Great Start

Today has been great so far. Not only did I get a lot of not so fun stuff accomplished (job applications) but I had an amazing workout in spinning and got to partake in one of my very favorite activities ***NERD ALERT***: school supply shopping! 

Breakfast

I tried really hard to sleep in this morning and managed to force myself to stay in bed until around 8. This is actually late for me. It’s so weird, I just can’t sleep in anymore! A few years ago I could easily sleep until 10-11 most days but now I’m up around 7:30 without an alarm. Whenever I eat right and exercise consistently I have so much more energy and need much less sleep. Has anyone else noticed this? 

I started the day off with a power breakfast of Cottage Cheese & Banana Oatmeal. Not only is this stuff delicious and comforting but it is so filling and really gives me energy all day! I had this at around 9:30 this morning and it’s 2:30 now, I’ve been through a grueling workout and errands, and I’m still not hungry! It’s magic in a bowl.

Heaven

I’m a totally dork and absolutely LOVE office supply stores. Really, besides grocery shopping, buying school supplies is my very favorite shopping activity. I am super organized and seriously love office supplies. I could spend hours browsing the aisles looking at different pens, notebooks, planners, etc. I am such a nerd! 

I didn’t want to buy too much because space in the car is limited and I plan to do most of my school supply shopping up in Boston but I found some things that I just couldn’t resist. My sister bought this awesome binder the other day and I just had to have one. It’s so cool—like a notebook and a binder in one, and it’s just such a pretty purple! I love it! I had to limit myself to just one though because these things were EXPENSIVE—almost $10!! Yikes!

I bought a pretty pen that was on sale and proceeds go to charity. And the MOST EXCITING PURCHASE: TICONDEROGA NOIR PENCILS. Ok, this is really strange but I have an inexplicable obsession with Dixon Ticonderoga pencils. It’s really bizarre, I just love them! They write so well, are the perfect size, have a great eraser, and I pretty much get high off the smell of them when they are freshly sharpened. Everyone makes fun of me because of my random obsession : ) Well anyway, while I was perusing the aisles I found this new line and gave a little squeal of excitement. I can’t wait to use them!

Haha, ok, now that everyone thinks I’m a complete freak, I think I’ll end this post and go take a shower and make lunch. Then it’s off to my last day of work from 5-9:30. I’ll be back later!

10 Responses to “Great Start”


  1. 1 Hil Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Oh, I definitely appreciate the Ticonderga pencils. I boycott all other types. Although I tend to get mine in boring colors…yours are much spiffier.

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    Haha, I too love school supply shopping!! But not as much as food shopping 😉

    Eating right and exercising are definitely energizing habits!! Keep them up!!

    Enjoy your last day of work!

  3. 3 eatingbender Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    I LOOOVE school supply shopping! My friend and I used to spend hours in office supply stores…and organization stores like Organized Living, Storables and the Container Store. We were always in awe at the rows upon rows of possibilities!

    I have noticed the exact same thing about my sleep patterns! I seriously used to be the girl who could sleep the weekend away (until noon both days!) and nap every day after school. Nowadays, it really is difficult for me to stay in bed past 8 – how crazy is that? I think you’re right in that it has something to do with our exercise/eating plans.

    Um, how have I not heard of Ticonderoga pencils?! I’ll be on the lookout for them – love that “pencil sharpening high” – hahaha 🙂

    Have a great last day of work!

  4. 4 Danielle Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    We must be the same person. I absolutely love, love, love school supply shopping in general, office supply stores a.k.a. organizational heaven are the best, and the Ticonderga pencils rock my world. Don’t worry nerd 😉 you’ve definitely got some company. Haha, hope you enjoy your last day!

  5. 5 Lizzy Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    oooh i love school supplies!! cool pencils! i am the same way now too…i used to be able to sleep in until forever..but making it to 8am is a sleep in! i hope u have a great day!

  6. 6 Christie Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    I am a total organizational freak and I love getting all highlighters, post-its, calenders etc!

    What do you use for your oat/cottage cheese mix (meaning proportions) I def need something that canhold me longer in the mornings when school starts!

  7. 7 jenngirl Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    haha please, the reason that I do not get depressed when school starts is BECAUSE I get to buy all new notebooks, pencils, pens, etc…I’m a total nerd!

    That’s amazing about the cottage cheese oats, I do think that oatmeal and cottage cheese (alone or together) are two of the most filling and healthy foods!

  8. 8 fitnessista Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    OOOOOH those pencils look fabulous!!! i’m pretty sure you’re not the only school supply nerd out there… i’m totally one of them, too and i LIVE for the bic velocity pens. i’m also a huge fan of those flex binders!!

    i still totally need to try the cottage cheese oatmeal..

    thank you so much for the book suggestions!!! i’m going to pick up a couple on my next books-a-million (we’re too pathetic to have a borders or b&n here) trip. right now i’m reading “son of a witch” (have you read wicked?) and “bless me, ultima”. it’s been so hard to get into them because of school!!

    hope you’re having a great night!!!

  9. 9 Sarah Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Christie,

    Today I used 1/2c dry oatmeal, 1.5 c water (divided), 1 banana, 1/2 c cottage cheese (1%)
    To make the oatmeal I combine 1/2 c oats, 1 c water, 1/2 banana, pinch of salt and then cook over medium heat for 5 minutes. I then add 1/2 c water, bring to a boil and simmer 10 minutes. This makes for really really voluminous and creamy oats. With about 2 minutes left I add cinnamon, vanilla, cottage cheese and 1/2 banana. Then I bask in my oatmeal glory : )

    All,
    Glad to know I’m not the only one obsessed with school supplies!

  10. 10 Erika Thursday, August 28, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Hey! I go to school in Boston! Where are you going/where are you coming from? I’m from Minneapolis.. but I’ll be at Northeastern this year (transferring from the University of MN)! I cannnnn’t wait! Are you going to be a freshman? Or are you going to grad school?
    -Erika


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

