Boston Accents

I don’t know what the deal is, but both of the professors I had today have the strongest Boston accents I’ve ever heard! I could barely even understand what they were saying! Ughh, I genuinely HATE the Boston accent—it’s even worse than a New York accent in my eyes. I don’t know how I’m going to survive listening to 3 hours of this!

Besides the horrible accents, Intro to Religion and Monetary Economics went well. It was definitely weird being back in an intro class with all the underclassmen, but I’m really interested in learning about different religions so I’m still excited for this class. And even though it’s an intro class, it’s still relatively small (35 students) so hopefully there will still be plenty of discussion time. 

Monetary Economics is another upper-level econ class that is definitely NOT an intro class. This, like my classes yesterday, is going to be really difficult but should be really interesting as well. We are talking about a lot of issues in the economy that are currently very ‘hot topics’. Also, I want to get as much out of this class as I can seeing as it directly relates to the job that I was offered! 

Breakfast

I woke up absolutely starving this morning and my hunger really hasn’t gone away all day—it’s so weird how my appetite fluctuates so much from day to day. Maybe I should go back and analyze what I eat and how much I exercise on days that I’m ravenous and what my intake was the day before. I guess that’s a great plus about a food blog—I can literally see what I ate and try to figure out my hunger cues.

Anyway, I quickly made myself a bowl of cereal with Kashi Go Lean, All Bran Extra Fiber, Skim, Banana, and Flax. Maybe it was because I was so hungry, but this bowl was extra good this morning!

Lunch

I had my first trip back to the dining hall this afternoon. I really do enjoy the dining hall on occasion for the HUGE salad bar! I hate making salads at home because it is just so labor intensive having to wash and chop everything so I definitely take advantage of the salad bar whenever I can. To go with my salad I had a yellow delicious apple. It was delicious indeed ; )

Snacks

When I got home from class I was planning on changing and heading straight for my workout, but my stomach started rumbling and I definitely did not want to get weak while exercising so I had the remainder of my carrot cake clif bar from yesterday.

After the gym I was hungry again, which is weird because I normally don’t have much of an appetite right after I exercise. I thought it was thirst so I chugged some water, but nope–I needed more food. I had a sweet gala apple and I’m finally satisfied—at least for now!

Time to do some reading!

4 Responses to “Boston Accents”


  1. 1 eatingbender Wednesday, September 3, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Your classes sound very interesting! Too bad about the accents though – I am probably the worst person in the world when it comes to accents. I feel REALLY bad but I can never understand what people are saying so I always have to ask them to repeat themselves! I guess my ears aren’t designed correctly 😉

    Your lucky that your school has a delicious salad bar! My dorm salad bar was CRAP – dirty lettuce, ugh. I’m very glad that I don’t have to eat in dorms anymore because ours are not known for their good food!

    Have a great evening!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Wednesday, September 3, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Haha!! When I resided/went to school in Boston, my professors AND my classmates had the thickest Bostonian accents EVER. And I don’t think I’ve ever heard the words “wicked” used so much in my life, haha 😉

    Sounds like some great courses – good luck as the school year goes on!

  3. 3 mangochild Thursday, September 4, 2008 at 5:04 am

    I agree, its weird how hunger changes day to day. And what’s weird is that, for me at least, it doesn’t seem to match the exercise I do. Sometimes on harder workouts I’m more hungry that day, but just as often I won’t have any appetite at all. Go figure.
    But your mixed cereal breakfast looks like a great start – I love mixing them all together too. Hope the classes keep going well!

  4. 4 Christie I Thursday, September 4, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Funny about the accents, hang in there.

    Hope you classes are going well!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

