Halfway There

Well we’re in a hotel in Fiskill, NY (aka middle of nowhere) halfway to Boston. I’m going into my senior year, so you would think I would have the hang of this by now, but for some reason I’m still pretty anxious about the start of another year. I think it’s because I’m going to be so busy with really tough classes and tons of extra-curricular activities, an internship, job searching, etc. etc. Plus the unfamiliarity of living in a new place and the stress that comes from the big change of going from a fully functional kitchen to basically dorm-living is really stressing me out. I’m so nervous about being able to keep up with my healthy living. I’m definitely going to try to keep up with this blog because it really keeps me more accountable and helps me make more balanced and interesting food choices.

Breakfast

I woke up early this morning to finish packing. I did some cardio also because I knew that my legs wouldn’t be happy being cooped up in the car all day. I wasn’t hungry when I first woke up (when I’m nervous/stressed I really lose my appetite) so I didn’t need a pre-workout snack. After exercising I had a big fruit plate which really hit the spot.

We left the house around 9:00 and I packed myself a PB on an Ezekial muffin to eat on the road.

Dinner

We drove for about 6.5 hours today and only had to stop once for gas/bathroom break. We’re listening to a John Grisham book on tape which is really making the time fly by!

Since I was just sitting in the car all day, not doing anything physical I didn’t realize how hungry I was getting. I really wish that I had packed an emergency bar or some fruit or something because 6 hours is WAY too long for me to go without eating, especially after exercising. When we finally arrived at the hotel and I stood up, I actually felt a little light-headed and nauseous I was so hungry.

There is a Ruby Tuesday right next to the hotel we’re staying at so we headed over there for an early dinner. I had a few bites of my dad’s salad because I was about to pass out from hunger. 

For my meal I ordered the New Orleans Seafood: Spicy, broiled tilapia that’s topped with seasoned, sautéed shrimp and rich Parmesan cream sauce. This came with a side of broccoli and brown rice pilaf topped with cheese and tomatoes. To make it a little healthier I ordered it without the cream sauce or cheese.

I gobbled this up because I was starving but it really wasn’t all that good. I have definitely made better meals for myself. The shrimp were really good and very spicy but they were tiny! The fish was sort of bland and dry so I swapped some of it for a few bites of my dad’s mashed potatoes and a couple tiny fried shrimp (definitely not the healthiest of swaps! but very tasty!)

Dessert

Also next to the hotel was a Coldstone so we obviously had to pick up some dessert! I sampled the Cookie Batter ice cream but was actually pretty disappointed–it was sort of flavorless, definitely NOT worth it! I’m glad I sampled before I ordered.

I ended up ordering the Sinless Sweet Cream with strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, and rainbow sprinkles. As usual, I saved my sample spoon to eat it with! This guy is waiting for me in the freezer–I can’t wait to eat it!

Time to order a movie and relax a little because tomorrow is going to be quite the busy day. Another long drive, and moving all my stuff up the the 3rd floor (plus a big flight of stairs getting up the house)—let’s hope my arm exercises have paid off! Then it’s time for a GINORMOUS grocery shop and maybe I’ll treat myself to a Whole Foods shop as well : )

I hope everyone is having a great LONG weekend!

7 Responses to “Halfway There”


  1. 1 Christie Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Whenever i go to cold stone i get the sinless sweet cream with blueberries and pie crust… it is sooo good!

  2. 2 Nicole Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Moving is always so stressful! I hope it all goes well tomorrow!

  3. 3 Erin Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    I love the sample spoon idea. You deserve that treat, yum!

  4. 4 VeggieGirl Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Best of luck to you with the new school year – I too am a bit apprehensive, but we’ll get through it! 🙂

    Mmm, love the fruit plate!!

  5. 5 eatingbender Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    I know how you feel with regard to the anxiety of starting senior year – but I’m glad that you had a successful halfway drive and tomorrow does promise to be a busy, busy day! Moving in is such a great workout, though! And I’m sure your arm exercises will pay off 🙂

    Yum – I love Coldstone! I’ve actually never had the sinless sweet cream BUT my favorite topping of all time is rainbow sprinkles! I just love those sugary, sweet little lines of goodness, haha. I’m going to have to try your combination next time I go there!!

    Have fun tomorrow!

  6. 6 mangochild Sunday, August 31, 2008 at 5:32 am

    Driving and sitting for so long messes with my appetite too. It really is hard, especially with the other stress on top of it. Sorry dinner wasn’t what you hoped – but maybe the coldstone makes up for it? Hope the box-transport goes smoothly!

  7. 7 jenngirl Sunday, August 31, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    I totally feel you with the stresses of moving along with going from a “fully functional kitchen to dorm living.” It’s gunna be fine! I was so worried, but I honestly think it’s been going great, we seriously need to swap tips on dorm living~ there are so many ways to get creative and stay healthy, it does not have to be stressful! Good luck on the rest of your trip and moving in! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

