Oh, Sundays

Sundays are always a little bittersweet. They’re great because it’s the weekend and there are no classes, but at the same time they’re so stressful because I realize how much stuff I need to get done before the week starts up again! Today was go-go-go like all Sundays and I definitely will sleep well tonight! I’m exhausted.

Breakfast

I knew I needed a big breakfast to power me through my run later in the morning. I had my “miracle bowl” of yogurt, fruit, cereal, and flax. It worked its magic, like always.

Lunch

I was in a “snack-y” sort of mood when I got home so I decided to make a little platter of food for lunch. I had some cottage cheese, kashi honey sesame crackers (my favorite!), Quaker nacho rice cakes (these are SO GOOD! They seriously taste just like Doritos!), veggies, and an apple. This was perfect and took me a long time to eat, which is always a plus!

Snacks

While I was out shopping I ate a Carrot Cake clif bar. I usually only have half of these because they’re so big but I’m trying to up my calories a little bit so I had the whole thing. I felt like such a little rebel ; 0

It was really hot out today! When I got home I cooled down with some frozen berries and whipped cream. I looked at the container and apparently there are 66 servings. HA. That’s the biggest joke of my life—I bet it doesn’t even last me a week!

Dinner

By the time dinner rolled around I was not in the cooking mood (plus I don’t really have much food to work with) so I tried out a new frozen dinner. Amy’s Cheese Enchilada meal with beans and corn. I added some baby carrots for some extra veggies. WOW was this AMAZING. Like seriously, this was one of the best frozen dinners I’ve ever eaten. There was SO much flavor, it was legit good–like if I got this in a restaurant I would definitely be happy. I am buying more of these for sure!

Dessert

For a treat I made a healthier version of a brownie sundae. I used a vitamuffin and some vanilla nonfat frozen yogurt. My little freezer that’s part of my minifridge is tiny and sucks so it got pretty melty. Still good though!

9 Responses to “Oh, Sundays”


  1. 1 Melissa S. Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    foods look great today! i esp like the dinner and dessert…i tried that amy’s dinner long time ago in college…so convenient and good!

  2. 2 Kristie Monday, September 22, 2008 at 12:44 am

    I totally agree, Sundays are supposed to be relaxed but I always feel like I have so much to do because I just don’t get around to doing it at any other point during the week or weekend, so I make all of my to-dos depend on my Sundays. But Poor Sundays can only handle so much!

    Cereal yogurt fruit bowls never fail. I love em.

    I also love random food platters. That’s how I eat a lot of my meals and snacks. Just grab a whole bunch of little random things. Variety makes everything better.

    66 servings of whipped cream. In one container. That’s insane. Whoever decides that crap is out of their mind. There’s probably like 10 servings. We all know that whipped cream has to be squirted straight from container to mouth in giant neverending sprays.

  3. 3 eatingbender Monday, September 22, 2008 at 2:12 am

    I am always anxious on Sundays! I really wish there was some way to avoid it, but I’ve decided that it’s impossible. The week ahead just looms over me like a cloud. It looks like you managed to make Sunday into a GREAT day, what with the running superstarness and the great eats!

    I really like your lunch platter – it’s filled with all the little snacky foods I love! Especially Kashi crackers and mini Quakers. And I also like how you called yourself a rebel when you ate that Clif bar – hehe πŸ™‚

    66 is such a random number of servings, isn’t it? I definitely have decided that whipped cream “servings per container” is just a great big joke. That way I feel better when it’s gone three days later.

    I haven’t tried Amy’s frozen dinners yet, but they look so good! I think I will definitely stock up on some frozen meals because I tend to eat out a lot when I don’t feel like cooking, and this seems like a much better alternative!

    Have a great week, Sarah!

  4. 4 wholefoodswholeme Monday, September 22, 2008 at 8:10 am

    i am so jealous of clif bars!! one of the things reeeally wish i could get in england. fortunately, the one and only whole foods in the entire country is just 15mins by foot from my uni, and there they do seel amy’s frozen dinners so i will be getting onto them soon! your breakfast looks like a delicious & nutritious powerhouse πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Erin Monday, September 22, 2008 at 8:28 am

    I’m the same way with whip. I actually don’t buy it because I could bust through a can in three days, easy!
    I can’t relax on Sundays, either. There needs to be TWO Sundays per week, obviously. How was your run today?
    Yummy eats. I like your dessert idea.

  6. 6 VeggieGirl Monday, September 22, 2008 at 8:55 am

    I agree with you 100% about Sundays, for sure!

    66 servings?? Haha, quite random and unrealistic – just enjoy that whipped topping!! πŸ˜€

    Oooh, a sundae! Yum.

    HAPPY MONDAY!

  7. 7 Nicole Monday, September 22, 2008 at 9:43 am

    I hate mini fridges with the tiny freezer!! How do they expect me to fit all my soy ice cream in there??

  8. 8 Christie I. Monday, September 22, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Our mini fridge at work does the same thing 😦

  9. 9 Bridget Monday, September 22, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Amy’s has the best frozen meals!! Yay for another local blogger…actually I’m taking a review class on tues and thurs nights for this prof. engineering exam at the end of Oct, and my class is at Tufts! Very convenient…and close to my gym πŸ™‚

    Red Bones is sooo good, but its always SO crowded!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

