Definitely Fall

It definitely felt like fall out there today! It’s cold up here in Boston! The high today was only 60*. Blech. I am NOT a fan of cold weather, and it’s just going to get colder from here on out. Honestly, anything below 70* and I’m chilly so you can imagine how miserable I get when it’s in the single digits for days at a time. My electric blanket and many, many cups of coffee and hot tea are the only things that keep me going during the winter. Besides being a little chilly today was GORGEOUS! I love when the sun is shining, it makes campus so much prettier!

Breakfast

Since I have no classes on Fridays I let myself sleep in (but my body still woke me up early—honestly no matter what time I go to bed I can’t seem to sleep past 8:30!) and I decided to eat breakfast and do some studying before exercising which was a nice change from the usual up and out the door routine.

I had my usual mix of Kashi Go Lean, All Bran Extra Fiber, banana, skim and flax. Delicious. For some reason sometimes when I eat this I stay full forever and other days I’m starving like an hour later. I use the same amounts each time–so weird! Today was a full forever day, which was good because I powered through some serious upper body lifting at the gym along with my usual cardio. Boy am I going to be sore tomorrow!

Lunch

We headed to the dining hall for lunch today so I took advantage of the huge salad bar. I love salads but just don’t have the time or energy or space to make them at home. I love putting in a little bit of everything but just can’t deal with all the chopping and prep that goes with it. That’s why salad bars are perfect for me! I tossed together tons of veggies, some kidney beans, tuna, and some hummus in lieu of dressing. Yum, yum! On the side I had a plum because the other fruit options were all pretty sad looking. I never have been a huge plum fan and this still holds true. It just doesn’t do anything for me. Too bad the nectarines were rock hard—I did steal a few to bring back to my room to ripen though!

Snack

100 calorie kettle corn. This is the absolute perfect snack to munch on while studying!

Dinner

I made something quick for dinner because I had to eat early (6 instead of my usual 7-8 range) because I have sorority stuff starting at 6:45.  I had planned on making a nice omelet but unfortunately my new ‘nonstick’ skillet is a liar and really should be called a ‘stick like crazy regardless of using PAM spray’ skillet. So my turkey and laughing cow cheese omelet turned into a nice little scramble. Alongside I had a mediocre stolen-from-the-dining hall apple, and a pita with some raspberry jelly. 

Looking back on my pictures basically all my food has been the same color today! Haha, that sort of thing really amuses me! 

Alright, of to get ready for tonight! Have a great Friday night everyone!

7 Responses to “Definitely Fall”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, September 19, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    I live near you, so it’s super-cold here as well!! Autumn has arrived.

    Sounds like a good (and delicious) day off from classes – enjoy your Friday evening!!

  2. 2 jenngirl Friday, September 19, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    I’m glad to see someone else is trying to make due with the school dining halls, you seem to be doing a great job! Our’s has an amazingly fresh salad bar too, love it.

    Happy Friday!!

  3. 3 Erin Friday, September 19, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I love how you’re able to jack random food from the dining halls. I always do that from breakfast buffets when I’m on vacation because I’m one cheap sista.
    I’m sorry you couldn’t sleep in! Trust me, it only gets worse with age. I felt really great about sleeping in until 6:45 last wknd. LAME! I used to be able to roll out of bed at noon 8-10 years ago!
    Tell us more about sorority life!
    So glad you’re back! I know I said that a bunch already but it’s worth repeating. 🙂

  4. 4 anna Saturday, September 20, 2008 at 11:00 am

    you don´t eat a thing girl
    i think you are afraid of gaining weight again or what

  5. 5 Sarah Saturday, September 20, 2008 at 11:34 am

    anna,
    don’t worry, I ate more than just this today. my camera battery died while i was out so i wasn’t able to take pictures. i usually eat between 1700-1900 calories a day.

  6. 6 Melissa S. Saturday, September 20, 2008 at 11:38 am

    i totally used to steal stuff from my cafeteria…i would make sure to wear a hoodie and would stuff it full of stuff…like jars of pb (!!!), bananas, apples, oranges, loaves of bread, bagels…the list goes on. it was hularious…we used to stick stuff in the hoods and everything!

    and i know what you mean about the automatic clock..i always seem to be waking up at around 5.30 when i normally get ready for work! arg!

  7. 7 eatingbender Saturday, September 20, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Hurray for soreness after a workout! It sounds kind of masochistic, but I really do like it because it means I worked hard 🙂

    I’m going to have to try your cereal combo. My problem with cereal is that it does not keep me full long enough. I blame it on the fact that freshman and sophomore year, cereal was ALL that I ate in the dining hall, so I had like 2-3 (yes, 2-3) bowls at one meal. No wonder one bowl doesn’t fill me anymore! Also, eating that much cereal kind of turned me off the stuff, but I’m slowly easing my way back in.

    I’m also planning on taking a cue from you and buying popcorn bags when I get back. I love the idea of being able to munch munch munch while studying!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

