

  15. 15 Kristie Monday, October 6, 2008 at 9:31 am

    That Duck Tours bus is pure class ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Nice jacket, nice colour! Good call on buying the kids size, never thought of that!

    That salad sounds purely amazing. I know I could completely love it. Even though I’ve never had lentils. I really need to get around to trying those. Mmmm.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

