Sushi, Nerves, and Decisions

Hello my lovely blogging friends, I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend! Mine has been busy as usual–I worked nonstop and studied in between so as a result blogging was pushed to the back burner.

This brings me to the Decisions part of my title:

I head back up to Boston at the end of the week to start my senior year of college. I am taking a very rigorous course-load (as usual-I always push myself too hard!) Currently I am enrolled in: Monetary Economics, Macroeconomic Development, Multinational Enterprises, Economies of the Middle East, Intro to Religion, and Power Yoga. Along with classes and all the work that comes with it, I also have an internship,my sorority, volunteer work, clubs, and exercise to fit into my hectic schedule. And if possible I’ll try to sleep a little too! Along with the fact that I’m going to be crazy busy, I’m also going to lack many of the great resources I had this summer—specifically a car, a kitchen, and my parents paying for groceries : ) I will have limited access to a kitchen but won’t be cooking extravagant meals, and will be depending a lot on the dining options available on campus. As a result my meals will be simple, boring, and very repetitive. I know that I would get bored writing about them so I’m sure you would also be bored with reading about them!

So…I have decided that once I return to school I will stop doing a daily food journal because it just doesn’t make sense at the moment. I have absolutely loved blogging this summer and am so thankful for all of your kind comments and great advice. I really enjoy the blog because although I’ve never been a “diary” fan in the traditional sense, this gives me a great outlet to reflect and vent. I’m still deciding what to do about the blog. Right now I’m thinking that I will still post occasionally—especially meals I create and new products I review. I may not take as many pictures of my food and use this as more of a space to write and reflect on my day and life. I know that this may not be very appealing (because everything is better with pictures!) though, so I totally understand if my readers dwindle. 

Another reason I am going to move away from photographing and blogging about everything I eat is because it is very time consuming and the time that I spend doing that could be put toward reading and commenting on all of your wonderful blogs! Don’t worry—I’ll still be reading!!

Ok, enough of that–I guess this will sort of be a ‘figure it out as we go’ thing. 

Now, on to some FOOD! Sushi to be exact. We went out for our last family dinner before I return to school. I got to choose the restaurant so I picked my favorite sushi place: Little Tokyo. We used to go here all the time–the owner even knows us now! Everyone has been so busy lately though that this is only my 2nd time having sushi all summer! One thing I love most about this restaurant is that right when you sit down they bring you steaming hot damp towels to wash your hands with. I am ALWAYS cold so this is perfect!

We started with some edamame. I love this—it comes out nice and hot and the edamame combined with the salt on the shell is just amazing. 

We ordered lots of sushi. From back left to front is: Avocado Roll, Cucumber Roll (both for my vegetarian sister so I didn’t have any), lobster roll, blue makeral roll, spicy tuna roll, eel roll *my favorite!!*, tofu pocket (I didn’t try), and Conch (I split one with my dad). This was all sooooo good! I just love sushi. And of course I had some slices of ginger too because that is steadily becoming one of my very favorite flavors. Anyone know why it’s pink? 

Ok now it’s off to CRAM for the GRE which are tomorrow!!!! Yikes! I have to be there at 7:45 and it’s downtown which means I have to leave my house by 6:30ish because of rush hour traffic and construction. I’m so nervous! Send lots of positive energy my way tomorrow morning!

Edited to add—

While studying I had some carrot cake. This is honestly my very favorite food in the entire world so it was pretty comforting for my poor nerves. I am really going to miss the carrot cake when I’m up at school—the bakery we get it from does such a good job, it’s SUPER moist and dense and the frosting is to die for. The slices are absolutely ginormous–believe it or not, this was 1/3 of a slice! A few hours after eating this my emotional eating kicked in–hard. I mindlessly ate cereal and kashi crackers straight out of the box. This is my all time WORST habit and I really don’t want to get back into it–i’ve been doing so well!! I blame the stupid stress over this test tomorrow and once it’s over I know I’ll get back on track.

