Waffle Tower and Concerns

Breakfast

Waffle Tower. ‘Nuff said.

Drool.

I have a busy day ahead of me. I already exercised, showered, and ate. Now it’s time to PACK! I hate packing, it’s always so depressing to spend the last night in my room once everything has been packed away. It’s just so sad and empty.

Concerns

I started my clothes packing this morning and realized that I desperately need new stuff. A lot of my clothes are pretty old—like from when I weighed 30lbs more than I do now. Needless to say they aren’t so flattering on me. I hate spending money on clothes and always feel guilty when I have to buy new stuff. I know this is illogical and it’s not like I’m wasting money because I do actually needΒ new clothes but I have just put off buying a new wardrobe for way too long. I have slowly accumulated a few pieces that really fit and flatter me, but I still have way too much stuff that is just. too. big.

Part of me is really scared of letting go of these old clothes. I have some sort of fear that as soon as I get rid of them, I’ll gain back all the weight and need to buy new stuff again. I have maintained my new healthy weight and lifestyle for months now, and there is no reason for me to go back to the way that I was. I didn’t lose the weight through “fad” diets, I did it through a lifestyle change and I am so much happier and healthier now that there is no reason for me to go back to my old ways! I’m sure that a lot of people have gone through similar situations as this (at least I hope I’m not the only one!) so if anyone has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated!

Another problem I have is that I still am not entirely confident and sometimes try to hide behind my baggy clothes. There is no reason for this! I have a strong, healthy body that I have worked very hard for and am very proud of. I should be showing off my strength rather than hiding behind clothes that don’t fit me.Β 

Sorry this was sort of incoherent! Anyway, the point is—a new outlet mall just opened up about 20 minutes from my house and that’s what my plan is for this afternoon. I’m going to go and finally buy myself some clothes that actually fit me well and are flattering. My goal is to only pack clothes that actually fit and look good so that I have no excuse to look like a bum in old/baggy clothing. Wish me luck!

And I leave you with a before/after so you can see what I’m talking about. This is actually really embarrassing for me to post, but at the same time it makes me really proud to see how much progress I have made. Although the weight-loss part was hard at times I really think that the balance of maintenance is even harder. I know that I wouldn’t be able to do it without all the great support I get from all of you—so thanks for everything!

Before:

After:

11 Responses to “Waffle Tower and Concerns”


  1. 1 VeggieGirl Friday, August 29, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Looove the waffle tower!! Yum!!

    Look at how far you’ve come!! Hooray!! No need to rush getting rid of all of your old clothes – do it gradually. But DO fully enjoy your stronger, healthier self!! πŸ™‚

    Good luck with you busy day!! And enjoy (it is Friday, after all πŸ™‚ ).

  2. 2 Nicole Friday, August 29, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    I love the waffle tower!

    Ugh, I hate packing too! I just finished, thankfully. Good luck!

    I also have the same apprehension with letting go of my older, bigger clothes. It’s just a dumb fear, I know I won’t go back to my unhealthy lifestyle but I am also afraid to throw them out! I’ve been doing it gradually, it’s a lot easier than way! Enjoy your new healthy self and treat yourself to some new pieces of clothes! You deserve it, you look fabulous!

  3. 3 Christie Friday, August 29, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    WOw you look great and you should be so proud of yourself… you need to let go of the fear because you are a new person and you adopted a new lifestyle, i think it is ok to hold onto one peice of clothng to remind you how far you came but treat yourself to new stuff!

  4. 4 twinksy Friday, August 29, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    A.Mazing! How long did that take you?

  5. 5 Erin Friday, August 29, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Wow, Sarah, I had no idea you had lost so much weight! I hope that didn’t sound rude. I feel like that was totally coherent and I appreciate your candidness. I can relate to your situation in a way. I’ve gained weight and I hang on to my smaller clothes – just in case. You know?
    I say, keep them as long as you need to and splurge on some new stuff. I just dropped a bomb while home in Portland and we’re broke because of it. but I feel like a million bucks. πŸ™‚ I hope the process is enjoyable for you sweetie!
    P.S. Totally love your outfit and pose in the second photo.

  6. 6 eatingbender Friday, August 29, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Packing stinks – I always procrastinate because I just don’t want it to happen because that means CHANGE.

    I love your before and after pictures – you look fabulous! I really hope you are able to find some clothes you love today. You absolutely deserve it after all of the hard work you have put into making yourself healthier and stronger. I understand where you’re coming from with the fear of letting go of your old clothes, but think of it as an entirely new challenge. You’ve met the challenge of losing weight and feeling better physically – now the challenge is to say “out with the old and in with the new” – plus, with new, smaller clothes, you will have a much better idea of how you feel physically based on how your clothes fit you. Baggy clothes make it more difficult to know where your body is at because you already have more room in them…does that make sense? No matter what, you completely deserve to treat yourself and I hope you wipe out that outlet mall πŸ™‚

  7. 7 Melissa Friday, August 29, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    ugg..i’ve always hated packing…booo…but as soon as you get it done it’s over with!

    and you look fabulous hun! i hope that you’re able to find some clothes that you love and will flatter your wonderful self!!! i know how hard it is to get rid of those old clothes…for the longest time i had my old ED clothes that i couldn’t get rid of because i think a part of me hoped i could get that low again…but in reality i knew i never would because i’m taking care of myself now and i am happier. believe in yourself and the idea that you’re healthy and love how you are and you can throw those old clothes away…and if you don’t want to get rid of them just yet, like out of your house…but don’t want to wear them…use them as RAGS!!! hahaha…sounds funny, but eventually you will get tired of them because they will be a mess and you can really get rid of them! hope that all makes sense!

    have a wonderful weekend honey!

  8. 8 Christie I Friday, August 29, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    From a girl that has really struggled with this, take my advice and get rid of them. The fear you have is the exact reason you should get rid of them. Keeping them is like giving yourself permission to gain it back. If you want, keep whatever your favortie piece is and use that as a tool to show you how far you have come.

    You look awesome, by the way.

  9. 9 glidingcalm Friday, August 29, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Wow! You have made such a huge change! Your should be so proud! And you deserve to look and feel beautiful in your new healthier body!! Go and treat yourself, and don’t even think twice about it!! I guarantee you won’t regret it!! Let us know what you found! Outlet malls are the bessssst! P.s. The waffles look AMAZING!

    Have a great weekend!!!!

  10. 10 chandra Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    I always felt embarrassed to post my before/after pics too, but really we should be so proud of them!! You look A.MAZING girl. πŸ™‚

    I have a problem getting rid of my old clothes as well… I actually have them piled up on my bedroom floor, waiting to either be thrown away or taken to Goodwill, but I just haven’t been able to do it yet…


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

