Getting Settled

Whew. I’m finally back at school, mostly unpacked, and starting to settle in. We got here bright and early and spent hours running errands and lugging stuff up 3 flights of stairs–this definitely counted as a workout!

Breakfast

We grabbed breakfast quickly at Panera to eat on the road. As much as I love Panera, I was really disappointed with their breakfast options. There was not much in the way of healthy-eats. I really could have used a nice bowl of oatmeal or a fruit and yogurt parfait, but there was none of that! Not even a banana! Ugh. I knew that I needed energy so I made the best choice I could and ordered the Egg and Cheese Sandwich. It was just ok—it definitely could have used a few more minutes in the Panini maker because the cheese wasn’t melty enough for me!

Lunch

After a busy morning we found a nice little restaurant near campus for lunch. It’s called Christopher’s and is in Porter Square. I’d never been there before but it was pretty good! I ordered a Spinach and Apple Salad with Grilled Chicken. It was delicious! The salad also had red onions and toasted pecans (yum!) and I got the blue cheese and vinagrette on the side. 

Dinner

And what you may ask was my first adventurous dinner in my new place? Haha, well if you were expecting something extravagant you will be sorely disappointed.

I was unpacking and moving stuff around all afternoon and night and didn’t realize how hungry I was getting. Before I knew it, I looked at the clock, saw it was 8 and realized I was STARVING. I really didn’t feel like being creative (or walking down 4 flights of stairs to the kitchen…) so I just threw together the most random bowl ever. 

Yep, that’s an apple, strawberries, grapes, trail mix, and cool whip drizzled with maple syrup. I honestly don’t even know what I was thinking. Whatever, it worked ; )

And here is a nice shot of my closet–ahem, room. Yes, it’s quite snug.

Off to see some friends!

7 Responses to “Getting Settled”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Sunday, August 31, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    Glad that you made it to school safely – I LOVE your room!! You really utilized the space well!!

  2. 2 glidingcalm Sunday, August 31, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    haha your room is awesome!! sorry the panera breakfast was a bust ! I know from experience…their breakfast choices are pretty limited!!!

  3. 3 Nicole Sunday, August 31, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Your room looks better than my dorm did!

  4. 4 Erin Monday, September 1, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Tight fit, but super cute decor! Love it!

  5. 5 eatingbender Monday, September 1, 2008 at 2:13 am

    Aw, you’re making me so excited to get back to school 🙂 I loved your comment about your first dinner back – it definitely looks like something I would make! I freakin’ love Cool Whip! Want to hear an embarrassing story? I used to buy one big Cool Whip container per week – that’s how much I consumed in 7 days time!

    I hope you’re having a good time catching up with friends!! I love your room.

  6. 6 mangochild Monday, September 1, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Awww, sorry the breakfast didn’t work out – they didn’t even have a fruit/yogurt cup? Not good at all! Your room looks great – I love the comforter especially. Glad you’re getting settled in…. hope you get to relax some today – when do your classes actually start?

  7. 7 gina (fitnessista) Monday, September 1, 2008 at 8:39 am

    you room looks amazing!!! i love the bedding 😀
    panera breakfast choices are definitely limited… sometimes they’ll be nice and make me an egg sandwich on whole grain bread and a fruit cup.
    i’m gonna try to stop buying cool whip! (it looks so good though!) because before you know it, there i am with the whole bucket of cool whip and a spoon in hand…
    hope you have a happy labor day and congrats on being all settled in!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

