Announcement!

Don’t worry, I’m not quitting the blog again! I do have a food post coming later tonight, but I just wanted to pop in with a VERY exciting announcement! 

So today was my very first RACE! It was totally laid-back, only 3 miles and you could either walk or run. There were no numbers or timers but it was SO FUN! I loved running with so many people. I ran with one of my sorority sisters and we had a great time–it was a gorgeous day, we ran along the Charles River, and we chatted the entire time so it went by super fast. This was actually the very first time I’ve ever run WITH someone. I usually just run alone with my ipod but it was so nice having some company. We were perfect together too—I’m a little bit faster than her so I was able to push her a little while she held me back the perfect amount (I’m really bad at pacing myself and tend to go too fast too soon and really wear myself out). It was great and we will definitely be running buddies.

Anyway, last year some of our friends ran the Boston Marathon and Brittany (my running buddy) and I half-seriously talked about how much fun it would be for us to run. It put the idea in my head and ever since then I’ve been going back and forth toying with the idea of running the marathon or training for a half or 10k. Well while we were running today we decided that we’re going to do it! We can both comfortably run 6 miles and that’s exactly where most training programs have you start for your long runs. 

Our school has a team so that you don’t have to qualify for the marathon, but can run it if you raise money. They have group training runs throughout the year and really keep you motivated. The marathon isn’t until April 20th so I have plenty of time to train and I am really excited and nervous but I think I can do it! For right now our plan is to do our short runs individually (I’m a morning person and she isn’t lol) and then do long runs together on the weekends.

I AM SO EXCITED!

This is going to be a big commitment but if I can complete the marathon it will be a HUGE accomplishment that I can be proud of for the rest of my life. I love having a goal to work towards and like pushing myself so this seems perfect. I am definitely scared though. I don’t want to overwork myself and push myself too hard. I’m also concerned that I’ll burn myself out and running will no longer be fun. Plus running outside in the cold Boston winter will not be too fun. But I’m hoping that having a training partner, along with all the encouragement and motivation that I better be getting from you all ; ) that I’ll be able to reach my goal.

After I signed up for the team I was so excited that I headed out and treated myself to these:

A Polar F6 Heart Rate Monitor and a pair of Asics Gel Kayano running shoes. These things are AMAZING!!!! I knew that my old shoes just weren’t cutting it but I didn’t realize just how bad they were until I put these on. OH MY GOSH. These are so supportive for my feet and I really feel like I’m walking on clouds. They are beyond incredible. I really want to go out for a run in them right now but I already ran today plus I should probably do some schoolwork seeing as I haven’t done a single thing today and it’s already 5:00. Oops!

Alright, I’ll be back later tonight with some FOOD.

10 Responses to “Announcement!”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    When I first read the title of this blog post, I got nervous – thank goodness you’re not leaving us again!! Hooray!!

    CONGRATULATIONS ON THE FANTASTIC RUN/RACE!!!!!!!!! And have fun being part of the team at school!! Quite exciting, indeed!! 🙂

  2. 2 Nicole Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Congratulations on your race! Good luck on the marathon training also. I would love to run a marathon! That’s so exciting!

  3. 3 Jenny Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Awesome!! That is such an admirable goal, you can definitely do it! That is also wonderful that you found a running buddy, that will make the whole preparation and training so much more fun. Good luck with everything, I know you will keep us updated!

    P.S. I LOVE my Polar Heart Rate Monitor, they are definitely a MUST for training and it is so fun to see what your body can do, and how performance improves over time. 🙂

  4. 4 Erin Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    This is awesome news! YAY! Of course you’ll get support from us. Plus, this ensures that you can’t resign from your blogging duties, as you’ll be updating us on your training. Woot!

  5. 5 ttfn300 Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Good luck!!! It is truly amazing to have that many people around you, all supportive, the energy is astounding 🙂

  6. 6 Lindsay Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    Hi!

    I’m a regular reader of your blog, but have never been moved to comment before tonight. As a marathon runner myself, I just want to urge you to think for more than a day about your decision. Running a marathon is something almost anyone can do, but the Boston Marathon is another breed entirely. It is the ultimate race, the only marathon in the world you need to qualify for, and thus, draws an entirely different field. It’s something people spend their lives trying to qualify for, and just making it to Boston is a life’s accomplishment. As someone who has qualified for, trained for, and run Boston on numerous occasions, I just wouldn’t reccomend it to anyone for their first. It’s a very fast, very elite field, and while there are a minority number of charity runners, they certainly are looked upon in a different light, to put it nicely.

    I’m in no way trying to crush your dream, but I just want to give you a heads up, and make sure you’re aware of what you’d be getting yourself into.

    I also run in Kayanos, though, and love them!

    And I also love your blog! I hate to introduce myself in this way, but I will keep reading, and keep following your training, if you decide to do it. Feel free to e-mail me if you’d like to chat a bit more. Maybe we’ll see each other April 20th..?

    Lindsay

  7. 7 fitnessista Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    CONGRATS on deciding to run the marathon! that is so exciting!!
    i have the SAME shoes and the SAME heart rate monitor.. you’ve got excellent taste 😀
    let us know what training plan you’re going to follow! i’m running a half marathon in march and need to start working on it.
    have a great night

  8. 8 hangrypants Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    yay! that is so exciting. i am running my first 5k next weekend, which is no big deal for anyone but me, but i am hoping i love it like you did and will get the racing bug. best of luck with your training.

    Heather

  9. 9 Melissa S. Sunday, September 21, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    CONGRATS on deciding to run! that is so way freak’n exciting! i wish i could sign up for another marathon…but i’m just gonna work on the 10k for now; work my way up!

    but good luck! and keep a positive attitude so you don’t get burnt out…but i’m sure you won’t anyways!

  10. 10 eatingbender Monday, September 22, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Wow, Sarah!! This is such great news!! I am so happy that you enjoyed your race today AND that you will be chasing after such a huge goal! By the way, I have the same heart rate monitor!! Except mine’s black…I REALLY wish I had the pink one!

    Anywho, back to the point, which is YOU! And your amazingness. We will be here for you every step of the way, my friend – I’m so proud!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

