Mentally Drained

Boy am I glad today is over! The GRE was HARD, and very mentally draining. I hate how they have the ‘experimental’ section at the end because by that point all I wanted to do was shut down and I still had another 45 minutes of brain-wracking to do. I’m so glad that it’s over and as soon as I walked out of the room I tried to push it out of my mind and genuinely enjoy the freedom of my last few days of summer!

Breakfast

I was really anxious about getting lost or hitting traffic this morning and not making it to the test on time so I decided to make breakfast to go and eat in the car. I had a delicious cinnamon raisin english muffin with some cinnamon raisin peanut butter, and of course COFFEE!

Lunch

After the exam I headed over to my grandparents house to see them one last time before heading back to school. I’m really close to them and will really miss them when I’m up at school : (

I picked up Panera for lunch and was devastated to see that the Portobello Mozzarella Panini and Strawberry Poppyseed Salad were both discontinued until next summer. Those are my very favorite foods for lunch, so it was quite the let-down.

I decided to try something new instead: 1/2 Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich made on Tomato Basil bread with lots of veggies and cilantro hummus (I skipped the feta). This was really good! The bread (as always) was delicious and there was definitely a kick to it from the spicy peppers. The cilantro flavor was very prominent in the hummus and overall it was amazing. This is definitely a winner. On the side I had the classic salad–the tomatoes were extra juicy today-yum!

My uncle was in town visiting my grandparents as well so it was really nice to spend time with him since I only get to see him a few times a year. He brought lots of goodies from the Whole Foods in Columbus, OH because it is the second largest WF in the world! He said that it is ginormous and they have a hundred times larger of a selection than the WF in Pittsburgh. I’m so jealous–I could do some serious damage there! 

At his WF there is a ‘nut bar’ where they freshly roast different nuts (I bet that smells amazing!!) He brought Maple Bourbon Pecans, Coconut Almonds, and Traditional Maple Walnuts. I had a few of each to try and had to sadly turn down his offer of taking a bag home because I know my self-control would go out the window and I would devour the bag in about 2 seconds. They were all beyond amazing and it was impossible to pick a favorite!

Dinner

Dinner wasn’t too exciting tonight: veal with asparagus and mushrooms over quinoa. It was just alright, the veal was slightly overcooked and tough and the dish didn’t have all that much flavor. That’s ok though, I’ll just reminisce about how amazing those nuts were and forget about dinner altogether!

I don’t even know what to do with myself now that I don’t have anything pressing and stressful to worry about (interview and studying over for at least a week!) I think I’ll go watch some of the Democratic Convention, read for leisure and go to bed super early. Only 2 more days of work then lots of packing and prep to do for our 12 hour drive up to Boston this weekend.

Goodnight!

8 Responses to “Mentally Drained”


  1. 1 Nicole Monday, August 25, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    I’m also glad today is over!! Yum, your panera lunch looks delightful!

  2. 2 VeggieGirl Monday, August 25, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Whew!! What a day you had – thank goodness it’s all behind you now!! 🙂

    Those nuts look delish!

  3. 3 HangryPants Monday, August 25, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Congrats on the GRE being over. I love that sandwich from Panera.

    Heather

  4. 4 eatingbender Monday, August 25, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Congratulations on getting the GRE over and done with!! It definitely sounds like a drainer of a test – so I’m glad you had a day of delicious food after it was over!

    I am also VERY jealous of your uncle. I could spend an entire day (week?) in that store. I wonder where the largest WF is…

    I’m so glad you got to see your grandparents!! And that Panera sandwich looks great – thanks for opening my eyes to other options available there. I am usually completely set in my ways.

    Good luck with packing and prepping!

  5. 5 Melissa Monday, August 25, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    congrats on finishing the GRE! i keep putting it off because i hate test taking…but great job!

    and your sandwich sounds really really good.

  6. 6 Erin Monday, August 25, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    Congratulations on the GRE! What a stupid waste of time and money. I HATED that test. When it was over, I sat in my car and cried out of pure exhaustion!
    You SKIPPED the FETA?!
    Enjoy your decompressing. You’ve earned it!

  7. 7 Christie I Tuesday, August 26, 2008 at 8:50 am

    I had that same sandwich at Panera a few days ago sans feta as well, I really enjoyed it too!

  8. 8 Tess Saturday, August 30, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    … i was searching online for anyone else that was pissed about the Port Mozz Panini. I am really mad that they discontinued it, it’s not like it never sold. Every sunday I tried to get it, they were sold out. My boyfriend and I wanted to call corporate and give them our two cents, but panera wouldn’t give us the corporate number. Isn’t that messed up? You should try to call and make some stink about it too. Silly Panera.


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

