Good Day

Overall today has been a great day–especially for a Monday! I have been pretty tired though, so hopefully it will be an early night tonight.

Preworkout

I almost always wake up before my alarm but for the first time this semester I was jolted awake at 7:45 by the beeping. I was so close to just going back to sleep for another hour or so (I don’t have class until 10:30) but then I remembered that I have my new shoes waiting for me which got me out of bed in a flash, I was so excited to run! I had my usual mini clif bar as a pre-workout snack.

It was SUCH a great run! The weather cooled down significantly which definitely helped, and my new shoes are AMAZING. I felt like I was flying. I actually had my best time too–3.12 mi in 27:09 which worked out to an 8:43 min/mi. I know I say this a lot but I am so proud of how far I’ve come in my running. A little over a year ago I could barely run 5 minutes at an 11 min/mi without having to stop so it makes me so happy to see how much I’ve improved. I felt great the whole time and could have easily gone for longer but I’m trying to stick to my training plan so 3 miles it was. I’m already looking forward to Wednesday when I can run again!

Breakfast

For breakfast I had the usual cereal with banana, skim, and flax. Nothing new or exciting there.

Lunch

It definitely felt like Fall today! One thing I do like about the cooler weather is that I can have soup for lunch. I really love soup–it’s so filling and comforting, but I always feel silly eating it in the summer. Today I had a can of Amy’s Split Pea soup (SO good!) with some veggies and Kashi crackers. It was perfect.

Presents!

Look what came for me today!

Last week I decided to accept my job offer!!!!! I am BEYOND EXCITED about it. It’s an amazing opportunity and I am really interested in the work I’ll be doing. I am an international relations and economics double major and seeing as the Finance industry is not doing so well right now I’m so lucky to have found the perfect job! It’s a relief knowing that I have something lined up for when I graduate (although it has resulted in some serious senioritis kicking in already, and it’s only September!).Β 

Anyway, my parents sent me some beautiful flowers to congratulate me on deciding to take the job. This seriously helped brighten my day–thanks guys!

Snacks

I packed up a bunch of snacks to get me through work and some homework. I had a pear, a caramel rice cake, and some dried edamame. This stuff is seriously awesome. It has such great flavor and crunch and 1/4 packs in 14g protein and 8g fiber for just 130 calories. I’m officially obsessed!

Dinner

I definitely feel like a college student with my go-to pasta dinner! I told you it would become a regular– it’s just so quick and easy to make, delicious, healthy, filling, and I need to use up the jar of tomato sauce before it goes bad! This time I used some salmon-in-a-pouch as my protein source. Mmm mmm.

Dessert

For my sweet treat tonight I had some frozen berries with whipped cream (duh!) and some organic dark chocolate filled with mint. So good!

Ok, I’m off to write a paper and then I have a sorority thing at 10. See you all tomorrow!

11 Responses to “Good Day”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Monday, September 22, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Hooray for a great Monday, amazing running shoes, and delicious eats!! πŸ™‚

    Good luck writing your paper!!

  2. 2 Erin Monday, September 22, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    It’s great that you’re so proud of your running. That seems impossible to me. I’m in awe. CONGRATULATIONS ON THE JOB FRONT! That’s awesome news.
    I wish I could find dried edamame here, it sounds yummy!
    Have fun tonight!

  3. 3 Melissa S. Monday, September 22, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    wow! such a wonderful day you had! good run! accepting the job! getting congratulatory flowers! and mint chocolate for dessert!!!!

    [[[hugs hugs hugs…jump up and down in the process]]]

    have a great night!

  4. 4 wholefoodswholeme Tuesday, September 23, 2008 at 3:29 am

    congratulations on the job! how fantastic. i also wanted to ask you, is your HRM good? i’ve been looking around and researching for one.

  5. 5 Hangry Pants Tuesday, September 23, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Congrats on the job! Senioritis well earned. πŸ™‚

  6. 7 Sarah Tuesday, September 23, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Mi,
    I like my HRM so far but I really don’t have anything to compare it to so I’m not sure if it’s better than others. It’s a Polar F6 and really I just liked it because it’s pink!

  7. 8 Christie I Tuesday, September 23, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Beautiful flowers, congrats on the JOB!!!!

  8. 9 eatingbender Tuesday, September 23, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Wow, what a great run you had!! I am so amazed by your progress – I only hope that when I get to the point where I’m ready to start a training program, I can do half as good!

    I love Amy’s soup! Have you tried the tomato bisque? Mm, with Kashi crackers…it’s heavenly!

    OH.MY.GOSH!! Congratulations on your decision to accept the job offer!! I am so thrilled for you! And look at those gorgeous sunflowers!! Your parents must be so proud of you!! And I totally would have senioritis if I was you!

    Mmm…dark chocolate filled with mint?! Plus frozen fruit AND whipped cream?! You really know how to make your desserts πŸ™‚

    Hope you’ve been having just as good of a Tuesday as you did Monday!

  9. 10 fitnessista Tuesday, September 23, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    congrats on taking the job offer! that is so exciting and your flowers are beautiful!!
    what an amazing run!! the cool weather has definitely been a bonus when it comes to running πŸ˜€
    that is not a typical college pasta dish– the salmon and veggies in it looks divine!!! i love the whipped cream with the fruit, too πŸ˜€
    hope you have fun tonight!!!
    can i just say again how happy i am that you’re back to blogging??!?

  10. 11 fitnessista Tuesday, September 23, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    edited to say: congrats on ACCEPTING the job offer!!
    i knew you were already offered the job.. you know what i mean πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

