Just Another Day

Today was just another typical day: exercise, work, cook, clean. The great part is that I don’t have studying to do or interview prep to worry about and I can just relax right now—read a book and watch the DNC. I’m really soaking up these last few days of summer because once I start classes next week I’ll be busy nonstop.

Pre-workout Snack

Sweet, juicy, absolutely perfect nectarine. Oh how I love fruit!

Breakfast

Waffle tower with fage, maple syrup, and berries. I swear there is a waffle under that huge pile of goodies. This is seriously one of my very favorite things to eat. Fage+maple syrup= greatest combination on earth (rivaling only chocolate and pb!)

This breakfast kept me so full the whole day! When it came time to take my lunch break I honestly wasn’t even remotely hungry. What a power breakfast!

Lunch

I packed that great protein-packed lunch: tuna with cottage cheese and veggies. This is such an amazing combination. I love how the flavors and textures work together–I’m so glad I thought of this mixture, it is so quick to make too, I’m sure this will become a staple lunch once I get back to school.

Since my breakfast held me over so well I really wasn’t even hungry for lunch. I ate about 1/2 of the tuna/cottage cheese mix and just couldn’t eat anymore. I saved the apple (I had it cut into slices) and snacked on it throughout the rest of my shift.

Dinner

I would like to send a HUGE thank you to Jenn for blogging about the CookThink website. This site is so cool–you just type in ingredients you want and it spits out a list of recipes. This was perfect for tonight because I had some chicken I needed to use but had no idea what to do with it. I didn’t want to have to go back out to the store for more ingredients so I typed in what I had on hand and came up with Braised Chicken with Sweet Potato and Black Beans. This was really good and very easy to make. I had to cut out some things that I didn’t have on hand (jalapeno and cilantro) but it still turned out fabulously. The cumin was really prominent and the lime added the perfect kick. I just love healthy, delicious, and easy meals like this!

Dessert

Dessert tonight was a Slim a Bear Ice Cream Sandwich, and of course some berries! These ice cream sandwiches are decent but they definitely do not compare to some of the other ice cream treats I’ve had. These are much more ‘diet’ tasting and while they don’t taste terrible, they are nowhere near as good as the Weight Watchers Ice Cream Bars. Now those are delicious. For just 100 calories though, I guess I can’t complain!

Tomorrow is my last day of work! Woohoo! Too bad it’s the night shift which means no yummy dinner for me : ( 

See you all tomorrow!

7 Responses to “Just Another Day”


  1. 1 Erin Tuesday, August 26, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I love the term WAFFLE TOWER. So funny!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Tuesday, August 26, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Mmm, the nectarine and the black bean-sweet potato mixture all look SENSATIONAL!! Yum.

    Good luck with your last day of work tomorrow!!

  3. 3 fitnessista Tuesday, August 26, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    the slim-a-bears are pretty good but i think the skinny cow ones are tastier.
    the chicken and sweet potato dish looks fabulous!!! YUMMM
    have a great last day of work!!

  4. 4 eatingbender Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Thanks so much for the shout out, Sarah!! I’m so glad you liked the Cookthink site – the recipe you used looks AMAZING! Chicken AND sweet potatoes AND black beans?! That’s like 3 of my top favorite foods all on one plate – and cumin gives it such a unique flavor!

    I love the waffle tower! It definitely looks like it could keep me filled for hours and hours!

    Have a great last day of work tomorrow – and enjoy the rest of your free time!! The calm before the storm, eh?

  5. 6 Christie I Wednesday, August 27, 2008 at 10:53 am

    That waffle tower looks killer!!! I want one!

  6. 7 blueberryhil Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Dinner looks great!

    Tuna and cottage cheese? Really? If that works, I will be so psyched, but I have to admit that that sounds a little scary. Could you describe the texture a bit?


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

