Perfect Dinner

I am seriously going to miss cooking when I’m up at school. It is so relaxing to be in the kitchen and really is a stress-reliever. I love creating something delicious and healthy and feeling great about all the ingredients that went into it. Dinner tonight was amazing–definitely 5 stars! But before we get to that…

Snack

I munched on some kettle corn and a few berries while reading this afternoon. That was probably the best strawberry I’ve ever eaten, it was amazingly sweet.

Dinner

This was seriously the perfect dinner! It included everything: protein, whole grains, veggies, and fruit! Any meal that includes fruit is a winner in my book.

I made Jamaican-Jerk Fish by marinating tilapia in green onions, jalepeno, ginger, vinegar, worceshire sauce, salt, oil, thyme, and allspice. I grilled it up with a side of brown rice and steamed broccoli. And the best part—-Brown Sugar Glazed Pineapple. This was unbelievable! I just coated some pineapple with brown sugar and grilled it for about 10 minutes. It was so soft and sweet and perfect. This would make an outstanding dessert, especially with some vanilla ice cream!

The flavor combinations of this meal were amazing. I loved the kick the fish had from the jalapeno combined with the sweetness of the pineapple. The rice was great to soak up any extra juices and the broccoli added another great texture to the mix. All in all it was perfection!

Dessert

I continued the perfect food theme with dessert. A Hawaiian Blizzard from DQ made with vanilla soft serve, banana, pineapple, and toasted coconut. Mmmmmm. I ate this while watching Obama’s speech and the final night of the DNC. It would be so exciting to be there! 

And that ends my great day filled with amazing food. Can’t ask for anything more! Let’s just hope tomorrow is as good!

Goodnight all!

5 Responses to “Perfect Dinner”


  1. 1 Julz Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    What an AMAAAZING dinner, indeed! I seriously ❤ Tilapia! High protein and so easy to digest (I don’t digest meat well, so tilapia is always easy on my tum! Mmmm! I haven’t had it in quite some time though! Def trying this recipe this week!! Can’t wait 🙂 Thanks Sar!

    And what did you think of the O-Man’s speechy? I def got teary at certain points… He’s so inspiring and so like JFK it’s insane to me. Anyways, I ❤ him *Swooon 😉

  2. 2 twinksy Friday, August 29, 2008 at 1:07 am

    My boyfriends roommate got tickets to the speech! How awesome huh???? So jealous. That tilapia looks and sounds so yum!

  3. 3 eatingbender Friday, August 29, 2008 at 2:43 am

    Tilapia = my favorite fish. Therefore, this post = my new favorite dinner 🙂 I love the idea of the brown sugar glazed pineapple! Hot pineapple is my absolute favorite way to eat fruit!

    Mmm…DQ with toasted coconut?! Amazing. I had coconut sorbet tonight from Whole Foods – I am seriously in love with it. The brand is Ciao Bella – if you see it, you must try it! I promise you will not be disappointed!

    Hope you have a great night!

  4. 4 VeggieGirl Friday, August 29, 2008 at 9:13 am

    Cooking is definitely a great stress-reliever; and so much fun!! I wish that you could do it at school!! 😦

    Mmm, that glazed pineapple sounds divine!!

  5. 5 Christie I. Friday, August 29, 2008 at 9:28 am

    Your dinner sounds great!

    Sorry you won’t be able to cook at school 😦


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

