Studious Sunday

Hi everyone! I hope you all had amazing weekends! Now it’s back to the grind. Like 99% of my Sundays during the semester, I spent the majority of the day in the library. Blech. At least I had some awesome food today to keep my going!

Breakfast

My plan was a success last night, I got cozy in my bed, read a little, and fell asleep early. It was amazing. Since I went to bed so early I was up bright and early (well early—not so bright seeing as it was STILL stormy and gloomy outside!) this morning ready to take on the day.

I was also starving when I got up and was so glad to have my favorite breakfast: overnight oats. This was the usual oats soaked with water and flax then combined with cinnamon, yogurt, and banana. This is so unbelievable, I could probably eat it for every meal and be quite content. 

Today was my first long run of my training program so Brittany (my training partner) and I pounded out 6 miles. We finished in 57:30 and felt great the whole time! It was a long run but definitely manageable, I didn’t feel like I was going to die, which is always a plus. I really have problems with pacing though, and I know that as I go longer distances I’m really going to have to work on slowing down. It’s a little scary though because although 6 miles was definitely doable, on race day I’m still going to have 20.2 MILES to go after that point. Yikes! I just need to not think about that yet, and take it one mile at a time.

Lunch

After I showered and before holing myself away in the libs I had some lunch: my leftover grilled chicken salad from last night along with the last of my Kashi crackers (mostly crumbles) and a sweet pear. Mmm mmm. Refueling is definitely the best part of running : )

Snacks

I packed up some snackies to take with me to the library: almonds and a Kashi granola bar.

Whenever I finish a task I reward myself with a little treat. I guess that makes me sort of like a dog, haha. 

Dinner

Seeing as it’s been so dreary outside I knew I needed a comforting meal for dinner. I definitely succeeded! I had a grilled turkey and cheese sandwich alongside a big bowl of Pacific Brand Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup. SO GOOD! This is one of my favorite soups, it has a little kick from the red pepper and is just so creamy, comforting, and healthy! The perfect combination. I ate this while finally watching Grey’s Anatomy…it definitely helped relieve some stress.

Dessert

Obviously my sweet tooth kicked in and I had some trail mix (the pb chips are definitely the best part!) And I plan on having the kettle corn in a little bit while I read about how economic integration influences foreign direct investment. What fun!

Tomorrow is Rosh Hashana—the Jewish New Year! I have a super busy day and will be heading over to Hillel for services and dinner tomorrow night so I won’t be able to take a picture of my dinner but I’ll let you know what we have! 

I hope everyone has a not-too-painful Monday!

8 Responses to “Studious Sunday”


  1. 1 Erin Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Good job on your run today Sarah!
    I can’t imagine running for an hour. Misery! I’m so glad you love it so much. 🙂
    Lovin’ the overnight oats.

  2. 2 Nicole Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Kettle corn and chocolate chips are the best combo ever! You should eat them together haha! I had two bags of kettle corn and chocolate chips today, it was too good!

    Awesome job on your run! You can do 20 miles, I know it!

  3. 3 fitnessista Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    what a great run! slowing down is a problem for me too.. i usually start way too fast and am dying after a few miles! i ran with some friends today and they helped me keep a good pace. i’m running a half marathon in march but after hearing your experience i think i’ll be motivated to do a full one 😀
    the peanut butter chips are DEFINITELY the best part about trail mix and i looove having popcorn for a nighttime snack!
    hope you enjoy the rest of your studious sunday 😀
    and have a wonderful rosh hashana

  4. 4 Melissa S. Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    i’m glad you got a lot of work done today despite the weather! that would have made me want to sleep even more…;P

    and this might sound retarded, but when you make your overnight oats, do you have to cook them at all in the morning!? everyone talks about having them but i never know if you guys actually cook them or not!! hahah…i feel so stupid asking that!

    have a good night! and i’m glad you had a great run!

  5. 5 jenngirl Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Sounds like you are taking your race training at a really good pace, don’t get scared, you CAN do it!! 🙂

    I wish I had been that productive school-wise this weekend, I’m just not very motivated haha

    Have fun tomorrow night, that sounds like a pretty cool celebration, can’t wait to hear about it!

  6. 6 Sarah Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Melissa,

    no cooking involved! Just soak 1/2 c old fashioned oats with 1 T ground flax, pinch of salt (i usually forget this though) and 1/2 c water.

    The oats with absorb most of the water overnight but there may still be a tiny bit left. They get nice and chewy!

    Then in the morning stir in banana, cinnamon, yogurt, and whatever other mix-ins you’d like. I’ve heard of people adding PB which I definitely need to try, and I bet adding some dried fruit (raisins or cranberries) would add an amazing texture to it too.

    Enjoy!

  7. 7 eatingbender Sunday, September 28, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Your overnight oats look so amazing! I need to keep working on mine so they can look as delectable as yours 🙂

    Wow, congrats to you on pumping out 6 miles! Honestly, I am super impressed! Today my roomie and I went out on a 2.5 mile run and it’s still a challenge for me. Baby steps, I suppose!

    I loooove that soup! It’s definitely one of my favorites. And great idea to combine it with grilled turkey and cheese! I haven’t had that in ages – perfect for dipping!

    I hope you enjoy your Monday!

  8. 8 Meghann Monday, September 29, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    I really want to try the Kashi Pumpkin Flas bar but for somereason can not find it where I live. It sounds like something right up my ally though 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

