Out of Sight, Out of Mind?

Snack

I snacked on some fresh fruit (and whipped cream–I just can’t get enough!) for a snack this afternoon. Very delicious, but I miss my blueberries and blackberries—there just isn’t room in my fridge for them : (

Dinner

I got my act together and made a real meal tonight because I know that when I start getting super busy I’m going to have to resort to quick fixes of frozen dinners and sandwiches. I didn’t use a recipe for this but just threw together some stuff that I have in the house and it actually came out pretty good!

I cooked up some orzo then sauteed some garlic, frozen shrimp, frozen broccoli, and soy sauce. With about a minute left I mixed the orzo back in and added a bunch of random spices. It came out surprisingly well and smelled so good that one of the girls thought I ordered Chinese. 

Sorry the bowl is getting pretty repetitive. I have 2 bowls that I just use and hand-wash. It’s like my dad has this big mug that he uses for EVERYTHING. Seriously in one day I’ve seen it filled with: water, coffee, diet coke, wine, and whiskey. Haha. At least I kept it classy with a placemat ; )

Dessert

I tried my very first Vitamuffin. I ate the brownie straight out of the freezer so it was more fudgey than cakey. I’m pretty impressed, it was really dense but unfortunately not overly-chocolatey (the more chocolate the better in my opinion!) I had it with some grapes and MORE whipped cream. Ugh, I can’t stop eating it!

After that I was STILL hungry! I guess I shouldn’t be surprised after my long run this morning, but I just felt like a bottomless pit! I tried some new organic cookies. They were just ok. They were soft and chewy, which I like but the serving was just too small! Each cookie was TINY, like 1 bite and there were only 4-5. So 4-5 bites and I was done. Not a good use of 100 calories if you ask me.

I then proceeded to eat more grapes followed by some peanut butter straight from the jar. BAD NEWS. This is NOT a habit I should get into, but it’s just so hard when it’s right. Living in one room: sleeping, eating, and storing food is not a good system. But then I thought of a brilliant idea! Rather than keep the PB up in my mini-fridge in my room I decided to move it down to the big fridge in the kitchen. I live on the very top floor of my house and so the kitchen is 4 flights down. The way I figure it is that if my craving for a spoonful of PB is strong enough for me to go down (and back up!) 4 flights of stairs then it’s a craving that’s worth giving into. Otherwise, out of sight, out of mind! Let’s hope this doesn’t mean that I turn to my trail mix as a substitute!

Ok, off to bed—classes tomorrow, yikes!

3 Responses to “Out of Sight, Out of Mind?”


  1. 1 eatingbender Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Classy dinner, indeed! I think it’s totally flattering that someone asked if you ordered Chinese – nothing smells better than Chinese food!

    Ooh a Vitamuffin! I still have yet to try those – and I had to giggle about the whipped cream because that is EXACTLY what I do when I buy Cool Whip -gaaaah! Why does it have to taste so yummy?!

    Aw, I totally understand the temptation when you have to keep food in the same room with you. I think your idea for the PB is a good one!

    Good luck with classes tomorrow!!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 7:14 am

    Ooh, I love how the whipped cream looks like little clouds, haha 😀

    Great orzo dinner!!

    Classes start for me today as well – good luck to you!!

  3. 3 Erin Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 7:32 am

    MMM! Your dinner looks good!
    I’d love to hear what classes you’re taking and stuff.
    BTW, I can’t even keep stuff like whipped cream in the house – or PB either (lately I can’t keep the spoon out of the jar). What’s this thing called self-control? I’ve not heard of it! 😉
    Hope all-bran does you right this morning!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

