Weekend!!

Happy Friday everyone! Hopefully the weather where you are is nicer than it is here—it’s rainy and cold. Boo. I really hope it clears up because tomorrow is Homecoming and tailgating in the rain does not seem like my idea of fun.

Anyway, sorry for the delayed post. Here are (some) of my eats from yesterday.Β 

Breakfast

I started the morning off with my new favorite breakfast—OVERNIGHT OATS. I just discovered the magic of these recently and cannot believe I waited so long to try them. They’re SO good! The night before I just combined 1/2c oats with 1 T flax and 1/2 c water. Then, in the morning I stirred in yogurt, banana and cinnamon. This is so creamy and delicious-I’m obsessed.

Lunch

I was really craving waffles after seeing pretty much everyone eating them the past few days so I mixed things up a bit and had some waffles with PB and cottage cheese before heading off to yoga.

Snack

A delicious apple.

Dinner

A huge, colorful salad with tuna and some rice cakes.

Senior Pub Night

And now the reason that I didn’t get a post up last night, and don’t have pictures of all of my food—last night was the first Senior Pub Night of the year. Basically our school rents out a club in Boston for the night and then carts off a bunch of drunk seniors in school buses back and forth. Let’s just say it’s quite a interesting night…

Before we left we headed over to one of our friends’ houses and I had 2 gin/tonics using this:

I’m such a lightweight that 2 drinks really did me in–I was definitely feeling it. I didn’t actually drink anything at the club because honestly $12/drink is OUT OF CONTROL. I’d rather save my money for more important things—-like trips to Whole Foods ; )

All in all the night wasn’t that fun. The club was just SO crowded and SO loud and the strobe lights were really getting to me. Also the music sucked. Really, clubbing just isn’t my thing.Β 

When we got home I was still a little buzzed and was HUNGRY. I then proceeded to drunkenly make my way through my trail mix and rice cakes, obviously not thinking about my camera. I’m really disappointed that I did this. I know that I eat really healthily the majority of the time and one night isn’t going to have any ill-effects but I just hate when I splurge on things that I don’t even enjoy. I would much rather go overboard with a delicious dinner and huge slice of cake than my mindlessly stuffing trail mix in my face without even tasting it. Boo.Β 

And there you have it. Today should include much less debauchery, so I’ll see you all later with some more food!

7 Responses to “Weekend!!”


  1. 1 Erin Friday, September 26, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I’m glad you ate when you got home, because I bet you prevented a hangover.
    I used to LOVE Tanqueray and tonic when I went out for drinks! It’s good.
    Clubs annoy me too. Actually, I don’t know that I’ve ever been to one.
    How was yoga?

  2. 2 jenngirl Friday, September 26, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    I’ve got to try overnight oats soon! And since your waffle-tower idea was such a success, I have no doubt I’ll be utilizing your method for the oats πŸ˜‰

    Ooo PUB NIGHT!! Fun fun, don’t feel bad about some late night munchies, you know you were staying up later, and the crowded atmosphere definitely calls for some much needed energy replenishing. Enjoy your Friday/weekend!! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Nicole Friday, September 26, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    Hooray Friday! Overnight oats sound delish!

    I love the apple photo!

  4. 4 Jordan Friday, September 26, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    $12 a drink?!?! What the crap? The most I’ve EVER seen them is $8. Wow. That’s outrageous.

  5. 5 Kristie Friday, September 26, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    I never make overnight oats. What is WRONG with me??

    I cannot BELIEVE they were charging $12 for drinks. That’s insane. What kind of drinks were they serving? They better have been some insanely fancy drinks. With triple shots in them. Geez.

    Your night sounds a bit like mine. I went out last night for a friend’s birthday. We went clubbing. Although I enjoy clubbing so I had a good time. We didn’t have any crazy strobe lights or anything at the club I went to either. Although I’ve been to ones with them before. Those are CRAZY. And then I did the whole go home and drunkenly devour the kitchen thing too. I always just eat whatever I can get my hands on. Even though I’m not hungry. And can’t even really taste half of what I’m eating anyway. I really hate when I do that. Next time I’ll have to try and use your logic and maybe even tell myself that if I resist the urge, I’ll splurge on a delicious dessert the next day or something. Could work. Although using that kind of logic when intoxicated is just a tad difficult. Sigh.

  6. 6 VeggieGirl Friday, September 26, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Ahh, so sorry about the horrid weather 😦 But HOORAY FOR FRIDAY!!!! πŸ™‚

    Overnight oats + waffles with peanut butter + apple + colorful salad = YUM!!!!

    Gorgeous sunflowers!!

    “I’d rather save my money for more important thingsβ€”-like trips to Whole Foods” HAHA!! Good call, for sure!! πŸ˜€

    Enjoy the rest of your Friday!!

  7. 7 eatingbender Saturday, September 27, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Hurray for overnight oats! Thank you so much for introducing me πŸ™‚

    Woah, $12/drink?! That’s insane!! I’m sorry it wasn’t all that great at the pub, either. I totally know how you feel about the loud music and crowds. But the interesting thing about that is that I think it happens to almost everyone once they reach senior year — I was talking to a guy about it the other day, and he was a total partier at the beginning of college. But he said that he went to our senior pub night and he couldn’t stand it. I was like “THANK YOU!!!!” πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

