First Day of Classes!

Hi guys! I’m just popping in to give a little first-day-of-class update! I’ve only had 2 of my classes so far, but I can already tell that this is going to be a HARD semester. 

Multinational Enterprise was the first class of the day. This is one of the highest level econ classes that undergrads can take, and it is going to be a ton of work. We dove right into the material today, starting with Foreign Direct Investment. It’s a good thing that I love international finance so much because I’m going to be spending a lot of time with this information! The professor already warned us about how he’s not going to try to avoid using calculus because it’s vital to understand the topic fully. Too bad I haven’t taken calculus since senior year of high school! Uh, oh! Needless to say I’m pretty nervous—and the gigantic research paper that is due at the end of the semester is already freaking me out!

After that I went to Macroeconomic Development which seems a lot more manageable. This is only an intermediate level econ so hopefully it won’t be too difficult. I’m really looking forward to this class because it combines economics with some political aspects as well. I’m an International Relations major as well, so learning about how to help developing countries ties nicely into my interests in the IR field. The fact that there is no research paper for this class also makes it pretty appealing : )

Now onto some food!

Breakfast

I had some All Bran with Fage (I promise it’s yogurt, not whipped cream! haha, I wouldn’t actually put that past me though, even at 8am…) and a red pear. The more I’m eating this All Bran the more I’m liking it—who knows, after this box maybe I’ll even prefer it to Fiber One! For some reason these red pears are NOWHERE near as good as the ones from home. I like them nice and juicy and sweet, and these were pretty much the opposite-crunchy, hard, and flavorless. That makes me sad!

Lunch

Tues/Thurs lunches are going to be a tricky situation for me. I don’t get back from class until 1:30 (which is fine, I like eating later lunches) BUT I have Advanced Power Yoga at 3. This only leaves me 1.5 hours to make lunch, eat, and digest before class. My stomach is really sensitive to what and when I eat before yoga and if I have the wrong thing too close to class I’m uncomfortable the whole time. Over the summer I learned that cereal or pb english muffins work best, so maybe T/TH I’ll have to institute “breakfast for lunch” days!

I didn’t think of that plan until right now though—after I ate this:

A turkey sandwich with jalapenos (my new obsession), pickles, mustard, and cucumbers. With some carrots and tomatoes on the side. Now that it’s just me eating all the fresh produce I feel like I need to gobble it up quickly so it doesn’t go bad! It’s a tricky situation though because I want it to last for a long time so I don’t have to go to the store very often, but I don’t want it to go bad either so I can’t buy too much at once. Blech.

Anyway, like I said Advanced (nervous about this!) Power Yoga is at 3 so hopefully this lunch won’t sit too heavily in my tummy! After class I need to rush home and shower, and then it’s a Seniors Reception. I still can’t fully grasp that I’m a senior, where did the time go?

And of course I already have reading to do. I’ll try to avoid the library though, at least for a few days!

6 Responses to “First Day of Classes!”


  1. 1 jenngirl Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Don’t stress about classes, you definitely seem to have a good grasp on things! Enjoy yoga, sounds like fun, use it as some much needed relaxation time.

    I know what you mean about time flying, I still can’t grasp that I’m a junior, I keep wanting to tell people that I’m still a sophmore. Where did the last year go? Good luck with class and stuff, have a great day! 🙂

  2. 2 gina (fitnessista) Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    i liiiive for jalapenos!!
    your econ classes sound tough but very interesting. i loved econ and wanted to major in that instead of finance, but went the finance route instead.
    have fun at yoga!!!

  3. 3 Kristie Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Oh school… that sounds like some seriously tough stuff. I’m sure you will be able to handle it though! Best of luck with it all. I’m feeling stressed just at the thought of school, and I don’t even start until next week.

  4. 4 Erin Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Economics? Ew!
    My first college B was in economics. I’ll never forget it…
    I KNEW that all-bran extra fiber would grow on you! 😀

  5. 5 VeggieGirl Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    The first day went well for me, and I too think it’ll be a hard semester – but a fun one as well!! 🙂 Hang in there!!

  6. 6 eatingbender Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Gosh you are such a smarty pants 🙂 The names of those classes alone are intimidating to a journalism major like me!

    Ugh, I hate flavorless pears – they are the worst! I especially don’t like them when I go to all the trouble of buying them only to find that I don’t enjoy any of them!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

