Calm Before the Storm

Well, classes start tomorrow so this is my last day to do whatever I want and not worry about a future reading/paper/assignment that I should be working on. I am very serious about my schoolwork and pretty much spend any free time living in the library. At least I’m signed up for a Power Yoga class so on Tuesdays/Thursdays I have my exercise scheduled right into my day–making for 1 less thing I need to worry about!

Pre-workout Snack

I really hate going to the gym at school. It’s waaaaay too small so it’s always overly crowded, especially at the start of the semester when everyone makes promises to themselves to start this year off on the right foot. Also, the machines are seriously always broken. I don’t get it! Because of this if you don’t get there at the right time, there is always a wait for cardio machines. Yuck. Since the weather was perfect today I decided to avoid the gym altogether and go out for a nice long run. I did about 6 miles and it felt great to stretch my legs after being in the car for so long these past few days!

Before I left I had a mini chocolate chip clif bar. I love these!

Β 

Breakfast

The grocery store here didn’t sell Original Fiber One! I seriously stood in the cereal aisle for a good 10 minutes trying to fully grasp this concept. I love this stuff an eat it like every day either with milk or yogurt. I was at a loss. Then I remembered that Erin is always eating All Bran Extra Fiber so I decided to give it a try.

First–a digression: does anyone else have the problem of as soon as they buy something new at the grocery store they HAVE to try it. I can’t help myself! I just get so excited at the prospect of a new food that I have to open the bag and dig in as soon as I unload. Please tell me I’m not the only one who completely lacks self-control!

Anyway, last night I tasted some of the All Bran and HATED IT! It wasn’t sweet at all and I felt like I was eating cardboard or something. I was pretty upset, but hate wasting money and food so I was determined to use it anyway. This morning I had some with skim, flax, and a banana and was surprisingly pleased. The cereal seriously soaks up the milk—I mean it like really absorbed it before my very eyes! The result was a nice thick bowl that didn’t even resemble the initial product. It wasn’t crunchy but had that great soggy cereal texture (if you like that sort of thing—I do!). In the end, I was very happy! I still think I prefer Fiber One though : )

Lunch

Quick and simple: hummus sandwich with lots of veggies and jalepenos piled on. Then a carrot and some tomatoes on the side. I loved adding the jalepenos, it gave it the perfect hot kick!

Ok, now it’s time to go drop my entire life-savings on books. See you later!

12 Responses to “Calm Before the Storm”


  1. 1 jenngirl Monday, September 1, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    I hate the gym at school too, they are just never the best, but I guess you have to work with what ya got πŸ˜‰

    Ooo buying books, not fun! Good luck with starting back to school, hope you get settled alright! πŸ™‚

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Monday, September 1, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    GOOD LUCK WITH CLASSES TOMORROW!!! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Julz Monday, September 1, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    I love the generic Fiberone SO MUCH MORE! (call me crazy, it tastes better… haha)

    ONE THING I DON’T LIKE/STRONGLY (don’t want to say “hate”… haha, nerdy mcnerdster here) = ingredient numero sept: HFCS. Yucky yucky! Mind you I lurve my fiberone cereal (with sf maple + cottage cheese + cinnamon = SERIOUS YUM + major dessert satisfaction!) which does contain aspartame, so yeah. Haha, whatevs!

    HAPPY LABOR DAY SAR! Gosh, I’m praying that there’s a miracle for New Orleans… I keep cringing as I watch the Weather Channel :-\

  4. 4 Nicole Monday, September 1, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    The gym at my school is the same way! It’s awful. They put a time limit on the amount you can use the cardio machines, too! I avoid it all costs.

    Ughhh I also had to drop my entire life savings and one of my fingers for my school books this semester! I have no idea how I am going to carry them all!

  5. 5 Danielle Monday, September 1, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Enjoy your final day of complete rest and best of luck tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Danielle Monday, September 1, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    P.S. One day I’m going to be able to say, “I did about 6 miles… and it felt great…” one day, thanks for being so gosh darn inspiring πŸ˜‰

  7. 7 Christie Monday, September 1, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    I use to have a mental block on using certain treadmills at the gym… POwer Yoga sounds like fun… School starts tommorow! Get ready for homework!

  8. 8 Erin Monday, September 1, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Do you find that your school gym is loaded with muscle building macho men (or wannabe men)? That makes it hard for me sometimes. Especially when I see my students. Awkward!
    I’m SO GLAD the extra fiber wasn’t a total loss. I would have felt personally responsible! I make it better by adding splenda to it and eating it with yogurt and fruit. Mmm!
    Plus, it’s super low cal. That makes it taste better. πŸ˜‰
    So excited to hear about your classes!

  9. 9 gina (fitnessista) Monday, September 1, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    6 miles?!? you are a machine!! that’s amazing! thanks for pumping me up for tomorrow’s (little 5k) run πŸ˜€
    i totally remember that about campus rec- i HATED how you had to sign up in advance for cardio machines. blech.
    fiber one is my favorite ,too and you’re totally not alone in ripping the package open as soon as you unload… at the commissary, the bag guy loads the groceries in your car for you..sometimes, as soon as he walks away, i open the trunk again and open up whatever new goodie i just got πŸ˜€
    enjoy your last night of academic freedom!! i’m way focused on schoolwork too, so i totally know what you mean. live it up!!!
    take care ❀

  10. 10 hangrypants Monday, September 1, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Yes, I always want to eat my new food items. πŸ™‚

    I am glad you tried the all bran again. It is a little softer and less sweet than Fiber One, but I believe that FO has an artificial sweetener in it and All Bran doesn’t. You can bake good things with it, too and it’s good in cottage cheese. Ok, that’s enough on the greatness of All Bran!

    Heather

  11. 11 Kristie Monday, September 1, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Oh gosh, I definitely do the must open new products thing as soon as I get through the door. It’s such a bad habit. Especially if I have several new products to try… it inevitably leads to one big snack fest.

    I like that whole soggy cereal thing too. Glad to hear that the All Bran ended up working out more or less for you.

  12. 12 mangochild Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 5:08 am

    I remember the gym from my grad school being just as lousy – kept me running outside as much as I could. Sigh.
    Your lunch looks so good, hummus and jalapenos are a winner in my book too. Have you tried the Wheetbix flakes/twigs? I’m not a fan of the generic allbran types, nor the regular either, but this works for me. (And I had the same amazement at how it soaked up my soy milk – yipes!)
    Good luck on your first day of classes, and hope you didn’t have to spend a crazy amount on texts….. I was a complete schoolwork obsessed geek, so I know where you are coming from. Hope you had a great evening!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