I meant to be asleep an hour ago since I have to get up super early for a good breakfast before I head out to my doom. Goodnight!

10 Responses to “Sushi, Nerves, and Decisions”


  1. 1 Danielle Sunday, August 24, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Sarah, as devastated as I am to hear about your recent decision it is obviously for the best. You’ve got a ton in store for you this year and I would hate for blogging to become a hassle. Enjoy your senior year to the complete fullest! And if anything, please just know you’ll be missed :).

    Sushi was a ingenious idea for the last family dinner, everything looks delicious!

    P.S. I’m sending you the absolute best for tomorrow, you’re going to be great!

  2. 2 Julz Sunday, August 24, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    😦 I’m SO happy that you’ve decided to see YOURSELF as the priority, Sarah, my love! of course, I selfishly am crying inside, but just as long as you don’t delete the blog and i can still read both your old AND NEW (!!!) posts, I’m a happy girl! What sorority are you in, by the way??!! (PS) Facebook me lady! J-Wise 🙂

  3. 3 jenngirl Sunday, August 24, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Good luck on your exam tomorrow! I know how you feel, and I will definitely be encountering some of the same blogging struggles as I’m moving back to school this week. Definitely do what you need to do.

    There is a Little Tokyo in my town, with great sushi, as well as a hibatchi grill…you don’t happen to be in the Mississippi area do you? (don’t feel like you have to answer that! just thought the Little Tokyo thing was a coincidence, haha)

  4. 4 eatingbender Sunday, August 24, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Sarah, even though I’m going to miss your daily posts, I think you are making a wise decision and I’m very happy for you! I can’t even BELIEVE your list of courses – sheesh, and I thought I was busy!! You are going to have such an amazing senior year and I am so glad that you started blogging because I have found such a wonderful friend 🙂 I will of course read your updates and look forward to them when you’re able to post!!

    That sushi looks incredible!! I’ve actually never had fresh sushi from a restaurant before so I think that will be on my to-do list when I get back to school!

    GOOD LUCK ON THE GRE EXAM!!! I will totally be sending good vibes your way – I know how hard you’ve studied for this and I bet you will do amazing 🙂

  5. 5 fitnessista Sunday, August 24, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    you’re a business major! are you majoring in econ??

    even though i will dearly miss your posts, i totally understand. in college my life was so frantic and i was so focued on grades, there was no way i could have had a blog– i’m pretty sure that people would get sick of seeing the kettlecorn and sugarfree red bull that i lived off of, anyway 🙂 you’re making a very wise decision to devote your time to all of the activities you’ve got going on– you’re quite a busy girl!!! i’ll look forward to the opportunities that you get to post!!

    good luck on your text tomorrow! i’ll be sending good vibes your way 😀

  6. 6 Christie I Monday, August 25, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    I will surely miss reading your blog but I do look forward to whatever posts you do make. Good Luck with school and keep us up to date when you can!

  7. 7 Aimee Monday, August 25, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I understand about your blogging decision…I hope that your test went well!

  8. 8 Sarah Monday, August 25, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Thank you all for the good luck wishes! I really appreciate them all!

    Jenngirl,
    Nope—I’m nowhere near Mississippi—I’m in Pittsburgh, PA. I feel like Little Tokyo is a pretty popular name for a Japanese place though!

    Fitnessista,
    My school actually doesn’t have a business major but I am double majoring in Economics and International Finance. I LOVE my econ classes, they are definitely my favorite ones at school—I’m a total nerd!

  9. 9 Cookie Monday, August 25, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    I just wanted to let you know that the Ginger turns pink from being pickled. Some chefs also tint it with beet or red shiso leaves to give it that delicate color. I will miss your posts!

  10. 10 Sadao Tuesday, August 26, 2008 at 5:37 am

    I hope you get enough sleep with all the school work back in Boston. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Email Me

Email me any questions, comments, concerns, or if you just want to chat! ourkitchenadventures@gmail.com
August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

