Feeling Better

Thanks for all the good vibes you guys sent my way–I’m definitely feeling better today than I was last night. I tend to let a bunch of little things build up, get really stressed out, and then blow everything out of proportion. Hopefully everything will work out in the end. After a good cry to my mom on the phone and some emotional eating I HATE when that happens : ( I tried to just go to bed but ended up tossing and turning all night. Sometime in the middle of the night I made the wise decision to turn off my alarm and just let myself sleep in this morning. Of course my internal alarm didn’t agree and I was up at 7:30. Blech.

Pre-workoutย 

Since I was up early and couldn’t fall back to sleep I decided to take out my anxiety in the form of a run. It was amazing and as soon as I started running, I instantly felt better. The delicious clif mini probably helped to improve my mood as well seeing as it’s just so yummy!

Breakfast

Since I’m sure you are all bored with my usual cereal breakfast I decided to mix things up a bit with the picture. I love learning little tid-bits about my blogging buds, so I thought I’d let you into my life a bit more too! Here is my breakfast sitting with my teddy bear!ย My grandpa gave him to me when I was a really little girl and I sleep with him every night. Some may say he’s ‘dirty’ but I always insist that he just looks ‘loved’. When I was little, I actually refused to let my parents wash him because I thought it would ‘wash the love out of him.’ Don’t worry—I DO shower (love doesn’t wash out of humans, duh).

Lunch

Simple hummus/laughing cow/veggie sandwich with a GINORMOUS apple. And a chocolate rice cake for my sweet tooth!

Snacks

Popcorn while doing some (boring) studying.

I attended a lecture tonight called “Challenges and Opportunities for Religious Freedom in Multilateral Fora” which was really interesting. It started at 6 so I brought some trail mix with me to tide me over until dinner.

Dinner

I finally finished up my Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato soup (something else to add to my grocery list!) and on the side I had a Healthy Choice Tomato, Mozzarella, and Chicken Panini. It was pretty good, but not the best in the panini line. I had it open-faced in my attempt to slow down my eating. I still gobbled it down pretty quickly though!

Dessert

Fruity yogurt—I really need more Fage in my life, this just doesn’t compare— and a delicious pear while writing an essay.

Question

I have a question for all of you—how long do you go between eating? I used to be able to go a really long time between meals (like 5-6 hours) but recently I’ve been getting hungry every 3-4 hours and when my hunger hits, it hits HARD. Sometimes I get weak, irritable, etc. It’s so weird. Does this happen to anyone else?ย 

I hope everyone had a great day–it’s almost, almost the weekend!

8 Responses to “Feeling Better”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Sooo glad that you’re feeling better – just take things slow, and stay positive!!

    CUUUUTE teddy bear!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I go about 3-4 hours between eating. I try not to go longer, since I need the energy/fuel for dance practices and such.

    The weekend WILL be here soon!! Don’t fret!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. 2 Erin Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    I eat every 2-4 hours on average. Best for the metabolism. Keeps the blood sugar from crashing. If I don’t eat…hangriness happens. Not good for my marriage! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m glad you feel better.
    We are sisters. We both love trail mix and highlighters. I have an old dirty teddy bear too.

  3. 3 jenngirl Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Glad you’re feeling better! I am exactly the same way, I let everything build up and stress me out, but there’s nothing like a good cry on the phone with mom to help with problems ๐Ÿ™‚

    I probably eat every 2-3 hours, I like this because I’m never really starving for a meal, and my energy tends to stay pretty consistent throughout the day. It’s taken me a few months to find this balance, but it really feels the best for me now that I’ve found it.

  4. 4 Hangry Pants Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    With student teaching I go several hours between breakfast and lunch, but then after lunch I have a snack two hours later and then dinner about 3-4 hours later.

  5. 5 hk Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    2-4 hours, like clockword for me!!

  6. 6 Melissa S. Wednesday, October 1, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    hey sarah, glad to hear you’re feeling better! and just remember, you get to see your mom AND get groceries this weekend! yay!!!

    Oh, and your teddy bear is so cute!!!

    As far as how often I eat, it depends. I try to listen to my body’s hunger groans, but it usually doesn’t happen because i’ll either get a hunger headache first or just become a complete pain in the glutious because my mood goes to mush. booo…so i try to eat around every 2-4 hrs.

    Cheers babe! weekend is almost here!

  7. 7 Christie I Thursday, October 2, 2008 at 9:02 am

    I am trying to get on the every three hours schedule because my hypoglycemia is coming back with only eating every 4-6 hours.

  8. 8 eatingbender Thursday, October 2, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    I know we’ve talked about this before, but I too sleep with my teddy ๐Ÿ™‚ It was so wonderful to get a chance to see yours!! Perhaps I’ll take a picture of mine sometime…he’s “loved” too, haha!! Glad to hear you shower, too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I completely vary from day to day on my eating. Some days I can go 5 hours without flinching, and others I am ravenous after even 2 hours!! I’ve given up on trying to figure it out because no matter what I do, it’s always different – even if I eat the same exact foods!!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

